We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Austrian Cooking”

Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: Austrian, French, German, Hungarian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual to suit & tie, Have a beer or 5-courses. Austro-Hungarian, vegan and Local Steaks to fine dining, fireside tables every day of the year inside or out. Historic settting from 1840's with a 200 year copper beech tree. From appetizers to salads and Chateaubriand for two table-side. Viennese desserts, espresso and full bar. Front porch dining with extensive beer and wine list. Easy -off 1-84 and Mass Pike 1-90.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gem of Austrian Cooking”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a favorite of mine. I appoligize in advance for misspellings. I love their Sauerbraten which is lightly breaded and very tender. Of course, the weinersnitchel is great as well. Do not miss the apple strudel. Or any strudel they offer. Great selection of apetizers and wines. I'd suggest trying the Reisling given the cuisine. Service s great and personal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrPaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    30
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Dinner”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went here for New Year's Eve. We were greeted and seated right away by our server with a big smile. We had a nice table. The room was cozy with a fireplace and was decorated for the holidays. Very festive. We started off with a glass of Chardonnay and a Russian stout. We skipped the appetizer course and was brought their welcome plate. It is rather tiny for two, a few nibbles of cheese, a few pieces of toasted bread with a tasty spicy peanut spread. That followed with a fresh house salad and a plate of warm bread. For our entree we ordered the Chateaubriand for two. We haven't seen this on any menus for a long time. The last time we enjoyed it was at the Oak Room at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel. It came served table side. The meat was so tender and delicious. It was served with sides of scalloped potatoes and carrots. My only complaint was that the food could have been warmer. I think it was because it was New Year's Eve and the kitchen was busy preparing for their gala that evening. Otherwise, this place is great and I would highly recommend. Thank you for a very memorable and special night!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anneh481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Charming is the first thing that popped into my mind driving in the lot, more so as we entered the old mansion. The decor is comforting and old world, the owners Jonathan and Lisa Krach are an incredible team, Lisa's seemingly boundless energy and good humor are an energetic contrast to the style & decor, somehow melding into a perfect fit.
Jonathan's skill and artistry in the kitchen rival most acclaimed chefs and over the years has consistently produced an excellent quality dining experience to go along with a great personality as well.
The wait staff is exceptional, a rare pleasure!
Can't say enough about the food! It's a must if you're looking for top notch quality, exceptional service and the option of retiring to a charming room upstairs.
Worth every cent!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pitgnarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“If you go, you won't leave hungry”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I went with another couple on a Sunday afternoon. The hours on Sunday are rather unique: 2 - 6 pm. We arrived arrived early and had a drink in the parlour. We enjoyed a cocktail by the fire place in the parlour. We sat and caught up for about an hour. We then began a food fantasy - pumplin soup with a little cream and a rather strong for my liking paprika. Wonderful warm rolls and a Wilkommen plate (cheeses, potato pancake, grapes, and sausage) were served. Then on to a salad. I opted for the house salad which was greees and radish, along with shaved carrots. The dressing was a very light curried dressing - very tastey. Other options were a caesar and a spinach with fruit. My main course was a Epinard et Poulet. (Chicken stuffed with greens and asiago cheese with a light tarragon creme. And course sides included spatzle and some I think pickled beets and cabbage. It was very good. No room for dessert, but we take home a slice of chocolate stout cake - which was VERY RICH.

If you are looking for a unique dinning experience in the Worcester area, stopy by Southbridge's The Vienna. You won't leave hungry.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, comfortable charming surroundings”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Ocean fresh oysters and cherry stones, stuffed giant lobster, pork and sauerkraut: the Vienna served a feast fit for an emperor for our family party! The staff was at our elbows with new succulent appetizers on a routine basis. Glasses never went dry but were filled with tasty wine and imported beers. The quality of the food was tremendous! If you are looking for a special place to host a party, book the Vienna and enjoy Chef Jonathan's fabulous dishes! Lisa will help you create the perfect menu, and the entire staff will make you feel like royalty. Three cheers for the Vienna - our castle away from home!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tia_Francesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn also viewed

 

Been to Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing