We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of German/Austrian AND Vegan Food”

Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: Austrian, French, German, Hungarian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual to suit & tie, Have a beer or 5-courses. Austro-Hungarian, vegan and Local Steaks to fine dining, fireside tables every day of the year inside or out. Historic settting from 1840's with a 200 year copper beech tree. From appetizers to salads and Chateaubriand for two table-side. Viennese desserts, espresso and full bar. Front porch dining with extensive beer and wine list. Easy -off 1-84 and Mass Pike 1-90.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of German/Austrian AND Vegan Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The chef/owner can prepare anything you request - within reason- and is most accommodating for vegans, vegetarians or those with food allergies. This is 5 star food!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    30
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stay the night and enjoy the food”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our room was lovely and very clean. Having drinks and a app delivered to our room was a treat. The Wienerschnitzel was great, but a few more spaetzle might have been nice. The Sauerbraten was as good as any I've had in Germany. Sitting out by the fire was very romantic. The breakfast was very nice and best left to whatever the chef decides - you won't be sorry - crepes one day, eggs benedict another. The Inn is sandwiched into a noisy corner, but with the A/C going, this wasn't a problem. From here, it's an easy drive to Sturbridge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thirdtimeisacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
261 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sehr gut!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Other reviewers were right on! This is _the_ place to enjoy fine german/austrian food.

Any of their appetizers looked good (even had something with herring) but we shared the salmon roeste (potato pancakes with smoked salmon with sour cream); My wife then had saurbraten with both kartoffen and spaestla and red cabbage. (Just enough sour). I had tafelspitz (the house speciality) which came with the above and white horseradish sauce. Both meats very tender and great flavor. Ended with an apple strudel that just perfect with a thick layer of apples in a caramel sauce. Lingered awhile enjoying the tea and coffee.

Some might say that the decor needs an upgrade, but it really adds to the charm of an old inn. I would not change it. Tip: if you get there with a nice evening, ask for a table on the patio and enjoy the evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like the real place!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food was certainly authentic, and well cooked and presented. If you close your eyes you will definitely believe that you are in Austria. Service was attentive and the wait staff were very knowledgable about the menu. Some may say that the decor is in need of freshening up, but we went for the food and were not disappointed. We chatted with the owner, who told us that we should go again and just have dessert or drinks in the garden, if we did not want a full meal, which I felt was a superb idea and we may do that, but we will be back for dinner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruella10861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wine & food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed & dined at the Vienna for our 1 year wedding anniversary - and we both concur it was fabulous. We both enjoy wine and German/Austrian food and discovered that the Vienna had top notch versions of both to offer. The dinner was delicious and authentic - and we managed to squeeze in dessert (a fabulous slice of Mozart cake) after sitting for a while by the outdoor fireplace on their patio. The breakfast the next morning was equally excellent. We will definitely be back - and highly recommend the Vienna.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn also viewed

 

Been to Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing