We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise Getaway to Vienna... The Vienna.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vienna Historic Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Southbridge B&B and Inns
Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprise Getaway to Vienna... The Vienna.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

So I decided to plan a surprise birthday getaway for my girlfriend and trusted Google maps would guide my way... it led me to The Vienna. After some time purusing the website, I decided to call and explain my arangements. The staff were friendly, excited, and very willing to help me pull off a most memorable weekend. A two night stay in the Blumenzimmer Suite with dinner reservations one evening was the perfect way celebrate not only a birthday, but an engagement. The gourmet breakfast each morning was beyond anything I'd ever experienced at a B&B and dinner was... well, you just need to find out for yourself! One of the finest meals I've ever eaten. The food, the presentation, the service, everything was top notch.
As for the Inn? A historic, 200 year old home that is just pouring over with character. We were fortunate enough to tour all of the rooms and each one is so unique that we want to go back and stay in each one! Jonathan and Lisa, the Innkeepers, were absolutely delightful and we will recommend The Vienna to everyone we know. Thank you so much for the perfect weekend; we will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: The Blumenzimmer is great if you want a private entrance and don't like stairs. All other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    18
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
79
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I visited The Vienna for my 40th birthday both eating at the restaurant and staying at the inn. It was one of the best meals we have eaten highlighted by the knowledgeable and courteous staff. The inn itself could not be more charming and the innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel at home. We truly felt transported to another place even though the inn is so close to major city centers. While Southbridge as a town may lack the charm of some of its surrounding towns, once you enter the gates of the driveway, you will feel insulated from the outside world. I highly recommend to anyone even though it will mean this gem may become more popular and hence more difficult for securing reservations. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwbfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Combining pleasure with business can sure be great if you get to stay at a spot like the Vienna! We booked a room for a Monday night and since the restaurant is closed on Mondays we had our own personal chef and his beautiful wife as our server. Jonathan's cusine was wonderful and Lisa was so much fun. Skeeter, their poodle, and Amanda, their lovely daughter, just added to the ambience. The room was a bit "funky" but it too was fun. We hope not to have to go for business-we are funmeral directors and took a lady for burial in the area-any time soon, but will certainly return for another evening even though it is a three hour drive. Elizabeth and Beaver Ross

Room Tip: We got to see the upstairs room. I would chose one of them next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizxabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I needed a break from the busy city and we could not have chosen better than the Vienna Historic Inn ! We stayed there 2 nights, the room was a 2 rooms suite very tastefully decorated ! the bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet ! we got welcomed with a drink and a special amuse bouche (scallops with Bacon) from the Chef. Everything was on site, it snowed most of the WE and we had the best tasting, wine drinking experience and the SPA in the cave ( I know that can sound surprising ) is a must to TRY ! The staff is very welcoming and the breakfast is to die for ! I wish there could be a possibility to rate this place better than a 5 circles ! it definitely was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilieBUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Christmas Dinner at Vienna Restaurant and Historic Inn in Southbridge Ma was a delightful surprise.
I have had sampling of their foods at various events but have never ventured down to "Southbridge" for a meal.
Although there were a few quirks and glitches in service, the food was a sensuous tease of taste bud heaven! The schnitzel cordon bleu was a blend of tenderness, richness, with a tingle of spice. The Baked Stuffed shrimp was a seashore's envy of flavor, buttery and moist with a tiny zip of red pepper.
First course salads and fresh from the oven assorted breads prompted a restlessness of "more, More!".
Extensive wine selection and short but perfect draught beer list complimented the experience.
"No room for dessert" prompted a request for a selection "to go". How could one miss out on sampling an anticipated finish to a winning meal?
In the cozy candle light hours of the evening we were not disappointed. A dark intense, less sweet slice of Black Forest Cake was a perfect ending to an almost perfect meal and a perfect for us Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyGust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

What a great experience for a young couple in love. We (party of 5) were given a private room with fire burning in the fireplace and immediately served custom hors d'oeuvres. We were never rushed and dinner was a pleasure. The staff could not have been more attentive. My wife and I stayed upstairs for two nights and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. These Innkeepers know how to do it right.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenstown, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Home now from our fourth annual two night visit during the Thanksgiving weekend. First two visits in the Blumenzimmer on the first floor with its Queen size bed and cozy sitting room and now two years in the second floor Konigzimmer Suite with the King size bed and seven foot leather sofa. If Mr and Mrs Neidermeyer are reading this we will give up the Konigzimmer for you next year! We have not been disappointed by either the accommodations or the dining room. Diner at 19:30 on Wednesday evenings and then breakfast at a time selected the night previous. Having been to Austria I can comment on the cuisine and it rivals any I enjoyed there. The breakfast is only limited by your own dietary restrictions and Jonathan's imagination. There is no menu but there is passion in that kitchen.
Two years ago we were in the parlor having a drink before diner with two other couples, one couple who were guests and the other just in for the evening meal and we agreed that we would like to all eat togeather so Lisa had the large table in the parlor setup for six and we stayed right there enjoying the fire and each others company.
We will be back.

Room Tip: The Blumenzimmer on the first floor is the quietest and coolest accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadeo_Farrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
0.7 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
1.9 mi away
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
#6 of 14 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#3 of 14 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna Historic Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Historic Inn and Restaurant

Property: Vienna Historic Inn and Restaurant
Address: 14 South Street, Southbridge, MA 01550-4006
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Southbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn with a European-style personality. Our staff are awaiting your visit! Vienna is a great mid-way stopover to Maine, Boston or New Hampshire. Full service bar, yet romantic and peaceful. Outside alfresco dining with cigarette/cigar smoking permitted on front porch. Our parlor area equipped with a REAL wood burning fireplace. You may decide to have appetizer or dessert in the parlor/outside, it's up to you. Vienna is located in a typical historic town in Central MA, as we are just 5 minutes from Connecticut and 18 from Pomfret, CT Serving Nichols College, Hyde School and Quinsigamond Community College. Hartford,CT Providence, RI and Boston, MA just 45 minutes away. How about a Weiner Schnitzel, Hungarian Goulash, Beef Stroganoff or Beef Rouladen just to tempt you. Our Inn is .5 miles from Biking & Walking Trails of Westville Dam Recreation area. Easy Exit off Mass Pike 1-90 or 1-84 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vienna Historic Inn And Restaurant Hotel Southbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing