We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was spotless. I really felt safe and comfortable. The hotel is a modernized building with all the amenities. I was there on business for the week. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was just OK however. The hotel is centrally located near the center on town across from a green area, near the police department.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    73
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
96
82
12
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fantastic hotel for events in the area,Sturbridge,Southwick zoo,Brimfield flea market.everything from the staff to the pool to the clean rooms,a thai restaurant 2 blocks down the street was great!Neighborhood needs a little work but locals were friendly when walking for take out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidan285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff was pleasant. The free shuttle driver was a very nice man. I didn't use the service, but he introduced himself at check in. Check in process somewhat slow as I had to fill out a card with my name and address on it. This was a handwritten process. Still not sure why, seemed odd. The rooms are nice except for the non-HD tube TV, another thing that seemed odd in such a nice room. You will need to use the shuttle service or drive to the decent local restaurants. The neighborhood around the hotel is very sketchy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Employee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here in July for a conference and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The food was out of this world. All of the staff practically trip over themselves to serve your every need. This hotel is five star!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbird1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
753 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This facility has a full fitness facility, a pool, steam room and sauna. The small restaurant provides very high quality food and ther eis buffet breakfast. There are no other places comparable for some distiance. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: get one with a view on the courtyard not the road, the view is superb and it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

loved this hotel....so much history and amazing marble! Rob at the front desk was fabulous, while we were waiting for our very late night pizza, he gave us the history and a mini tour. rooms were very large, and extremely clean! highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

As a veteran Brimfield attendee I have stayed at several hotels in the area. My favorite had always been the charming Publick House in Sturbridge MA, just a few minutes drive from the fields of antiques in Brimfield during their festivals. This time I neglected to book in advance and was lucky enough to come across The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center.
It's a bit further away from Brimfield, but not significantly so, in my opinion. It turns out that after all the years at The Publick house, I prefer this place.
It's not charming, the rooms are standard, but very large, and the place is new and very clean.
Maybe people don't realize what a great place it is to stay, because it felt relatively quiet and empty, compared with the thronging hoards that seem to be ubiquitous during the Brimfield events.
The calm and spacious environment of this hotel was a very welcome contrast to the hot dusty days of treasure hunting in the fields of Brimfield.
There is a wonderful fitness center and pool. I can not tell you how much I enjoyed a daily swim in the morning before setting off to Brimfield (about 15 minutes down the road).
The beds were comfy, the air conditioning perfect. The bathroom sparkling and new.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, preferring to get out and get going early (***Get to Brimfield as early as you can or you will end up sitting in monsterous traffic by 10AM!!!!***)
We found the best breakfast place in the world, and it's right there on the road between Southbridge and Brimfield..ANNIE"S COUNTRY KITCHEN. It is not to be missed. I am still dreaming about this place. We went back every morning!
The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center also has a buffet breakfast which we never tried. There is a restaurant and a bar. One evening we were too tired to go out after coming back to the hotel, so we tried an early dinner at the bar. The service was nice but the food was forgettable. Skip it.
The overall service in the hotel was friendly and prompt. I called down for an extra pillow and it was cheerfully delivered to my room within minutes. Directions and maps were helpfully offered by the front desk, and when I wanted to buy some Advil ($6. for a couple of pills!) from the hotel's little convenience room, the helpful man at the front desk advised me to stop at the nearby CVS and save some money. Everyone was so nice. I like this place.

Room Tip: I'm not sure whether there's a view worth asking for. My room overlooked the parking lot, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
4.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
414 reviews
4.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#11 of 14 in Sturbridge
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 14 Mechanic St, Southbridge, MA 01550-2570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the scenic Quinebaug River, The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center is an elegantly restored historic property. The Southbridge Hotel combines evocative architecture with new millennium technology to create an incomparable destination for productive meetings or some well-deserved leisure.Our guests enjoy these amenities:203 well-appointed executive guest rooms, including 4 suites Rooms include wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, cable Tv and Bath and Body Works amenities. Extensive range of recreational facilities, including Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center's own Focus Fitness Center, equipped with a heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquet ball courts, game room and jogging trails Shades Lounge offers beverages and casual fare; private dining available Convenient location; less than one hour drive to Boston or Hartford Near shopping, sightseeing and antiquing in Old Sturbridge Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing