We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superior all the way around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superior all the way around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I reviewed this hotel last week after our one-night stay, but for some reason the review has not appeared. This place is by far and way the best in the area. Unfortunately, we have had to stay in some dumps while we visited for parents' weekend at my son's school, but we finally found a gem. A former optical factory which has been converted into a hotel, it boasts enormous wide-open spaces, high ceilings and hallways the length of two football fields. The room was huge with two very comfortable queen beds, an excellent bathroom and all other necessary amenities. Most of all it was spotless. Service was flawless. When we got home, we discovered that my son had left his stuffed animal in the room. After a few phonecalls, the animal was located and yesterday arrived in a box with halloween greetings and candy. I was floored by their kindness. They are a class operation and go the extra mile for their guests. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    66
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
74
10
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were visitng Boston for the day, but could not find a hotel for a decent price due to Parents' Weekend at several schools & the Head of the Charles Regatta. Even though this hotel is about 4 1/2 miles off of Route 84, it was worth the drive. The room was large and the king size bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. Hallways were wide and well lit. The hotel is a step above the standard chain hotel - one nice feature is that it has maintained a beautiful marble fireplace & and some of the original ironwork from the American Optical plant. Since it is a conference center, the business center has multiple computers, and the downstairs lobby is hugh, with many seating areas. There are snacks available in the lobby 24/7. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The Fitness Center was staffed (it seemed to be a regular health club), with good equipment and a large pool. There is free wi-fi. The television sets have not been updated to the flat screen variety, but that is a minor negative. The grounds are quite nice, with lots of parking. There was no road noise - after all, it's in the country - and only 8 miles from a pick-your-own farm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were in Worcester, MA for a family wedding and made reservations to stay here, having never heard of the property.
From the road we were impressed by the meticulous landscaping and our first impression was excellent. I love the way that they have taken an old manufacturing plant (American Optical) and turned it into such a beautiful property. Other towns should take notice. The downstairs is spacious and has comfortable seating. The rooms are huge! I have never stayed in a hotel that had a cleaner bathroom. The staff was friendly and there was ample (free) parking.
It is ideal for business meetings, family gatherings and only 4 miles to Old Sturbridge Village.
The food in the restaurant was very good as well.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Although our room was very large, our two daughtres had a corner room that had an alcove and was eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susansheeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was our third trip up to the Brimfield antiques show and by far the nicest, because we stayed at this hotel. There are really no "hotels" in the area. There are nice "motels" but none of the caliber of Southbridge Hotel.
The rooms and bathrooms are big, very clean and the facility is beautiful. The heated pool is stunning and has a hottub, as well. I particularly like the fact that they have double queen beds. Nothing is worse than trying to sleep two to a double bed and get a good night's sleep. This is easily large enough for two parents and 2 kids.
When there, eat at the Vienna restaurant. It is old world Austrian/German fare in an Italianate Mansion where dinner is served inside and your dessert and coffee served outside on the patio by the fireplace.
Besides the Brimfield Antique Show, there is plenty of apple and berry picking, cider donuts and good food.
If you haven't tried the Brimfield Show, do so. It is the largest in the world and literally takes over the whole (small) town. I'm not as keen on antique shopping as my wife, but the food area is like that of a carnival with great options. Try Pete's Roast Beef stand at the Brimfield show. I have 6 or 7 of them over two days and I still want more!
Another do not miss is Jim's Flying Diner. Its withing 2 miles of the hotel and on a small airstrip where single engine planes are constantly landing and taking off. Its very cool and kids love it. You can eat outside or in the cute little dining car. We went back twice.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaleVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misawa, Japan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel was great, but the surrounding area was "yucky". Not much to do outside of the Hotel unless you drive 30-45 minutes. The staff at the hotel was GREAT!!! I loved the bath and body works soaps in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Limited choices in Southbridge but this hotel is one of the better ones.

Hard beds. free hot buffet breakfast, nice bar (cheep $6 for a Ketal one and soda) with free pool tables.

don't eat here for dinner unless you like fried food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Southbridge Hotel and Conference has hosted our school district for a number of meetings, conferences, and trainings. The facilities, from the restaurant, to the lobby, to the grounds, are immaculate. The meeting rooms are outfitted with all the technology you could ever need and the seating is extremely comfortable. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful.

All our staff feel they are being pampered when they attend a function at the Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center. I would highly recommend you host your next conference or business meeting at the Southbridge Hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_ryan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
4.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 13 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 14 Mechanic St, Southbridge, MA 01550-2570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the scenic Quinebaug River, The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center is an elegantly restored historic property. The Southbridge Hotel combines evocative architecture with new millennium technology to create an incomparable destination for productive meetings or some well-deserved leisure.Our guests enjoy these amenities:203 well-appointed executive guest rooms, including 4 suites Rooms include wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, cable Tv and Bath and Body Works amenities. Extensive range of recreational facilities, including Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center's own Focus Fitness Center, equipped with a heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquet ball courts, game room and jogging trails Shades Lounge offers beverages and casual fare; private dining available Convenient location; less than one hour drive to Boston or Hartford Near shopping, sightseeing and antiquing in Old Sturbridge Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing