We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service? Non-existent...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service? Non-existent...”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Being in customer service-oriented positions for most of my life, I'm still in awe of how poor the food and beverage service and quality of food is at this facility. I felt completely ignored while sitting at the bar for dinner on every visit. (I would have ventured out into town for other options but the weather deemed otherwise). The rooms are beautiful. Where is the disconnect?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangerkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHCCGM, General Manager at Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for providing valuable feedback to the hotel about your recent stay at the Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service and food options you experienced during your visit. I will address your comments with the managers and departments involved and can assure you we will do our best to ensure all guests have a positive experience.
Thank you and if your travels return you to the Southbridge area please give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Kim Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    73
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
96
82
12
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

From making the reservation until we checked out, I was impressed with the professionalism of the staff and their obvious desire to please the guest. The facilities were clean and well-appointed. The location affords peace and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxxmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I reserved a room months ago for a triathlon being held nearby. As a frequent business traveler, I am accustomed to hotels that want my business, this is clearly not one of those hotels. I, and a couple other women from the race, arrived to check in and were told they would not allow bicycles anywhere in the hotel. While this is not published anywhere or discussed by the reservation clerks, the manager was completely unwilling to move from his refusal to do anything for us. He said he knew our bikes were valuable but he couldn't do anything. We had to leave them on our cars in the parking lot. There was a 60th high school reunion meeting and the sweet men offered to try and get their old school to open up to let us keep our bikes there. These other guests understood customer service better than the paid staff. If you are planning an event book it elsewhere. If you are invited to attend something here, decline if you can. You are certain to be disappointed if you spend any money to be treated with so little concern and respect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Socai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is a large DoD-funded facility on limited grounds that are still quite decent. It has none of the customer-service focus or can-do attitude of a commercial operation, which is a liability if you are running an event there. Admin staff are long on demanding detail and explanations but short on promise-keeping. Food service is poor and unless you have group-scheduled meals, is mixed in with the bar service which is so under-staffed and badly-executed as to be unusable. This is the only venue in 20 years where I have gone completely hungry for 24 hours. but if you are working, there's no alternative as their food hours are run for their convenience and not yours. The same is true for any guests or clients who arrive in anything but very limited time windows. Conference facilities are fair but not remarkable - and if you need their staff urgently, or expect one message to reach all staff, or have special requirements, then you may be in trouble.

Usually you will not get to choose this venue - you will be stuck with it as a forced choice - and in that case my advice is to plan ahead, expect messages to be muddled, allow for poor customer service and leave plenty of contingency. If you do have a choice, go elsewhere - most guests complained not as much about the venue (whose limitations are less visible to them) but about the location, which is in a remote and quite depressed semi-industrial area that offers no visits, views or things to do.

No great surprises here, given the context, but the same mixed-use facilities (Government and commercial) are done better in WV and VA, to name two places.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKBethesdaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Our family was there for a wedding. I'll keep this brief: They need a new bartender. I am a bartender too, and I was amazed at the lack of courtesy on her part. We were completely ignored when trying to order drinks. Everyone there in our large group was complaining about the incredibly slow service. Not even an acknowledgement or "I'll be right with you." I finally got to order a bottle of beer and then had to ask for a glass. Never did get my change back either. After waiting 20 min. I just wanted to get back to my group. I could have served everyone at that bar in the time it took her to do whatever she was doing at the cash register and hand me a beer. SLOW and RUDE.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank MountainandBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

This place is spotless in every way. Couldn't find a chip out of the paint or a scratch in anything - rooms or common areas.
The funky thing is no normal restaurant to use. No breakfast or lunch. The restaurant only caters to large groups. Dinner is now served in the bar/lounge by the bar tender. You eat in the lounge or take it out with you. Prices for food and rooms are great. The food was super and delivered hot even though it came from the other end of the building. We had appetizers, drinks and a main course and recommend all types of food. Wine glasses were FULL, food hot and tasty. Soooo, don't let the lack of a restaurant bother you.
The enterance is a bit different. You have to pull in behind the old converted optical building (which is the hotel now) and look for an overhang. No one is there to help with your bags, it is self service I guess? Hotel is only 6 miles from Old Sturbridge Village.
Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deckboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We lost our power in a major ice storm in December. With temps in the teens we could not stay home so we began looking. There were no hotels in Worcester and we were referred to this facility. It is a Dept. of Defense conference facility that is available to the public as long as the DOD has not reserved it for their own needs. The facility was full of area families forced to leave home and seek shelter. The service was great and the rooms and facility were outstanding. Great food and lounge (Friday and Sat. evenings) and a top notch fitness center with a pool. This is not an "afterthought" spa tucked away in a dark corner. It is a centrally located fitness facility.

The hotel cut their rates to $99/night because of a declared state of emergency and we were delighted to stay here. This is the original American Optical facility and there is much written history about AO. In 2002, after $80 million in renovations, the hotel opened.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bmchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
4.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
414 reviews
4.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#11 of 14 in Sturbridge
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 14 Mechanic St, Southbridge, MA 01550-2570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the scenic Quinebaug River, The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center is an elegantly restored historic property. The Southbridge Hotel combines evocative architecture with new millennium technology to create an incomparable destination for productive meetings or some well-deserved leisure.Our guests enjoy these amenities:203 well-appointed executive guest rooms, including 4 suites Rooms include wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, cable Tv and Bath and Body Works amenities. Extensive range of recreational facilities, including Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center's own Focus Fitness Center, equipped with a heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquet ball courts, game room and jogging trails Shades Lounge offers beverages and casual fare; private dining available Convenient location; less than one hour drive to Boston or Hartford Near shopping, sightseeing and antiquing in Old Sturbridge Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing