We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but needs help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location, but needs help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is our third year staying at one of the Red Jacket Resorts. We previously stayed at the Red Jacket Beach Resort down the road, but they were booked this year. The beach was very convenient; they had people who would set up umbrellas and chairs for you for free. The water was very cold and filled with seaweed, but that is not the fault of the resort. What is their fault, is the fact that the pool was freezing, even in mid August, when the outdoor temperature was 80 degrees. Also, there were not enough umbrellas around the pool, so people would stand guard at the gate, waiting for the 9am opening and put towels down at the 5 umbrellas that were there, and walk away. When I asked an employee to get me an umbrella from the beach, (there were many) he said he could not do that. Sorry, but that was unacceptable. Having skin cancer, and seeing all these young children around the pool, just baking in the sun, was very concerning. It would be nice if they could build a sun deck covering over one side, or at the very least, provide more umbrellas. Another problem I had, was the fact that they do not supply coffee makers in the room. Any hotel you go to today, supplies that. They said you could get free coffee in the office, but, who wants to go outside, when you first wake up and want that 1st cup of coffee? Two out of the 4 times I did go, they were out, waiting to refill the containers. The rooms were acceptable; bathrooms could use some updating - grout was moldy and cracked in spots. The beds were doubles, not queen size, which made for a very uncomfortable sleep, especially if you are used to king! Food by the pool was convenient, but after one or two days of the very limited menu, it got boring, and wasn't very healthy. Drinks were very expensive. One thing I might add would be more activities poolside - perhaps a water aerobics class during the day? Overall, after going 3 years, we have had enough and will not return, and for the price that you pay, I would have expected more.

Room Tip: Do not book online; call the hotel directly and they will work with you for a particular room, based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymomfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking time to review your experience with us. I will attempt to clarify some points you found to be our fault. The outdoor and indoor pools are kept at or very close to 80 degreees from the opening date in May until we close on Columbus Day weekend. The outside air temp will offer make a person who is swimming feeol cold. We unfortunatley can not control the air temp, however we apologize if this is what you experienced. We take the water temp 5 times a day and record it . The heater is adjusted constantly to maintain temperature to keep our guests satisfied. The umbrellas in the pool are limited due to safety . I only have 5 attached with a heavy base so they do not become airborne causing injury to other patrons. The pool has a very well maintained ocean front glass wall which helps deflect the wind keeping it much more comfortable than many other ocean front resorts. I apologize if no tables and umbrellas were available while you were at the pool. The reason the staff member refused an umbrella is they are not permitted to put any others up that can not be attached to a base.You make a point about coffee makers and i will bring that to our owner's attention. Most guests welcome the journey to the front office for coffee, which is available, hot and fresh 24 hours a day everyday. I hear you loud and clear regarding our bed sizes and we are updating , as we do each year, a portion this winter. I also noticed that you commented about our drink prices i will say that our prices are at or below just about every licensed liquor establishment on Cape Cod. I also must remark on your request to hold more activities at or near poolside. We are continuously adding new activities and unfortunately holding any activities in and around the pool poses a conflict for other registered guests who have no interest and actually feel it to be unfair and intrusive on their pool time. We do listen carefully to our guests review and use the information , when it is feasible, to make alterations to the current operation , while being careful that it is truly something that benefits all. Our staff and management team strive daily to provide a very clean, friendly resort atmosphere and i will certainly share all your comments in order to improve. Thank you and we hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    106
    47
    31
    13
See reviews for
179
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a couple of nights at the Riviera Beach Resort which is part of the Red Jacket group. They have a sister hotel next door and guests can use both facilities, although we didn't take advantage of this.

Our view was similar to many other reviewers - a great location with a lovely beach and outdoor facilities, and a strong Wi-Fi connection. The indoor jacuzzi was very large, and towels were freely available which we appreciated as we hadn't taken our own. Despite all the good points, however, the resort is let down noticeably by the relatively poor quality of the room.

Our room had a musty smell that disappeared fairly quickly. The air con was noisy but fortunately didn't disrupt our sleep. The main door never felt really securely locked, although I'm sure it was. And the bathroom was small, basic and old - I've only once or twice come across worse and that was in very cheap motel rooms.

For a good quality chain, the rooms were disappointing and because we had mixed weather we spent more time in the room than we might have done so the impact was all the greater. We'd also booked an 'ocean view' room which we technically had although it was from an angle and, being on the ground floor, we had to keep the curtains partially shut much of the time so couldn't actually appreciate what view we did have.

I'm not sure we'd return - we paid a fairly high sum for this place and I'd have expected a better standard of room, however good the location. But if you're just after a base and intend on sightseeing or lazing on the beach then this might be ok. I would recommend this hotel to others but would stress that you understand what you're going to get before booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS10675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. We certainly listen to our guest reviews and use the information learned from your feedback. We hope to see you back next season for another fun filled family getaway at our private beach on Nantucket Sound!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room - About what I expected since I read reviews first, older, a little musty, bathroom was very small and dark.
Location - Excellent, great beach, close to alot of stuff including Hyannis
Pools - Outside pool is great for kids, inside pool was really cold
Kids Activities - They really exceeded my expectations, the weather wasn't great so the shows really helped keep the kids entertained
Dining, etc. - There was no coffee maker in the room but you could get coffee in the lobby, having the beach bar was really cool, ate at the Courtside Grill (?) for breakfast and lunch, it was decent, a little overpriced but not too bad, and very convenient.
Service - We didn't really deal much with the staff but the maid always checked with us on towels even though we weren't having the room serviced which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFC_PVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the past Labor Day weekend. We only wish the weather had been more cooperative. Our staff strives to provide a very memorable stay with great food and beverage and pools and a private white sandy beach! Our season goes til mid October and the water is still warm without the crowds. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here Labor Day weekend. Reserved a Pool side Ocean view. The room was an average room, with a nice balcony. It was pretty clean, but we had several maintenance issues. The big one was, we couldn't close the bathroom door. Now I don't mean the knob wasn't working. Kind of broken. I mean the building either settled or the door was never properly installed, but we couldn't physically close the door. Meaning we has to share every visit to the bathroom, not so pleasant. I reported it 2 times to the front desk and asked for someone to fix it, but either they never came, or couldn't fix it. Either way there was no communication from anyone on our complaint.

Also, we couldn't get the bolt to lock. This was not normally a big deal, but when the housekeeper stopped by to clean and my hubby was showering in the bathroom with the door that didn't close, it was a bit of an issue.

Overall we had a nice time at this hotel. They have a lot of amenities the other South Yarmouth resorts/motels don't offer. The flowers are beautiful! The beach is large and not over crowded. The activities are nice for the kids.

The front desk staff needs is nice, but not as knowledgable as we had hoped, so make sure you know where you want to go and plan it our. We asked for recommendations on the closest lighthouse, and they didn't know there was one just down the street, kind of strange. The big thing is they need to just watch the small details that can make a huge difference.

The bathroom was really the only minor hiccup, that became a major deal because our requests were not answered.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room and you will be able to see the ocean &keep your patio door open all day an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mommy_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your review. We apolgize for not being aware of a local lighthouse that you wanted to visit. Our entire staff typically is well informed of any and all local attractions. The bathroom door has also been addressed and we thank you for mentioning it. Hope to see you return to one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the last stop for us in our three week long tour of the North East US. A party of 7, including 2 seniors and three kids, we had treated ourselves to four nights at The Riviera Beach. We chose sea-front rooms to wind down after a pretty hectic few weeks. We were so pleased with the location of the hotel and the peaceful sea-front setting. It is very much a family resort with a lovely outdoor pool and equally nice indoor pool with steaming hot Jacuzzi. The atmosphere was relaxed and family-friendly. There is a little sea-front bar and sometimes live music in front of it. The bar does not stay open late, again, great for the family feel. Our rooms were spacious, although the beds are very small, far too small for my 6'2" father who struggled to cope with both their length and width. This was really our only grumble. Our rooms, 118 and 119 were perfect, being on the ground floor and having almost direct access to the beach, without being smack in the middle of everything. They felt quite private, especially when the two families either side of our rooms moved out on the second day and we had two whole days with just the patio for four rooms to ourselves!! The views were gorgeous. The sea was blue and gentle. It was teeming with wildlife which kept our eldest son happy as he loves to explore nature. The free coffee was appreciated too! We left the resort feeling as though we had really had a separate 'mini-vacation' to round off a fabulous trip.

Room Tip: Rooms 118 and 119 are perfect if you want to be really close to the beach but a little more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent stay and wonderful comments you added in your review. The staff and manager's all work very hard to provide a great vacation and memory of Cape Cod. We hope you will visit us up north in The White Mountains of New Hampshire at our other Red Jacket Resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are just finishing or stay here and it was a great 5 days. I gave it 3 stars mainly because of the room, but let's look at both sides:

Pros: Can't beat the location -- right on the beach with chairs and umbrellas provided. Never had an issue getting a chair and the staff is always on top on things and friendly. The pool is also nice just steps away -- towels provided. You have access to the neighboring sister properties and can use their amenities (we used the laundry next door) and jump in on any activities throughout the day (generally no fee). Also a kids club to keep the little ones busy for a short time or a few hours. Food right on the property and short driving distance to many restaurants. Also beach activities like volleyball, parasailing and banana boating.

Cons: Really the only con is the room. As a couple of reviewers posted it really is a motel on the water - which it is (and that's ok). We booked though expedia and had a standard room with two beds - parking lot side. It has a mini fridge, cable TV and iron. Our room was tired, definitely musty smell and some wallpaper peeling off the walls. Nothing too terrible, nor is it dirty, just recognize it's a basic older room -- and the value is really in the wonderful location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and the nice comments you posted about your experience. Our properties are older however great care is put forth to provide a very clean and comfortable room with an impeccable location and excellent service from our entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a great week here! From check in to check out we were given great service! Staff was always accommodating ,very friendly& readily available! John Verity ( Manager) was always helpful ! Housekeeping staff did a great job! Kids Klub was an added bonus,great fun for the kids! Lots of fun activities- Yoga on the Beach,Music,Dance lessons !!! We had a fun & relaxing week! We have been coming here for many years & will continue to do so!

Room Tip: We always stay ocean view ,poolside 1st floor ! Love sitting on the deck with friends,while kids pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and taking time to review your overall experience here at Riviera Beach Resort.We do strive to provide a wonderful vacation memory for you and your family. Your points are heard and we contniue to listen to our guests and learn form every review. We hope to see you back at any one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts here on Cape Cod or up north in the beautiful white mountains of New Hampshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
3.0 mi away
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Green Harbor on the Ocean
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach Resort

Property: Riviera Beach Resort
Address: 327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#8 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oceanfront Favorite among Cape Cod resorts. The Riviera Beach Resort offers the perfect setting for memorable family vacations and romantic getaways for two. Our resort boasts 125 charming guest rooms including newly renovated Poolside and Ocean View locations. Relax and enjoy our beautiful private ocean beach, heated indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, restaurant, lounge, seasonal water sports, fully supervised Kids' Klub, Spa at Red Jacket Beach Resort, Blue Rock Golf Course, and fun summertime family activities. Our heated interactive, zero entry outdoor pool is designed for families with young and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Resort - Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Riviera Beach Resort Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing