We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Under utilized and tired hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Under utilized and tired hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a waste! This hotel has a great location right next to a great beach, but it's potential is not utilized. Where's that smile and happy greeting from the staff you expect from a well-run hotel? There's lots of staff, but they don't seem to do anything. When we checked in, we were received by a little grumpy staff member and we had to drag all (which wasn't much) information out of her. We even told her that this was our first visit to Cape Cod EVER. Had expected a much more proactive effort.
She have no info on the three locations where you can use the facilities or details on how to use the beach (towels etc.). Same repeated every time we had contact with the staff. At another time, three staff members were in the reception in the morning, no-one said goodmorning..
We stayed two adults+two children in one room and housekeeping never discovered that two bottles of shampoo isn't enough.

Our room was spacious, but TV is an very old model with poor signal quality, frige was rusten and smelled. Aircon was noisy. We also missed a coffee machine as the system with coffee at the reception was very confusing. It disappears in the afternoon so you have to go to the hotel next door to get it! But the mini-market wasn't always open at the time you wan't coffee. Apparently that staff was confused as well, as they couldn't explain how the system should work. I clearly expect a coffee machine in the room at this rate!
Staff at the beach was not consisitent either. Sometimes you couldn't get a towel as no-one was there to hand it out (We took some ourselves after waiting 15 minutes!). Only one of the days, did the staff go around at the beach and ask for drinks/food.
Only one day, we got help with sunbeds & umbrella at the beach. Again poor consistency.

It's too bad that the management of this hotel are neglecting, it as it as huge potential, but right now it's dying. Step it up and you can have a perl!

Room Tip: Find another as this isn't up-to-par
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rune120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your review and your choice in booking a room with us. I am so suprised to hear your feedback and actually somewhat shocked. Our property typically has raving fans when it comes to our polite energetic and friendly staff members.The ocean front resort has been hosting New England family vacations for nearly 40 years. We would certainly suggest you contact the General Manager so he may assist in making plans for you to return so his staff can show you all we have to offer. Our resort stays open til mid October and we would love to have you return.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    106
    47
    31
    13
See reviews for
179
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherstview, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is really a motel that offers some resort-like services. It was not worth the money paid for a high-end room. Just take a pool-side room and you will be happy. Lots of little problems - doors that stick, screens that come off easily, low food quality. The place appears to be tired. Highly recommend contacting the facility directly instead of going through a third-party promoter. You will get great personal service and better quality by talking to the staff directly

Room Tip: Pool-side is fine. Don't need ocean view or ocean-front. You see the ocean if you walk an extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. The guests were very upset upon arrival with the the third party pre-purchased ocean front room. Staff and management tried numerous times to appease the guest to no avail. The Riviera Resort is not tired as the guest claims. The outstanding location , impeccable grounds, newly renovated ocean front rooms are all a testament to how hard we work to provide a truly memorable experience. We however can not be all things to all guests. I can tell you we do try and in this case we just could not meet the expectation of our guest. The numerous conversations, and visits with our guests went unoticed and that is the most difficult challenge we face. Good luck in your future travels and we hope you are able to locate the experience you are searching for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reaing, ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a decent place to stay. I really wanted to give this place a better rating but in all honesty, it is basically a motel that happens to be located on the beach. There is nothing fancy here but the beach is amazing.

Some good stuff:
The staff will get a chair and umbrella and set it up on the beach for you. There is also a nice pool, where they occasionally organize activities. Plus there is a tiki like bar just off the beach where they also grill burgers, hot dogs and sausages . The food was what you would expect from a beachside grill.

As for the room.... it's motel room. Nothing to brag about.. But it is clean. And did I mention the beach? Also, keep in mind that there are a lot of families with kids. So it can get loud. We had a group of people, kids and adults, hanging out just outside our room talking loudly, up until about midnight.

This is a great place if you keep everything in perspective. I would defiantly recommend this place and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We carefully review all guest comments and use the information to help us improve our property and our guest experience. The Riviera Beach has a tremendous location and is part of the Red Jacket Resorts which are locally owned and operated. The resort staff and management team strive to provide a very clean and pristine atmosphere and also provide excellent food and beverage as well as numerous guest activities. The beach attendants will gladly set up chairs, umbrellas and furnish each guest with clean large beach towels. We certainly hope you enjoyed our resort and we look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family just returned from our sixth stay at the Riviera Beach resort. Obviously having visited this facility six times shows how much we enjoy our visits. The building and rooms are not what makes this place special, it's the location. The waterfront location can't be beat, the beach is beautiful,well maintained and easily accessible from the resort. The staff that works on the beach as well as all the staff at the Riviera are friendly and always willing to help. Although the building and rooms are not special as I stated before the grounds are kept very nice and many specImen plants and flowers adorn the facility. My two children who are 11 and 5 have a blast and never want to leave, my son enjoys meeting children from previous years visits and playing with them on the beach. The only suggestion I would make is I would like to see some planned events on the beach, maybe a cook out on the beach in the evening where all the people could get together and get to know each other. I've been to other resorts where they have a managers party around the pool midday which was a big hit. Overall, I highly rate this property and would highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EPM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you and your family for choosing our Riviera Beach ocean front resort for your stay. We strive daily to exceed all of our guests expectations while you are here. The staff works hard to keep our property clean and they provide polite friendly service . Thank you again and we hope to see you back again before the season ends in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay with my husband, 1yr old and 3 yr old. The location is excellent - right on the beach and plenty of restaurants in the area. There were lots of activities for the kiddos. My 3 year old LOVED hitting the baseball with the YD Red Sox - so much so that he didn't want to go in the pool but preferred hitting a ball around with my husband on the little lawn. The pool is excellent for kids - zero entry with fountains - what more could a toddler want?! (besides baseball). The staff were awesome and set up beach chairs and umbrellas for us and both our sons loved watching the kites at the beach next door. The rooms are average (clean, but slightly outdated) but honestly, the location and activities are what you are paying for and are totally worth every penny. We booked this past week because there was an early summer package. After researching several hotels on the cape this hotel seemed the best deal for what we were looking for with young children. I wouldn't recommend this resort for people without children (unless you don't mind a pool full of screaming kids). However, if you like to just hang at the beach then it's great - the kids are generally all at the pool. My 3 yr old woke up from his nap today and asked, "mommy, can we go back to red jacket tomorrow?" I think that pretty much sums up what an awesome time we had!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLH217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you and your family for visiting our very family friendly ocean front resort. The Riviera is located on its own white private sandy beach and the staff and management pride themselves on making every guest's experience as special as possible. Hope to see you and your family back at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Never an incident here other than positive although rooms could use updating in a major way but grounds and property well maintained with a beautiful beach for the kicker..Couldn't miss though a really bad Bed Bug review recently that either was pulled or zapped not sure why as if true should be known for the sake of future vacationers (fair is fair) No resort is capable of pulling off 5 star reviews each and every time.....Very curious.

Room Tip: Ocean View seems to be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chop33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we certainly hope we exceeded your expectations while you were a guest with us. The staff strives daily to provide each and every guest with a memorable stay. This past winter we upgraded our restaurant dining area, a new surface was applied on the indoor pool decking as well as 15 rooms which were redseigned with our new comfortable Cape Cod theme. To answer you specifically regarding the review that was immediately removed last week , it was an error and did not happen at The Riviera Beach Resort. We hope to see you back on The Cape in July and August for a summer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've gone back to this resort the last three years. Obviously we loved it the first time and it only keeps getting better. The rooms aren't anything special and. Provide you with a good nights sleep and lots of room. But this resort isn't about the rooms. It's about the view from your porch or balcony (beautiful ocean views). It's about the beach, with some of the softest white sugar sand around. The water is actually 10 degrees warmer on this stretch of the cape. The beach is private and they'll set up your beach chairs and umbrella just for you each morning. They have the greatest kids activities and run it like a camp. Our daughter couldn't wait to get going each morning after breakfast. From kite building to minigolf,hermit crab races, sand castle building, soccer, swimming and on and on.

The staff here is friendly, welcoming and accommodating. We can't say enough nice things about them. Perhaps that's why we bump into the same families who return year after year to the Riviera Beach Resort. They wouldn't choose anywhere else on the Cap. We know we'll be back again this summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 742PaulH742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage at the ocean front Riviera Beach Resort. It is our pleasure to serve you and your family and create memorable experiences each time you stay. Hope you come back soon and experience July and August on Cape Cod!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach Resort

Property: Riviera Beach Resort
Address: 327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#8 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oceanfront Favorite among Cape Cod resorts. The Riviera Beach Resort offers the perfect setting for memorable family vacations and romantic getaways for two. Our resort boasts 125 charming guest rooms including newly renovated Poolside and Ocean View locations. Relax and enjoy our beautiful private ocean beach, heated indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, restaurant, lounge, seasonal water sports, fully supervised Kids' Klub, Spa at Red Jacket Beach Resort, Blue Rock Golf Course, and fun summertime family activities. Our heated interactive, zero entry outdoor pool is designed for families with young and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Resort - Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Riviera Beach Resort Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing