We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location--expensive--great kids program!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location--expensive--great kids program!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Red Jacket Resorts in South Yarmouth has multiple locations--all located on Nantucket Sound. Rooms the overlook the ocean beaches are high cost, and unfortunately, ours was right smack in back of the area on the grass where kids programs were run DAILY. This meant NO afternoon nap/rest after a day at the pool/beach. For families--the kids club is a great deal--and allows a supervised few hours with no kids to worry about. As long as the kids are under @7 and over 4-5, they have a fun morning and lunch (at a premium), play different games daily, and have outside entertainers from magic shows to fishing derbys. Rooms are a bit on the old side and could use renovations. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidCapeAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The summer Kids activities programs are a great value.....generations look forward to attending, telling friends back home about the fun they had and the caring instuctors....we can always assist in finding the right room location for your needs...all our reservation staff is local and familiar with the hotel.....we appreciate direct calls to the hotel if more infromation is ever needed, our caring staff enjoys speaking about the resort and all the amenities available. It allows us to get to know you better and be ready to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    178
    95
    45
    19
See reviews for
307
110
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a long weekend at the beach front room
The staff and the location were superb. The facilities are aging and the end of the season may have led to a bit of a tattered look. Breakfast was ample and of good quality and service was attentive

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We appreciate your recognition of our attentive staff....when we post these it makes their day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We made our reservation through Expedia but after contacting the resort. Upon speaking to the resort directly, we cancelled our reservation through expedia and made it directly with the resort. The specials they offered made it worth the extrta work. We then through a curve at the resort and requested to arrive a day earlier. They said they could do it if we were ok with staying in a different room for the first night. We arrived and to our surprise, the resort was able to have our room available for the additional day...no room moving...

Our stay was great!! The location is close to everything, good restaurants, mini golf, and most importantly the ocean. There is a kids club which kept our 9yr old boy entertained every day. They do crafts, sports, etc... They have a pool inside and outside. My favorite was the breakfast buffet. I don't like buffets because they usually have a lot of food and the quality is just ok...well this bbuffet was limited but had the essentials. The food was hot and fresh and tasted good. From the hot cakes and scrambled eggs to the fresh fruit, muffins and eggs bendict everything was consistant for the 5 days we stayed. The staff was alwys around and willing to assist. Everyone from the maids and pool side staff to the conciere. I can go on and on.

A real nice place to stay. Price was right for where and when we stayed. The rooms were comfortable, perhaps a little small but had all the usuals. If there is anything negaitve I would say...there is no coffee maching in the room. They do provide it free in the lobby and my son fetched it for my wife and I each day. He took advantage of the free chocolate milk each time.

We have already made plans to go back. It seemed that many people we met return yearly. I can see no reason why we wouldn't. This isn't our first time to the cape and we have stayed in other parts and other places, but may have just found the place for all future visits. If you have children, this is a no-brainer...give it a try! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falcon049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate all of your positive comments regarding your vacation here at Red Jacket Beach. We are looking forward to making us part of your families traditions. As you noted it is always helpfull to have communication directly with the resort, it enables us to do our best to assist you in creating the components that will assure you of a "Peacefull Family Vacation" or whatever needs you may have. Our staff is always pleased to be recognized and be a part the fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a comfortable and clean hotel facing the ocean. It was an older facility as are many on Cape Cod. The location is the thing that makes it very special. You are right on the beach with a wonderful view. The breakfast and dinner we had there were both excellent. I was with a tour group with 40 people.

Room Tip: It may cost more, but the front rooms facing the beach would be the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Cape Cod and Red Jacket Beach. As noted you travelled with a tour group and we always appreciate the choice of our resort by quality operators.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful location, right on wide, clean beach. Great jumping off point to explore Cape Cod. The staff was very helpful and friendly, However, the hotel is in dire needs of updating. The rooms were dirty. It was clear that the maids, exchanged towels and made beds but that was it. In 4 days the carpet was never swept and trash cans were not emptied everyday. The rooms had a musty smell. Towels were threadbare and ragged. I wash my car with better towels. The lighting was poor and you had to stand on the bed to reach the lights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGB324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our oceanfront beach and Mid Cape accessability. Our friendly staff is a wonderfull resource assisting guests as to where to go and experience Cape Cod.
I understand your unease about the value associated with the guest room housekeeping during your recent visit.. As always if there is any concern of not meeting guests expectations here at Red Jacket Beach, we will do everthing we can to insure that we meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for a Friday/Saturday stay in September. The weather was fantastic and so was our stay. Started out with a relaxing massage in the spa at Red Jacket. We had a regular room in a small section outside the parking lot. I was at first thinking I would be hearing noise all night but it was quiet! Room was spacious, bathroom was clean and new. Beds and pillows comfortable. Fridge and coffee pot in room. AC comfortable. Right up the walk was a gorgeous sand beach. Pool was clean and heated to about 74 degrees. Plenty of chairs. Bar right outside the pool gate as well as a little lunch grill with good food. Beach was groomed each morning and pristine. Breakfast buffet in morning was adequate. Coffee and tea in lobby as well as a little coffee room near the indoor pool. We did not see the indoor pool as it was 84 degrees and sunny on Sept 21st in Massachusetts. We even went into the ocean for a while. The staff was so welcoming and accommodating. We are looking forward to our next trip there already!

Room Tip: There are suites that are on the beach which come complete with full kitchen. But, they have people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nh_salsamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are not sure if this review is for the Blue Water (A Red Jacket Resort) down the street or us. Since we are all the same family of hotels we will accept the accolades and pass them along to all our associates. We look forward to your return in either of our resorts. When you stay at Any Red Jacket Resort the facilities of all the others are available to utilize. Thanks again for your comments, and by the way it is now October and the weather is still fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

this is my second review on this resort and Yes, it is going to be much different than the first.
I had an amazing time with my Family at this resort. There were a few subtle changes that definately enhanced my experience this time around. For example; The availability of amenities such as fresh, dry towelsin many convenient spots, a bar positioned just right between the pool and the beach, which made amazing smoothies and frozen drinks...As a matter of fact , a server would go around the beach and pool area and take your order and bring the drink to you.-
Simply Great!! It goes to show that the biggest impact is often times in the small details.
The manager, Diane and her staff were great and ready to assist with any request...
Thank you again for a fantastic time...Planning of coming again next year with extended family...

Room Tip: Room was great... beautiful ocean and bay view *flat screen TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for your thoughtfull comments.......we look forward to hosting your family again next year as it becomes a summer tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
369 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
306 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Green Harbor on the Ocean
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing