We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Jacket Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Red Jacket Wedding”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Red Jacket Resort - Went to a wedding here and they did a wonderful job. The ceremony was outside on the grass overlooking the water. Cocktails reception was held under a tent on the waster also. Staff was great. Dinner, inside, was very good and the staff was also wonderful. Food was excellent. Beautiful resort for a beautiful wedding....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are known for being Cape Cods premier family resort....but as you know in the Spring and fall we host some of the finest wedding receptions on Cape Cod. We are right on the beach!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    183
    96
    45
    19
See reviews for
313
112
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th time here at Red Jacket. The location is perfect, right on the beach, nice and clean. With the pool and activities its a favorite with our kids... 9, 11 and 12.
The rooms are basic, and dated. But we don't come here to stay in the room.
We travel off site for almost all of our meals. They do have a restaurant onsite... as well as outside grill with the basics as well... hotdogs hamburgers...salad. We definitely prefer eating in town. Or bringing your own snacks and P&J sandwiches... no microwave.
The staff have all been nice and helpful.
We usually get connecting rooms, but I was told by the front desk because I requested "adjoining" rooms, this was not the correct "verbage".. so we did not get the connecting rooms. I felt I was being blamed for the mistake, when I've always booked adjoining hotel rooms wherever we've traveled and have never had this problem...
We felt safe allowing our kids to roam the property and beach. They have basketball hoop, shuffleboard, tennis courts and the indoor pool is always a hit.
I would LOVE if they would include a better fitness facility or beach workout class. Morning yoga isn't my thing, and there is a stationary bike and treadmill upstairs in the heated indoor pool house... its very humid and not very welcoming in my mind.

In the end we like it here very much.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for familes...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the family recommendation, We always appreciate our guests comments and look forward in assisting that your next visit is stress free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We are typically not beach people but I wanted to rent a place, for a weekend family get away, that was right on the beach. Just once. While we are still not beach people, I can see how the resort is a great place for families with kids.

The grounds are immaculate and extremely well kept. There are two pools and a number of activities for kids. One frustrating situation was that people would 'stake out' poolside chairs or ocean side chairs - and not show up for a good period of time. This practiced seemed less than desirable and I heard another family commenting on it as well.

The staff is friendly and strives to provide a good customer experience and we only found a small handful of exceptions. With the complimentary yoga and tennis, along with a number of kids activities there is something for everyone and the location - away from busy Rt. 28 is great!

The rooms are basic, I was surprised there were no microwaves. However given where you are, I don't know that it's anticipated you'll be spending a lot of time in your room. I was a little surprised to see a line of untidy rug alongside our bed and the wall. And it was how the person sleeping on that side of the bed was going to get into bed so it was definitely noticeable. Other than that the room was tidy.

Absolutely beautiful location!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool had a balcony and excellent view of the landscaped grounds. I would avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New_Englander225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding our wonderfull location along with the recognition of our friendly service oriented staff. We look forward to having you back for a "vacation weekend" again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The plus is that it is very family friendly. Your kids can find other kids their age quickly. My son loved the reptile show. It was about 75 when we stayed so the ocean was too cold to swim in. They said they have heated pools but those were too cold to swim in as well. You would think they would have a water slide for the kids but they don't. They also don't have any shop to sell resort like things including nets to go hermit crab catching. You have to drive down the road for anything like that. They told us we had "ocean view" but it was more like pool view and very noisy. River view is much better! The rooms are nothing special in my opinion and having your young kids sleep in the same room meant everyone had to go to sleep at the same time. What makes this place is the kid friendliness. I am sure it would have been slightly better too if it weren't raining and cold while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We wish the weather was a bit better for your short visit...but we are glad the kids had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Warwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spent 3 nights there with my girlfriends and we were delighted with wonderful service, a clean, oceanfront room with a lovely private deck, and staff that couldn't do enough for us! It rained for 2 of the days, so we tried the spa and loved the excellent massages in the intimate spa just steps away. We are beach lovers and liked the handy snack bar and super service by Ieva. Their was live music at the beach bar--lovely! I had sprained my ankle and expressed doubt about getting onto the beach---3 minutes later, Martin arrived in a golf cart, took me to the water's edge, and carried me to my lounge--already set up with umbrella and table. The smiling, enthusiastic staff, many from foreign countries, added to the casual vacation vibe. Chris, the manager, aided by concierge and greeters, Jeanette and Mary made this a fantastic trip. Mary told us about spots where the locals dine, just a walk or short ride away. Food was great and more reasonable than the big name restaurants. The" Dragon" helped take luggage to our car. They treated us like we were important. This is a casual, beachfront resort which offers everything, right at the beginning of the Cape, so the drive was shorter. The beach and service makes me want to keep returning and recommending the Red Jacket!!!

Room Tip: If you love the ocean, go for an ocean front room. The unobstructed view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RILinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for recognizing some of our associates who made your getaway special. We always share Trip Advisor reviews with our staff and its special when an employee is noted as making a lasting impression. Your comments are appreciated by all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

26 of us stayed for a family reunion and everyone had a great time. The staff is so helpful and attentive. The beach was clean and the water warm. The events hosted on site catered to people of all ages, and the events for children had our kids begging to stay longer! While the per evening price was a bit high, this resort was worth it and I highly recommended staying.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent extended family vacation here at Red Jacket Beach. We are pleased that we were able to participate in creating lasting memories of your families Cape Cod reunion. We do have many families who over the years have made Red Jacket Beach a tradition and we hope to include yours on that growing list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here with my family (husband and 2 kids) and the place has it's pros and cons. I'll start with the cons first:

Cons:
1) the accommodation are a 2-2.5 star quality
2) the rooms are dirty and extremely dusty, they really need to do something about their housekeeping staff because they are AWFUL!!! I have never stayed in a room that was that dusty (you could see the layer of dust on everything) and the rugs were nasty and dirty ... housekeeping came in every morning and made the bed, vacuumed a little and changed out your towels that's it ... there was no wiping down any of the surfaces ... my mirrors had fingers prints all over them (and they weren't from us) , there was a dead bug smashed on the wall that no one cared to clean and remove, the rug in the corner of the rooms was gray from the dust, there was mold on the bathroom ceiling ... it was bad!!

Pros
1) the location is AWESOME! you are right on the beach and a river ... the beach is clean and the sand is soft .. the river is also nice to go catch critters or kayak so overall the location is great
2) they give you beach towels as you head down to the beach, there are beach chairs for you to take once on the beach along with umbrellas (no fees), there's also bar service down on the beach and at the pool
3) there are two pools, one indoors and one outdoors ... both are a decent size and were clean
4) the Kidz Club was great ... they pretty much did the same thing everyday (how many t-shirts can you color) but it gave us a break and the kids did it a few days
5) the activities are great ... you literally don't need to leave the resort they have so much going on during the day which was fun such as crab races, bonfires, magic shows, science shows, watercolor painting, etc.
6) it is definitely a family resort, I would not recommend it to people without kids
7) they had a grill by the pool to grab lunch and it was reasonably priced
8) ate at the restaurant once, didn't care for the food quality but it's on the premises in case you don't want to drive anywhere (lots of places to eat nearby but traffic on 28 can get heavy).
9) along the river kayaks are for rent ($40 per kayak) and jetskis ($115) and you could parasail, it all was very convenient

This place has so much potential and they really need to clean the rooms and make them nicer. At a price tag of $300+ a room (with two queen beds) a night I expected a lot more. I would love to return next year but I'm turned off by the rooms. The worse room I have every stayed in.

Also, beware that I booked my room via Travelocity and there was a mix up upon checking. Since we are a family of 4, I booked a room with 2 queen beds. When I got there, I was assigned to a room with 1 king bed. I was very disappointed. Peggy at the front desk tried working with me and my kids ended up sleeping the night on cots. The next day we had to switch rooms since she was able to move things around and found us a room. It was not a good way to start a vacation and it was very frustrating. I'm not sure who's fault it was, if the resort dropped the ball or Travelocity but no one certainly took the blame. In the end, I paid $300+ the first night for my kids to sleep on a cot and I worried all night they would fall off and then in the morning we had to move all our stuff to another room. I was not happy at all!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are sorry your stay got off on the wrong foot with your reservation made via Travelocity. We are so pleased that you were able to identify all the posative attributes that encourage our guests to return year after year. We always share Trip Advisor comments with all of our associates and some of our guest reviews provide for training opportunities. We look forward to meeting your expectations next year and I would encourage booking directly with our staff to assure you the room selection that will work best for your family. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
307 reviews
21.7 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing