We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July vacation at the beach on Cape Cod”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“July vacation at the beach on Cape Cod”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great beach, nice pool. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast buffet. Near everything, like to restaurants. Fishing, golf, family activities near by. Lots of stuff for kids on the proper
ty. Lot's of fun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are glad your family enjoyed time here at Red Jacket Beach. We provide a long list of quality children and adult activities, along with friendly personal service..... the pools and huge private beach is special... really makes us unique. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments and we hope to see you again in years to come creating family "Beach: memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    177
    95
    45
    19
See reviews for
306
110
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

First time staying here. Got to our room which was overlooking a parking lot. When I made the reservations for our family in May, we had the choice of a river-view room or a room overlooking the pool. I chose the 2nd floor room overlooking the pool room since it was the least expensive. So there was no view off our balcony. When I asked the next day about it, the woman at the desk, said, "Our rooms are all the same", she made no effort exploring my question and barely looked at me". The activity schedule was hard to figure out since it was our first time here, no map of the resort was given at check in or not even an explaination to where things were, so we weren't clear where things were being held (magic show, McMurphy's, etc..). The only great thing was it's on the beach and lounge chairs and umbrellas provided. We booked with a free breakfast which was very nice and had many choices. Just felt it was not a very friendly place and that it was not vacationer friendly. Not sure if it was really worth the money, when there are so many less expensive motels in the area. There are also plenty of other beaches in the area that you can drive to.

Room Tip: It seems like first floor rooms by the pool would be most convienent for families with kids. Can jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruinsfan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
There are 3 second floor rooms in the hotel (164 total) that view the parking area and are priced as our least expensive location...all of our guestrooms offer similar layout and decor. The variation in price is based on accessibility to the ocean and the resulting views.Our grounds are expansive and we aplologize if it was difficult to navigate the schedule of activities. The value associated with the cost a family visit includes a complimentary variety of programs and supervised daily activities for the whole family. Some of the daily summer items are supervised "Kids Club", yoga on the beach, nightly entertainment, fishing derbies, build and fly your own kite, watercolor painting, magic shows, clowns, tattoos, balloon animals, beach fires etc. Our staff is usually friendly and interactive. We are glad that you were able to utilize our early summer promtional breakfast option experiencing the quality associated with our breakfast buffet and menu favorites. As always our staff is eager to discuss room location and value associated with a visit the the Red Jacket Beach, we try to be available and accessable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Red Jacket is a nice Cape Cod resort offering the amenities you would expect from such a resort in this price range, and lots of activities if you have kids. It is in a beautiful location for the "central" Cape. Thanks to Toni and the excellent staff at the Spa for a great experience there as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for recognizing our relaxing spa services as an enhancement to your stay here at Red Jacket Beach. Many folks are unaware of the modern spa operated by us here at the Red Jacket Beach. Massage...nails ...facials all available. Many of our therapists have been here for years and enjoy taking care of our guests. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights on a getaway by ourselves. This resort was one of few that we were able to find that was located on the beach. It is a family resort, but we were there a few weeks before peak season so there were not too many kids there. The beach is within walking distance and is beautiful. The rooms are OK, but you are not in them much. It was nice that our room had chairs and an umbrella. We loved this first trip to Cape Cod. The free breakfast we got every morning was so good and was nice to have. We would recommend this to friends and hope to return some day!

Room Tip: All rooms would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jriney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Nice to see that you are still thinking of the Red Jacket Beach..........We hope to see you again this summer....keep in mind that the fall is a great time to be here also especially as a "getaway"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our third time here, and we weren't disappointed. It's simply a great value compared to other places on the Cape, especially for families. You can't beat the location, right on a beautiful beach. We stayed in a river view room. In my opinion, this room type is the best value for the money. The rooms on that side of the hotel are quiet and you have a beautiful view of the Bass River and marshlands, as well as the little dock where the hotel launches its jet skis. You also get to see the gorgeous sunsets from your spacious balcony, as these rooms face west. The rooms are clean and even a bit more spacious than rooms at other hotels we've stayed in where we have paid twice the money. The bed linens have been updated since our last stay. The mattresses are so comfortable!!

Some people have complained of a musty smell in the rooms. It's simply a function of where this hotel is located and not a function of the hotel being run-down or dirty. The hotel is very well-kept and clean. The hotel is on the ocean/river -- you are going to experience damp smells at times. Simply turn on the A/C when you walk in the room. It will refresh/circulate/dry out the air in the room -- problem solved.

The staff at this hotel couldn't be nicer! Everyone we encountered was polite. Every one of them say hello as they pass by you and are more than willing to help.

Free beach chairs (both sand chairs and chaise lounges) and free umbrellas. Drink service, both on the beach and at the pool.

Nice outdoor and indoor pools. -- well-maintained. It would be nice to see full food service for lunch, both on the beach and at the pools. (Also, one recommendation I have for management: why do you make these poor drink runners wear black shirts in the hot sun? It seems that it's only the drink runners who wear black. Other workers were in maroon or white shirts. Let them all wear white so they stay cool.).

Drinks were not outrageously priced. $4 for a domestic beer. $5 for imports. $6 for daiquiris, etc.

Great activities for kids! The hermit crab races are hilarious. Movies shown in the pool.

We were here on a package that included breakfast (early summer deal). Great value and the breakfast buffet was delicious, with ample choices. You can also order off the menu if you choose.

Very relaxing stay! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose a river view room. Can't beat it for the price, the view, the value, and they're mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We all appreciate sharing the thoughtful comments about your recent stay here at Red Jacket Beach. We do have the Beach staff in White starting this weekend! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Cute properly right on the beach. Feels and looks secluded, but still conveniently located totown. Offers individual cottage rentals for larger parties and guests with pets :)
the breakfast offered wasn't good, but there are plenty of local options.

Room Tip: Beach front, ground access option Or cottage on courtyard provides outdoor community area if vacati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and we will review our breakfast offerings and see where improvements can be made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I came here for a off season weekend getaway. We loved everything about this place. It was quiet (even though it was a Girl's Escape weekend). Everything was clean and the beaches were great. We plan on coming back hopefully for another weekend getaway in the fall. If I had to say one bad thing about this is that they don't have a coffee machine in the room, we like to have coffee as we are getting ready. But they do have free coffee in the lobby, which my husband went down to get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnnklly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay here at Red Jacket Beach Resort. Though many guests may consider us a family oriented resort, or a nice location for a wedding or corporate function. We have plenty of space so that we also are known as a "get away". our spacious grounds, 1,000 foot private beach and my favorite the "riverside" area always provides opportunity for private moments. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
21.7 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing