We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Ten friends spent the weekend at the Red Jacket Resort, enjoying their special "Girls Night Out". Everything was well planned and executed and the accomodations were wonderful, as well as the meals. One of the friends contacted the Executive Chef, John Payne, to compliment him on the meals and he offerred the recipe for one of the dishes, which we have now all shared. The rooms, the meals, the location, the services, were all great and we will surely return for another vacation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bookrevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thats for sharing you comments about Girls Weekend......we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    176
    95
    43
    19
See reviews for
303
109
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family & I have been coming up to the Red Jacket now for 20 years. In the last few years, we've definitely noticed the hotel was been "slipping". We've kept coming back in hopes that things would improve, but after our last visit, I felt compelled to write this review. The room decor has not changed since our first visit, except for a flat screen TV. The furniture is dated & very worn. I feel like I'm visiting my great aunt rather than Cape Cod in these rooms. Yes, I get it. You come to the Red Jacket for the location - which is great, it's right on the beach. Beautiful outdoor pool area as well. There's a terrible tent in the middle of the resort that blocks beach views for weddings and events. I don't think the prices of the Red Jacket at all are justified based on the room. We've had several issues with loud noise at night due to parties or weddings. Please give this hotel a facelift & then I'll be willing to spend whatever on a room!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank lauracg524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We appreciate your family loyalty in visiting Red Jacket Beach for over 20 years. As you know we do have one of the nicest Oceanfront locations on Cape Cod. We are continually making efforts to update our classic Cape Cod style décor. As noted all rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, our bedding, most carpets and draperies are new. Each of our rooms has a balcony or deck allowing for a pleasant view with ample room for seating and taking it all in. During the early spring and after Labor Day we do provide a ceremony tent on the lawn. Our facility is a popular location for Oceanfront wedding ceremonies and we must have an option if the weather is not cooperative on that special day. In late June the tent is removed, the patio area will be for family activities, dining, and this year and Beach front bar. We apologize for the noise of a few thoughtless folks contributing to creating an unpleasant memory here at Red Jacket Beach. Our staff will always react appropriately when challenged with noise issues to resolve the situation and insure that our guests return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in a family room with our one year old daughter. Great for a short getaway! Unfortunately, sleep was scarce in the first night due to a loud party, which it took three reception calls to quiet down. Apart from that the service was great and Virginia and her team did an outstanding job of making us feel home away from home. Don't miss Song's back massage!
Thanks,

Meike, Jens and Claudia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time in recognizing some of our associates that contributed to your enjoyment here at Red Jacket Beach. As noted there were some noise issues that night that were resolved in a satisfactory manner. We are always pleased when an experience at Red Jacket Beach provides lasting family memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, ME
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

A vacation on Cape Cod in April is a good way to avoid the crowds and enjoy time together. Accommodations were comfortable, clean, spacious, and convenient to the beach and bike trails. Our family (over 40 adults, teens, and young children of all ages) stayed in the condos and houses adjacent to the hotel. We've been here before and hope to come back next year. Customer service is outstanding and use of the hotel pool and hot tub (indoor), tennis courts, docks for fishing, and many grassy areas added to the fun. Weather was cool and breezy so dress appropriately. Some couples would have preferred queen-size beds as there were several doubles.

Room Tip: The 4 bedroom ranch condos were the best for 2 families. The saltbox and large house were also very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your review....the first one of the 2013 season! We appreciate the comments and look forward to your extended family returning To Red Jacket Beach. As you know we have 150 hotel units and 14 "cottages" surronding the main hotel grounds. The cottages are multi bedroom with a variety of bedding options. All of our hotel units provide Queen beds in the double rooms and Kings in the single rooms. Again thanks for being with us on opening weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is average at best- the rooms are a outdated- furniture, tv, bathrooms need a facelift desperately.
The Spa is the best part about this place. The staff that worked there were friendly and made you feel special.
I was shocked to find out that the price for this hotel can be as high as $450!!! It is true that the location is beautiful, but it is also true that the Red jacket as a hotel cannot justify this high rate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for your thoughts regarding our wonderfull location and the friendly service which made you feel special. We are located on a 1,000 foot private beach directly on Nantucket Sound. Our room rates are a reflection of the season and the associated level of amenities, services and programs available to all of our guests. During the summer season along with our in -season dining and beach services, our emphasis is on family entertainment and many associated activities along with daily supervised childrens programs, yoga on the beach , painting classes, jugglers, clowns, face painting, build and fly your own kites and a myriad of other programs all offered on a complementary basis. Our room rates in the spring and fall are of considerable value, we are one of the only direct oceanfront hotels on Cape Cod. As you have stated the value in all seasons here at Red Jacket Beach the best location available to experience Cape Cod, along with warm personalized attention and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I think it would be cheaper in the long run to rent a house. Did not eat much of the food as they were not fully season-ready. What we did eat wasn't well prepared. Service was okay at the resort. The spa wasn't very high end for the prices. The rooms were average. they have that musty ocean-side odor which i was told was a "Cape Cod" smell. The location was FABULOUS!! Water front. A beautiful slice of Cape Cod. Many restaurants, famille activities within a 3 mile radius.

Room Tip: We stay in a 2 bd ocean view suite. It's a good value for 4 people if you prefer privacy. 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank food_lover0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Every year, in July, my whole extended family gets together for a reunion. The last several years, we have spent our reunion weekend at the Red Jacket, on the beach in beautiful South Yarmouth.

The resort has an offering for everybody. Our family spends three days in the surf and sand, in the indoor pool and hot tub, singing by the *resort sponsored* beach bonfires; some even attend beach yoga. Without fail, every year my cousins and I go fishing.

While we always hook fish, this year was special. On the last cast of a long day fishing, I landed a huge flounder. The catch was too good to throw back. I figured at worst I could put it on ice and bring it home.

On a whim, I asked the restaurant manager if he could find somebody to clean it for me. He told me that he could not only clean it for me, but if I wanted, he would cook it so my family could enjoy it with me! I was thrilled.

The Sous Chef, James, cleaned and cooked the flounder two ways for us. Both recipes were amazing! The fish was big enough for the whole family (20 People) to try and enjoy. Everybody was impressed with the resort’s willingness and ability to accommodate my unusual request. The resort went above and beyond to help create a special moment for all of us!

Little things like James taking the time during a peak dinning period to help create this memory is what makes the Red Jacket such an amazing place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing "Bass River" for amazing sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.1 mi away
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Green Harbor on the Ocean
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
14.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing