We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family & I have been coming up to the Red Jacket now for 20 years. In the last few years, we've definitely noticed the hotel was been "slipping". We've kept coming back in hopes that things would improve, but after our last visit, I felt compelled to write this review. The room decor has not changed since our first visit, except for a flat screen TV. The furniture is dated & very worn. I feel like I'm visiting my great aunt rather than Cape Cod in these rooms. Yes, I get it. You come to the Red Jacket for the location - which is great, it's right on the beach. Beautiful outdoor pool area as well. There's a terrible tent in the middle of the resort that blocks beach views for weddings and events. I don't think the prices of the Red Jacket at all are justified based on the room. We've had several issues with loud noise at night due to parties or weddings. Please give this hotel a facelift & then I'll be willing to spend whatever on a room!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lauracg524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We appreciate your family loyalty in visiting Red Jacket Beach for over 20 years. As you know we do have one of the nicest Oceanfront locations on Cape Cod. We are continually making efforts to update our classic Cape Cod style décor. As noted all rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, our bedding, most carpets and draperies are new. Each of our rooms has a balcony or deck allowing for a pleasant view with ample room for seating and taking it all in. During the early spring and after Labor Day we do provide a ceremony tent on the lawn. Our facility is a popular location for Oceanfront wedding ceremonies and we must have an option if the weather is not cooperative on that special day. In late June the tent is removed, the patio area will be for family activities, dining, and this year and Beach front bar. We apologize for the noise of a few thoughtless folks contributing to creating an unpleasant memory here at Red Jacket Beach. Our staff will always react appropriately when challenged with noise issues to resolve the situation and insure that our guests return again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 612 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in a family room with our one year old daughter. Great for a short getaway! Unfortunately, sleep was scarce in the first night due to a loud party, which it took three reception calls to quiet down. Apart from that the service was great and Virginia and her team did an outstanding job of making us feel home away from home. Don't miss Song's back massage!
Thanks,

Meike, Jens and Claudia

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time in recognizing some of our associates that contributed to your enjoyment here at Red Jacket Beach. As noted there were some noise issues that night that were resolved in a satisfactory manner. We are always pleased when an experience at Red Jacket Beach provides lasting family memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A vacation on Cape Cod in April is a good way to avoid the crowds and enjoy time together. Accommodations were comfortable, clean, spacious, and convenient to the beach and bike trails. Our family (over 40 adults, teens, and young children of all ages) stayed in the condos and houses adjacent to the hotel. We've been here before and hope to come back next year. Customer service is outstanding and use of the hotel pool and hot tub (indoor), tennis courts, docks for fishing, and many grassy areas added to the fun. Weather was cool and breezy so dress appropriately. Some couples would have preferred queen-size beds as there were several doubles.

Room Tip: The 4 bedroom ranch condos were the best for 2 families. The saltbox and large house were also very...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks for your review....the first one of the 2013 season! We appreciate the comments and look forward to your extended family returning To Red Jacket Beach. As you know we have 150 hotel units and 14 "cottages" surronding the main hotel grounds. The cottages are multi bedroom with a variety of bedding options. All of our hotel units provide Queen beds in the double rooms and Kings in the single rooms. Again thanks for being with us on opening weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is average at best- the rooms are a outdated- furniture, tv, bathrooms need a facelift desperately.
The Spa is the best part about this place. The staff that worked there were friendly and made you feel special.
I was shocked to find out that the price for this hotel can be as high as $450!!! It is true that the location is beautiful, but it is also true that the Red jacket as a hotel cannot justify this high rate.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thanks for your thoughts regarding our wonderfull location and the friendly service which made you feel special. We are located on a 1,000 foot private beach directly on Nantucket Sound. Our room rates are a reflection of the season and the associated level of amenities, services and programs available to all of our guests. During the summer season along with our in -season dining and beach services, our emphasis is on family entertainment and many associated activities along with daily supervised childrens programs, yoga on the beach , painting classes, jugglers, clowns, face painting, build and fly your own kites and a myriad of other programs all offered on a complementary basis. Our room rates in the spring and fall are of considerable value, we are one of the only direct oceanfront hotels on Cape Cod. As you have stated the value in all seasons here at Red Jacket Beach the best location available to experience Cape Cod, along with warm personalized attention and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I think it would be cheaper in the long run to rent a house. Did not eat much of the food as they were not fully season-ready. What we did eat wasn't well prepared. Service was okay at the resort. The spa wasn't very high end for the prices. The rooms were average. they have that musty ocean-side odor which i was told was a "Cape Cod" smell. The location was FABULOUS!! Water front. A beautiful slice of Cape Cod. Many restaurants, famille activities within a 3 mile radius.

Room Tip: We stay in a 2 bd ocean view suite. It's a good value for 4 people if you prefer privacy. 2nd fl...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank food_lover0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Every year, in July, my whole extended family gets together for a reunion. The last several years, we have spent our reunion weekend at the Red Jacket, on the beach in beautiful South Yarmouth.

The resort has an offering for everybody. Our family spends three days in the surf and sand, in the indoor pool and hot tub, singing by the *resort sponsored* beach bonfires; some even attend beach yoga. Without fail, every year my cousins and I go fishing.

While we always hook fish, this year was special. On the last cast of a long day fishing, I landed a huge flounder. The catch was too good to throw back. I figured at worst I could put it on ice and bring it home.

On a whim, I asked the restaurant manager if he could find somebody to clean it for me. He told me that he could not only clean it for me, but if I wanted, he would cook it so my family could enjoy it with me! I was thrilled.

The Sous Chef, James, cleaned and cooked the flounder two ways for us. Both recipes were amazing! The fish was big enough for the whole family (20 People) to try and enjoy. Everybody was impressed with the resort’s willingness and ability to accommodate my unusual request. The resort went above and beyond to help create a special moment for all of us!

Little things like James taking the time during a peak dinning period to help create this memory is what makes the Red Jacket such an amazing place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing "Bass River" for amazing sunsets!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The rooms were average. Typical beach hotel musty smell. The beds were comfortable once you removed the old bedspreads and added a top sheet over the blanket. We had a river view room which opened up to the lawn which gave my children room to run. The food was good and the restaurant offered a good variety. The pool/beach front dining was wonderful especially with the music entertainment. I loved being right on the beach, but would had loved if the beach was raked everyday. There was too much seaweed. So the downside was the fact that many large families stayed and had rooms next to each other. They set up tables and coolers and left their trash out everyday. I wish the resort would not allow this "camping" not to happen since there are many food well prepared food options.

Room Tip: It is not worth the price for the beachfront rooms. All the rooms are close enough.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 285KarenS285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
319 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $173 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing