We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Affordable beachfront with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
296 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Affordable beachfront with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Well maintained older property. Excellent food and service. Indoor and outdoor pools, wedding facilities and wide sandy beach on south side of cape. Beds were firm! Indoor hallways. Located near Hyannis and close to main access roads.

Room Tip: Lower number rooms are closer to the front desk and restaurant. Handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your experience here at Red Jacket Beach Resort. We hope to see you the next time you visit Cape Cod.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    173
    93
    42
    18
See reviews for
296
103
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having had a bad experience at a Rt 28 motel we were in the market for a replacement room and everything was sold out. While standing at the Red Jacket while the girl was searching for a room Tom stepped out from the back took us on a tour and got us a room facing the river. Nice room but at $175 per night off season it should be. Liked the room and the hotel would say that you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Preview the room first...they are happy to show you around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewHampshirereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for posting your review regarding the Value of service here at the Red Jacket Beach. We are located on Nantucket Sound considered to be one of the finest locations on Cape Cod. Along with the location comes the expenses associated with maintaining a direct Ocean front seasonal property. As some folks have indicated it's possible to find a less expensive accomodation. It is our goal to maintain the Red Jacket Beach and create the balence of location, service, ambience, seasonal activities and value for our current guests and those who are planning a getaway, vacation, wedding or corporate event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in cottage #17.It was plenty spacious for 7 girl cousins.The location was beautiful.The cleanliness of the cottage needed some improvement. The bottom of the freezer needed a good cleaning.The houskeeping service was average-could have been better.The beds were comfortable but the furniture in the living room needs to be replaced .The pool area also could have been cleaner and could use a coat of paint.For $2,234.00 for 3 nights they could have given you a breakfast or a complimentary newspaper.We did have a great time and a barrel of laughs,but with more research I think we could have done better.

Room Tip: Oceanview if available are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dooze14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are glad you and your cousins enjoyed a good time here at Red Jacket Beach Resort. Cottage #17 is our largest and most expensive unit. it has been described in the following quote.
"Spectacular sunsets over the river can be seen from the deck of our three-bedroom riverside home. This home sleeps 12 and has three bedrooms, three full baths (one with a Jacuzzi tub), four TVs, DVD players, private deck, in-house laundry facilities, and the best view in town overlooking Parker's River and Nantucket Sound." We have many cottage units surrounding the hotel that could comfortably accomodate a group of the size you described. We would like to host your cousins again and we could spend some time finding the unit that would fit your needs. As discussed it was agreed that this unit was a better value then all of the individual guestrooms that were originally reserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

There is no doubt that the location of this property makes it special. It is right on a beautiful beach which can be footsteps away from your room. However, they way overcharge for obstructed ocean view rooms that have broken screen doors and low end motel room furnishings. While we were impressed with the service personnel (re: housekeeping, bell staff, and bartenders) and grounds but we will not be returning as the prices are ridiculous. The bath towels are terrible, the in room TVs are old, and furnishings are just plain disappointing.

When the front desk tells you the room is ocean view, beware. Most of the season there is a giant tent / pavilion between the room and the ocean view.

Room Tip: Request a ocean or river view with no obstuctions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAL0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are pleased that you were impressed with Our location and service staff. We have a variety of room types at different price points. Our "Direct Oceanfront" rooms face Nantucket Sound and and are steps from our 1000 foot private beach. All of these rooms offer Flat screen TV's, I-Home docking systems, updated bedding etc. Rooms that are classified as "Ocean - View" are located close to the beach and our Pavilion area, these rooms offer the ability to be steps from the beach at a considerably lower room rate. During the spring and fall season we host a number of weddings and coporate events. At these times our Oceanfront Pavillion is tented to insure that our functions are never impacted by the weather. When making a reservation whatever the season, our agents are always available to discuss the difference of room configurations and the value of room location associated with meeting guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had my wedding on the Cape a few months ago. It happened to be the last weekend the hotel was open, so there were plenty of vacancies. The room block I set up with this hotel received relatively decent rates.

My husband and I decided to stay at the hotel and asked that for our wedding night we be positioned in a location where we wouldn't share a wall with one of our guests. We dropped off gift bags for the blocked rooms and extras for people that didn't reserve their room within the block. My husband and I were charged for an ocean view room at the blocked rate.

At check in, my husband found that we were given a standard ocean front room with two queen size beds. There was nothing waiting for us in the room and the room wasn't upgraded. The room directly next to us was occupied and we could hear their every move.

One of the guests that had booked outside the block checked in and found the bed in his room unmade, half eaten food on the floor and a dirty bathroom. The front desk apologized and upgraded him to a corner room with a jacuzzi at no additional charge. When he asked for a gift bag they gave him "extra" inserts so he would know where the Sunday brunch was. Trouble is, there were no extra inserts. The staff had eaten the snacks that were in the extra gift bags and kept the inserts "just incase".

Upon airing my grievances with the hotel's general manager (whose name is Tom Moore) and coordinator of reservations, the only thing they apologized for was the snacks missing from the gift bags. And they didn't fully apologize for that. They said, "It seems that there was in fact confusion regarding guests 'outside of the block'." Gee, thanks.

While the Red Jacket Resorts may be a half way decent place to stay in the summer, there are many other hotels that far surpass it in comfort, cleanliness, price and character. I recommend you keep looking for another hotel. And if your considering blocking rooms for your wedding, don't even think about it. Not unless you hate you're guests.

Room Tip: No room is a good room. You'd be better off at Motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are concerned that this review is not recent nor a true reflection of the guest oriented attitude or the services presented daily at the Red Jacket Beach. We are still open for the 2012 season. Under most circumstance if a gift bag or something similar is requested to be delivered to guests associated with a pre arranged group we can accommodate the service. Unfortunatly if there are guests who are unidentified becuase they chose to reserve rooms independently it would be unlikely that we would know that they are associated with a particular event. I can assure you that we would never misappropriate items that were intended for our guests. If there was an incident of someone being "checked in" to a room that had not yet been cleaned the reaction of our staff would be to rectify the situation immediatly with the best available room. In some situations this could be an oceanfront jacuuzzi room. We make every effort to upgrade a room to accomadate a special occasion. Most of the rooms in our hotel are furnished with 2 Queen size beds, as are most of our direct oceanfront rooms. As always we assist our guests in finding the room type which is most suitable for them and their budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been staying at the Red Jacket over 20 years. During my last visit there were a few problems in the room; first time anything like this has happened. Diane Kingman was the Rooms Manager that week-end. She was available and ery helpful in accomodating us. Always a smile on her face,, she was courteous and professional. I want ed to recognize her for going above and beyond to help us.

Room Tip: I prefer the riverside near the garden. Quiet views while relaxing on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentvisitor60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
As always we appreciate your business and long term history here at Red Jacket Beach. We are pleased that you took the time to recognize one of our team who contributed to assuring that your expectations would be met. Our goal is to be available to our guests and assist in any way we can. Thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let me start by saying that we were there off season. I don't know if there might be different experiences in season. First thing that strikes you as you go from the office to your room is the beautiful landscaping. The courtyard around the pool is quiet and idyllic. The rooms are basic but very clean. The bed was very comfortable. At first we were uncomfortable keeping the sliding door open at night so we ran the air conditioning so it wouldn't get stuffy. By the end of the trip we kept the door open and slept soundly. The restaurant was closed for dinner so we only had breakfast there. The food was pretty standard fare for a resort. The service was efficient and friendly. In fact, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a nice conversation with one of the gardeners about the flowers. He stopped what he was doing and answered our questions and then engaged us in conversation. They provide chairs on the beach and the indoor pool was very clean. The private beach is clean and quiet. Too cold for us to brave the outdoor pool though it looked great. It's a great location to base day trips up and down the cape. While we were there they had two weddings and somehow managed to pull them off without any inconvenience to the other guests. Make no mistake, this is a beach resort and not a 5 star hotel in Manhattan, but it is head and shoulders over any beach resort I have ever been at. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view, room 139. Ocean view is definitely worth the extra money. The choice between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DessertFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you in any season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing