We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel in Cape Cod”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

pro: good private beach, private pool, and a playground; courtesy staff
con: expensive; room not roommy enough for a family of 4; room is kind of outdated, but maybe the same for all hotels on the cape

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonwalkerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thanks for recognizing the attributes of the hotel. Should you be able to visit us again we do have some "family rooms" available. These rooms have a seperate sleeping alcove with additional bedding and some even have an attached bedroom depending on location in the hotel. We hope you will return and take advantage of the extra space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 611 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife, 7 year old son, and I stayed at the wonderful Red Jacket Resort in S. Yarmouth from June 26 to July 1, 2012. We were lucky to find Red Jacket after the beach house we had already rented turned out to be a huge disappointment (understatement). The Red Jacket Resort is beautiful, with rooms overlooking the ocean, a clean, private beach, and very nicely maintained facilites including a restaurant, outdoor and indoor pools, and other spaces.

But what really tops our delight with Red Jacket was the wonderful staff. I wish I could mention all of them by name. From the moment we began our search, to the time when we had to leave to go home, we were treated with great service, by friendly helpful people in every facet of the resort. The front desk personnel, no matter what time of day or night, had the answers to our questions and helped us find the right room and provided assistance to us with any request we had. The bell staff assisted us so many times during the week, and the conceirge helped us find restaurants and beaches that we really enjoyed.

Our room included breakfast and it was plentiful and delicious. No request was too big or too small. The service was friendly and efficient. We also got to know both the general manager and the assistant general manager. They both were totally involved, completely approachable, and really treated us like welcomed guests. I don't know what management did to foster such a uniformly friendly and helpful staff, but it sure was refreshing.

This place is great for families with young children. Older kids might not have enough to do, and the beach is frankly sedate. Great for relaxing, but due to the location not a wave in sight for boogie boards or other such fun. (Nausett Beach 30 minutes away was great and had the best waves, Chatham has a beautiful, undeveloped beach in a protected preserve).

Be advised that the temperature (water and air) in the indoor pool and hot tub varied from day to day for no apparent reason. Additionally, there is no lifeguard (fairly typical), and you;ll encounter unsupervised children, some who appeared to be awfully young to be in the facility without any supervision. This is a parental issue more than the resort's responsibility, but if this bothers you, be warned.

There is a discount in June, and breakfast was included. Our room was around $250 during the week and $330 on the weekend. On the first weekend in July the busy season kicks in, rates are higher, breakfast is NOT included, and quite frankly the resort and the town get much more crowded. The last week of June was perfect for us.

Other points - they gladly store your bicycles or other large items (secure, but NOT under cover). There is a spa, but we did not use it. They have many activites for young children, including a kids club, magic show, and outdoor games. You also have access to the facilities at two other Red Jacket owned resorts nearby. Nearby is Pirates Cove Mini-Golf, the best one my family and I have ever seen. We also recommend the children's day camp at Flax Pond (20 minute ride, bring your own lunch). My son enjoyed it, the place was very well run, and my wife and I got some nice rest and time together while our son was there.

Check out the Red Jacket resort. I would highly recommend it to family and friends and hope to return again next year if we come to Cape Cod.

Room Tip: Warning: This place is very popular for weddings and they are beautiful. However, they erect a huge...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unklmikef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

We are pleased that you "discovered" Red Jacket Beach and we all appreciate your comments. Hopefully next year you will plan your vacation with us and give us another opportunity to welcome your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family of 5 are on our 6th year visiting the red jacket and still learning how hospitable the resort is.
My sons caught many fish at the dock today including 2 Cod fish.
We were unsure what type of fish we caught, when a yound lady from room service was at our cottage picking up the dishes from the mornings room service offered my 3 sons the opportunity to ask their chef.
Not only did the chef tell them that they were Cod, he also fried the fish for them. He even gave them french fries, cole slaw and all the fixings. He refused to be compensated for this as well as refused a tip. The Chef's name was John Payne. Of my 3 sons 2 do not even like seafood, but they ALL enjoyed this feast. My wife and I were also releaved because we did not have to get lunch together today. Thank you again Chef Payne :)

Room Tip: This location has both the river side and ocean side. The river side is a little more private. Ther...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We are pleased that Chef Payne was able to contribute in creating a family vacation memory. The goal of all of us here at Red Jacket Beach is to be accessable to our guests, always assist in any way we can and look for ways to interact . this is a concept that is familiar to all of our associates and we are glad that it made such an impact. It's also a great fish story, Thanks for sharing it with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Overall the Red Jacket Beach Resort provided a nice family vacation on Cape Cod. Positives: Nice outdoor pool with zero entry kiddie pool, Pool Bar and Grill (convenient for hanging by the pool) Daily activities (paid and unpaid) Negatives: Not all rooms are refurbished, hot tub needs to be fixed (many jets not working) I would like to see the restaurant open for dinner/ dining options are either extended pool grill hours or buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walken1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thanks for the comments, we appreciate your thoughts and coincidentally have been thinking about our options at dinner. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I have stayed here twice now and we all like this resort. Located right on the beach and in the middle of the Cape making it also convenient for day trips. The staff has always been friendly and there are plenty of activities for all age groups. The only negative is that there are alot of families with younger children who stay here (we have 2 older teens) so if you're looking for a quiet vacation, this may not be the place for you. Even with the 'younger' noise, we would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are usually quieter .. much better than pool view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetski0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thanks for the kind words....hopefully next year you can stay the whole week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

we stayed here on july4th -6th, we usually come here on july 3 and stay a week, as you can watch tons of fireworks right from the beach!,, theres in indoor and outdoor pool, perfectly landscaped lawns and theres tons of kid activities!!!!!!!! during the summer here it almost reminds me of a carribean resort, with the tiki bar , and ocean only steps away. every day they comb the beach, its soft white sand, with beach chairs included!!!!!!! i highly recomend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thanks for the kind words...hopefully next year you can stay the whole week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Blue Rock resort, away from the beach. We had passes to visit the beaches and decided to one evening. We parked our car and walked along the beach for over an hour. It was starting to get late and we got disoriented. We couldn't find where we parked our car. We FINALLY asked an employee at the Riviera Resort for help. Even though she was leaving for the day, she took them time to help us find our car. EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Kind and helpful. I will definitely return one day with my family.

Room Tip: Just realize it is a beach resort. It brings in sand, moister and heat. It isn't a hotel but l...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the Red Jacket Resort properties and recieved thoughtfull asssitance from our associates. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
383 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
319 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $173 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing