We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay! Exactly what we were looking for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverview Resort on Cape Cod
Certificate of Excellence
Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay! Exactly what we were looking for.”
Reviewed August 22, 2007

The Riverview Resort is a wonderful place to stay. Newly renovated and it shows! It was exactly what we needed for our vacation. It is located in the middle of Cape Cod so we were an hour or less away from everything on our list. Provincetown, the islands, Boston, shops, restaurants, beaches. It is small, but very clean and has everything you need. The entire staff was so pleasant and helpful and whatever they may lack in amenities, they make up for in service. We stayed in a 1 bedroom on the first floor. It was clean and well equipped. King size bed and pullout couch, 2 full bathrooms, kitchenette with microwave, fridge, toaster, and coffee maker. Standards like iron, hair dryer, plus the room had a DVD player, VCR, and 2 TVs. Our room had 2 sliders that walks you right out to a patio overlooking the beautiful river that runs out back. We had our own picnic tables too. They have BBQ grills, a playground for kids, and plenty of chairs to enjoy the peaceful river view. Free washers and dryers and the free Wi-Fi was a plus. Exercise room (which we didn't use...it's vacation!) looked nice and there is a rec room with a communal kitchen, library and game room. We would stay at Riverview again, it was quiet and cozy and felt like home while we were there. Very nice!

  • Liked — Size, location, and the staff.
  • Disliked — No outdoor pool. Road and parking lot in bad shape.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank openfaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lihue, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Before making reservations, we checked on timeshare availabilities in the area for the dates we wanted, and a studio in Riverview was the only choice. We took into account all of Tripadvisor's reviews & decided that it would be basic but adequate for its central location.
Our first time on Cape Cod, we arrived in grey, rainy weather. The resort was easy to find, and located in the not picturesque "strip mall" area of the Cape (small outlet clothing shops, groceries, gas, inexpensive restaurants, mini-golf all nearby). The short "driveway" to the resort, as reviewed by other travelers, was muddy, bumpy, rutted. The parking lot was also muddy, with a huge pile of construction materials. The resort property sits on the shores of an inlet that leads to a small boat harbor.
Inside the office, we met a very friendly member of the staff. Photos on the lobby wall, however, showed progress on the seawall side of the resort, construction about which we had not been aware. That side of the resort, where sundecks, a gazebo and bbq were located, was closed off at the time and hazardous to explore.
Our studio on the second floor had a Murphy bed (pulled down from wall), small sleeper sofa (not as comfy as Murphy bed) , small bathroom (vanity mirror which was the only mirror in the room), armchair, a couple lamps, small dinette, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, dinnerware & utensils. By law, cooking isn't allowed in resort rooms. However, a community kitchen and large lounge area were down the hall equipped with a two stoves, dishwashers, refrigerator, cooking and serving ware, lots of tables and couches, big TV and stereo, pool table, a library and computer (with internet access), and enough room for entertaining a small crowd. Two washers and dryers are offered free to the guests. There is wi-fi in the lounge area and rooms near this area have reception. However, our room down the hall did not. It was not all that inconvenient to take my laptop down to the lounge. And it was a nice way to meet other guests.
Our second-floor studio was very clean and tidy with a tiny lanai that looked out over the boat slips and across to Skippy's Restaurant. Below the lanai, however, was the muddied drive to the seawall construction area. Heavy equipment was fired up early the next morning by workers on a tight schedule to complete the seawall. Needless to say, my hubby and I were not happy. We left a voice mail with the staff who did try to find us another room, but the choices were not good (views of muddy parking lot, unkempt grounds), so we stuck with our studio. Amazingly, the crew refrained from early starts the remainder of our stay.
We did not use the small, indoor pool nor the nicely equipped exercise room, but other guests appeared to enjoy the facilities. The river view from the resort, looked out across the inlet to an estuarine meadow which is slated for development and enlargement of the harbor facilities. Personally, I don't think more development is an asset in this area, but then, it is a visitor destination.
We were fortunate to be on Cape Cod before the summer crowds and very much enjoyed easy traffic and few crowds in the scenic areas, villages and historical sites of the Cape. After the 2nd day, the sun broke out and blessed us with warm days as we strolled through small towns (our favorites: Chatham, Wellfleet, Provincetown, Nantucket) and beachcombed the national seashore. We recommend the Hy-line hi-speed ferry (one-hour ride, pricey but worth it if you are going out for only a day trip) , which took us to Nantucket (recommend Gail's Island Tour, Whaling Museum, lots of time for exploring onfoot). Sail out on a morning ferry, catch the sunset sail back.
The Riverview Resort is in a central location and an easy drive to all of Cape Cod. It's close to Hyannis with its restaurants, shops, and the ferry docks. If you are considering Riverview, I'd call the property and ask about any construction and availability of the entire resort grounds to guest use. We were disappointed about the construction mess and noise, and that we could not enjoy the bbq and gazebo on the river side of the resort. However, the staff was courteous, friendly and as helpful as they could be.

  • Liked — Hellpful & friendly staff, basic but comfy accommodations & amenities
  • Disliked — Construction mess & noise on property, no elevator, therefore, no access for disabled or walking impaired to second floor & kitchen/lounge
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank RPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We stayed here on a timeshare exchange. It was the only property offered in Cape Cod for the time we were able to travel. We had a one bed unit with two full bathrooms. The unit was spotlessly clean, as were the communal kitchen and free laundry.There is also free hi-speed internet access. The pool is small, we didn't use it.
The staff were all very pleasant and obliging. So why were we disappointed? Mainly because of the location. Down a bumpy road, with a fairly shabby parking lot. ( To be fair, there are plans to improve the parking area.) Also because the building looks like a cheap motel. ( Which it once was )
The restaurants nearby are all of the " cheap shellfish " variety . Tried the nearest, "Skippys " the night we arrived, pretty awful.
Later found two very nice restaurants a drive away, Abbici and the Red Pheasant. Realisedafter touring the area that we had the misfortune to be in one of the less scenic parts of Cape Cod.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2005

We had a wonderful time at the Cape this summer - very comfy place, terrific weather, and great restaurants. The Riverview is located in S. Yarmouth, at about the middle of the Cape – it’s very conveniently located to the beautiful beaches, shopping (outlet centers, antique stores, and a ton of Christmas Tree shops), & restaurants. This was our 3rd trip to the Cape & just as enjoyable as the 1st. Our 1 bedroom at the Riverview had a balcony with a view of the Bass River - you get to see plenty of boats going by. The Riverview has a pontoon (free for guests) that makes regular trips to the beach - it's a very pleasant 15 to 20 min ride. The Riverview has a small indoor pool that's good for a quick dip & a relaxing Jacuzzi at poolside; there's also a well-equipped gym on the 2nd floor with a large sundeck. There are barbecues on the grounds situated adjacent to the river – didn’t get to use them as we love going out to the terrific restaurants on the Cape. Our 2 favorite restaurants were the Ocean House in Dennis Port and Abbici in Yarmouth Port. We also went to Captain Parkers, Lobster Boat, Yarmouth House, and Alberto’s. For breakfast or lunch, Hearth n’ Kettle is a very reliable choice. Seafood Sam’s is also pretty good for lunch – very casual with plenty of fish selections. If you want a quiet, relaxing place on the Cape – the Riverview is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank majormantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2005

The Riverview Resort is located in the heart of Cape Cod area, with plenty of restaurants, shopping and activities. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with two bathrooms (that comes in handy), a small kitchen, dinning table and a balcony where we had breakfast while watching the patoon boat (free to the Riverview guests) pass by... how relaxing. The patoon boat is an enjoyable trip to get to the beach.

The indoor pool and hot tub are great for swimming any time of year and there is an exercise room and children's play area. Pirate's Cove minature golf is nearby and lots of fun.

There are so many wonderful restaurants is was difficult to decide where we would eat each night. Hyannis is close by and great for shopping. Provincetown also was great for browsing the shops and eating at their great restaurants all along the beach area.

We enjoyed our stay at Riverview Resort and look forward to returning next year.

Helpful?
19 Thank MaryLaGreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
580 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
731 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,207 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cove at Yarmouth
The Cove at Yarmouth
#4 of 20 in West Yarmouth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Resort on Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Resort on Cape Cod

Property: Riverview Resort on Cape Cod
Address: 37 Neptune Ln, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5102
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverview Resort on Cape Cod 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Resort is located on beautiful Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Our 44-room resort sits on the banks of Parker's River in South Yarmouth. Riverview Resort offers well-equipped studio, one-bedroom, and 2-bedroom units. Enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and views of the river from our back lawn area. Being centrally located in the Mid-Cape area offers many options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. Enjoy nearby beaches, golfing, biking, or kayaking. Or enjoy a day trip to the islands of Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket, the Cape Cod National Seashore, or aboard a breath-taking whale watch. Visit Cape Cod, Massachusetts for your next family vacation, weekend escape or mid-week getaway. Explore the Cape's 15 distinctive towns, arts & culture, quaint shops, wooded bicycle paths, plentiful events & festivals, and endless array of land and sea activities. There's always a Cape Cod adventure waiting for you. Visit countless historic sites and landmarks, each telling the proud role that Cape Cod has played in American history. Cape Cod also offers fine dining experiences, New England's best golf, and a variety of shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riverview Resort on Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Resort On Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
Motels On Cape Cod
Riverview Resort On Cape Cod South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing