We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value!”
Review of Windjammer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windjammer
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Housatonic, MA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We love coming here every year! Great location across from the beach, quiet neighborhood. We like to take our bikes fom here and pedal around the well kept neighborhood and along the Bass River. You can sit overlookiing the outdoor pool from the chairs in front of your room. The rooms have refrigerators, a handy sink in the sleeping area along with the bathroom sink, a table to eaat your beakfast or lunch at. We find it handy to bring cereal, fruit, milk and OJ and have a breakast right hre, they provide coffee in the office area. Nice owners always helpful and you will find the rates reasonable. it is an older place but they work to keep it clean and nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were scheduled to stay at the Windjammer on the weekend of Hurricane Irene. Mary Ellen decided that she should get to keep our $200 deposit. We inquired about a refund the day before and we were told:

"Our cancellation policy is on the bottom of your confirmation and our web site. Since, we have no control over the weather, there are no refunds unless we are told to evacuate."

We were supposed to checkin on Fri, Aug 26 @ 4:00 pm and then this:

"August 26, 2011, 12:25 p.m.-Governor Deval Patrick has declared a State of Emergency for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, in response to approaching Hurricane Irene."

No evacuation order was given, so no refund. So I guess Mary Ellen felt that I should put my Family in harm's way and come to the Cape, despite a STATE OF EMERGENCY being declared!

I emailed 3 times after that and called at least twice, but Mary Ellen never got back to me. Same goes for my $200...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mohsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Windjammer, we had a very nice time. They had a 3 night special which is very affordable for a just about beach front motel. The motel is in a quite residential neighborhood with a minute or two walk to Parker River Beach, the beach has a childrens play area an lots of benches to sit at. As many have stated its not the Ritz but the rooms are clean and we spent most of our time driving around so it was perfect for us. You couldn't ask for a more gracious host than Mary Ellen, she was more than happy to help us with any questions an help in planning our stay an travels around the Cape, she even let us use her shoppers card to save a couple $ on groceries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Came back last week from Labor day week-end. Enjoyed the place. It is not fancy or chic, but it is clean and very decent. The price was very reasonable and we can't overestimate the hospitality and kindness of the personnel, especially Mary Ellen. Unlike many larger (and more expensive) hotels when the staff is too busy or look tired of constant complaints and requests of their clients, this place makes you feel you are welcome and they do care about you. The beach is just across the street, which is very convenient. Last day after we returned the keys, they offered to keep our car on their parking lot (rather than paying $15 for beach parking), then use their shower. The pool and its area are very clean. They provide coffee and tea, you may also use their grill and utensils. The fridge in the room was not most up-to-date, but it is of very good size, not like those tiny fridges in many hotels where you can keep your soda cans only. The rooms are good size too. It is a nice place for a family with limited budget to stay - if we go to the Cape next time, we will prefer this place even if something more fancy comes out at the same price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longmeadowbaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed there over the Labor Day Weekend and we saw a great deal on their web site so we took advantage of it. When we arrived, the room was well stocked and clean, ready for use. It was fairly spacious and laid out well. The only real problem we had the first night was in one of the rooms below us, there was a running toilet that ran all night and made noise in our room. We mentioned it the next morning and they fixed...well, for Saturday night anyway. The noise was back on Sunday night so I had to mention it again upon checkout Monday morning.

They advertise wifi in the rooms, but we couldn't access it in our room. We had to sit out on the deck to get it and even then it was spotty, at best. Then, Sunday morning the wifi was down so we had no internet access that morning.

In fairness though, overall we were happy and would stay there again without question. They are extremely conveniently located across from the ocean and very local to everything on Main St (Route 28) and the staff was very friendly.

I would say 80 out of 100 points for this place!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I have been staying here every year since 1998. This is a true Motel Gem. It's not fancy but if you want a nice,clean,caring place with a great location this is it. The owners make you feel like you are family. If you want something very fancy then don't stay here. If you want a MOTEL then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dibeal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spend our family vacation on Cape Cod every year, and for the past 10 years, we've been staying at the Windjammer. What a great place to stay in! Marysia (Mary Ellen), Vicki, and Barbara at the front desk are so kind and hospitable, that they make the motel feel like home away from home. You are not a number at this charming motel, you truly are a guest.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Each has an air conditioner, Television, refrigerator, and a kitchenette. It's a pleasure to sit outside of your room, as there's a nice view of the swimming pool. The guests tend to be very respectful of each other, and the lobby is open from early in the morning. There's a microwave and two toasters there, along with free coffee and tea, plus some tables you can sit at with your family. There's a small grilling area along with picnic tables alongside the pool as well. In addition, the motel is family owned and operated, and a very safe place to be.

The beach is a short "two minute walk" (It's across the street and fifty feet or so), so you can leave your car at the motel and not have to pay for entrance. The beach is long and pretty, and there's a sandy playground area for children. It's separated from the immediate waterfront, so the children don't cause any disturbances. There are also life-guards on the public portion of the beach.

In addition, the Skipper restaurant is right across the street from the beach, or literally (rather than figuratively) two minutes from the motel. They serve excellent gourmet seafood, but have a good selection if you're not a fan of seafood.

If you stay, make sure you go and see a sunset on Mayflower Beach in Dennis, which is a drive of several minutes from the motel: Mary Ellen will give you printed directions along with recommendations if you ask. It can truly be an unforgettable experience if you catch it on a clear day.

Finally, the price is very reasonable. When we first found the Windjammer, we thought it can't be; people pay double or triple to use the same beach! There are plenty of other hotels and motels along the same street, so you can always visit the others (We've done it several times), and find out for yourself. However, I'm sure you'll agree with me, that the Windjammer offers the best price-to-quality ratio around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marekbi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dunes Motor Inn
The Dunes Motor Inn
#19 of 21 in South Yarmouth
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer

Property: Windjammer
Address: 192 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5847
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windjammer 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Windjammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer South Yarmouth
Windjammer Hotel South Yarmouth
Windjammer Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing