We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can't Beat The Ocean View”
Review of Seaside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I was debating between 4 and 5 stars, but the views and the private beach put Seaside Cottages over the top. The owners are very friendly, and the cottage was clean with one exception... the coffee maker was disgusting. That's the only flaw I could find. The convenience of the Skipper Restaurant and Bar right across the street is a sweet bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wahoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

Seaside was just opening for the season. The location is one of the best. The grounds puts you in the mood to relax. The cottages are big and airy and all are decorated differently. Great place for a families to getaway from the city and a short drive to all amenities. Just a set of stairs separate you from the beach and there are lounge chain on the dune above the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. Love it there and will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxingFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Seaside was just opening for the season. The location is one of the best. The grounds puts you in the mood to relax. The cottages are big and airy and all are decorated differently. Great place for a families to getaway from the city and a short drive to all amenities. Just a set of stairs separate you from the beach and there are lounge chain on the dune above the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. Love it there and will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxingFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Seaside cottages in S. Yarmouth is very beautiful and relaxing. There is a private beach within a stones throw from the cottages. we love it theree and will go back on a regular basis.

Thank princessvnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

This was our first time to the Cape. We really liked the location of seaside. It was very quiet and close to the water. I loved sitting outside near the water on the nice lawn chairs they provided. The cottages were a little worn with a few spiders. The beds were fine. The folks in the office could not have been any nicer. Very informative with lots of information. There were some good restaurants close by. They also had a big grill in the middle of the complex, if you decided to grill out. I would come back. It would be fun to have a family reunion here.

Stayed: September 2008
3  Thank flygirl46ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My family stayed at Seaside for several years in a row in September. Four to five families, renting anywhere from two to five nights. Although Seaside has a picture perfect location, it doesn't seem as if enough care is taken for the individually owned units. My husband and I have stayed there in different u nits at different times during the year and at the beginning of the season, the cottages are pretty well equipped. By September, however, it is a different story. Perhaps a system to mark the dishes, etc. so that they are returned to the right cottages? Or perhaps keep a minimum supply of kitchen utensils/equipment for each unit? My husband and I have owned rental houses and it's just a matter of a regular, quality check of the unit. We stayed in cottage #30 and recommend that a comfortable bed is definitely in order. A king-size bed would fit in that room, no problem. A spring cleaning/rug cleaning wouldn't hurt, either. During a rainy day, the smell of the unit was awful! I know the resort has changed hands a few times in the last several years, but for the price, we wouldn't go back. There are SO many places to choose from on Cape Cod and especially in Yarmouth, so vacationers, who are trying to carefully spend their money should take everything into consideration.

I'm not sure anyone in my family would go back....

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RedSoxRockTheHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We rented Cottage 21 (Chesapeake) from Sept 8th to 10th and loved it, despite one or two criticisms.
The complex is beautifully landscaped and close to the beach and my wife and I spent hours sitting either on the loungers on the grass by the beach or on the garden chairs outside the unit.
Check in was fast and easy and we were directed to our cottage which had two queen beds and was newly renovated. I only have two minor criticisms and you'll note that we LOVED this place so much I still give it an excellent rating.
1) The beds were rock hard
2) Cleanliness of some areas (e.g. top of refrigerator and bedspread) left a little to be desired. Also the daily cleaning seemed to amount to making up the beds and that's it. However when staying in a self-catering unit we prefer to be left alone, so I would think that the management may want to consider daily housekeeping only if it is requested.
I was also impressed with the other guests, mostly mature couples with just a few well-behaved children. I was also impressed with the "Quiet hours" rule from 9pm to 7am, although some genius who seemed to think it was Independence Day decided to set off fireworks at 1030pm. That said this nose could have come from the restaurant or another property close by. The area is beautiful and very pleasant to take long walks in. Will we be back? You bet, probably the same weekend in 2008, maybe to a different unit, but we'd settle for Chesapeake again. Conclusion? Our best EVER visit to the Cape!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuncanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
410 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
157 reviews
1.9 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#11 of 21 in South Yarmouth
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
2 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cottages

Address: 135 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5837
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside is an oceanfront village located on Cape Cod, featuring cottage accommodations for daily or weekly rental. Framed by our 500 foot, meticulously maintained private beach, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean's Nantucket Sound, Seaside's five-acre cottage colony is serene. Located mid Cape Cod in Yarmouth, it's close to all the attractions: fishing, golf, restaurants and magnificent sights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Cottages Hotel South Yarmouth
Seaside Cottages Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing