We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the chocolate covered strawberries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Loved this Bed and Breakfast. The pictures do not due the Inn any justice! We loved the room, we stayed in the Irma Farris Suite. It had a living room area, with a couch and chairs, felt like being in your own living room. The bedroom was lovely, and homey. The bathroom was large and clean. Plenty of towels and also robes to use while your there. All the tv's have vcr players in them, and they have plenty of movies to watch while your there. There is a kitchen were you can help yourself to soft drinks, water and tea, also popcorn to enjoy with your movie. In the afternoon they put out cookies to enjoy, delicious! It was very quiet at the Inn even though they are located on the main road, couldnt hear anything from our room to outside. The breakfast in the mornings are delicious. They give you coffee, tea or hot chocolate, a muffin, fruit and then an entree, they serve you on china! It isnt a buffet breakfast though, so you have to wait for the food to be made and served to you. If your in a hurry and want to eat fast, dont eat there in the morning. I also got chocolate covered strawberries the first day for my fiancee' and they were delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank alb76ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2008

What a great place to stay for the 4th of July. My wife took me away for my birthday to the Captain Farris House and we stayed in the Irma Farris Suite. It was very spacious and had all the amenities of a first class hotel. I like the breakfast alot. It was alsomst as good as my wife's home cooked meal. I was hesitant to stay at a B&B but delighted that my wife talked me into it. I will most definitly take the wife back for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank beantownbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Capt Farris for 4 days in July. We stayed in the Phoebe White Suite which was quite large and had a very nice balcony. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were nice but not overly friendly. Nice quality toiletries provided and amply replenished. Best shower I ever had- could have doubled as a power washer. Opportunities for improvement: daily room clean up was poor- made the beds and replenished toiletries but that was it (didn't even wash out supplied wine glasses). Floors and carpeting need to be upgraded or at least vacuumed more thoroughly (you don't want to know what we saw under the furniture.) Tiny bar fridge was on a rickety little table that nearly fell over everytime we opened or closed the door. Yarmouth is really not a great location. We did not know Cape Cod area before we booked. There are much nicer places to stay that are closer to beach, quanit shops and restaurants. Capt Farris House is really in the middle of no where of particular interest or note.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 1000Kilometres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2008

As Innkeepers of The Captain Farris House we felt that we needed to respond to this review. When our housekeeping staff went into this suite the morning after these guests arrived to tidy up, they phoned us to come over to take a look. The suite was so messy with trash, clothes and their personal items everywhere, that we took photos because we could not tell if anything was damaged. We instructed our staff to clean the best they could without disturbing their things. It is true, the suite was not vacuumed as there was no place left open enough to vacuum. Being overwhelmed with the mess, it is also possible at one time we may have missed washing their wine glasses. It took our staff 2 hours to clean this suite after these guests checked out. This suite was spotless clean when they arrived. There was nothing under the furniture. The carpet is one year old in this suite and the floors are worn in a few spots but they are kept extremely clean. It is unfortunate that these guests were not happy with our housekeeping service, we did the best we could given the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the captain farris house last weekend. It was great...our room was beautiful. The entire house was so clean. The people are all so friendly and helpful...and the breakfast is amazing! We can't wait to go back!
We have stayed at several bed and breakfasts in Cape Cod and ABSOLUTELY NOTHING compares to the service and beauty of the Captain Farris House. The worst part about our stay at the Captain Farris House was leaving!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank nicolecara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We have celebrated our 5th and 6th wedding anniversary at the Captain Farris house, two years in a row.....

I can't say enough great things about this awesome bed and breakfast.

The staff are friendly and offer excellent service. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and peaceful.

The rooms are decorated with good taste.

The breakfast is splendid.

We will be making the Captain Farris House, a place to state for years to come.

We will be recommending the Captain Farris House, to family, friends, and clients.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GOODLOOKSNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

The bride-to-be wanted a low key cape bachelorette party. We decided on The Captain Farris House for its close proximity to lots of things and it was excellent! The rooms, house and grounds were beautiful and the owners were wonderful! My favorite thing about B&B's is the breakfast, and WOW want an awesome breakfast!! I would definitely recommend it for romantic get away too!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank baboirishchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

The Captain Ferris House is a terrific Bread & Breakfast to visit while on the Cape. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is extremely warm and helpful, and its a great location. The house itself is very clean. There are shops and restaurants nearby and the beach is very close. In addition, there is a local river within walking distance. I would love to stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank dpierce100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
23.8 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
8.5 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
433 reviews
6.8 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
881 reviews
12 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
594 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 308 Old Main St, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $195 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth. Each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable, all with private baths. Most of our rooms have double Jacuzzis,fireplaces and walk out decks. Each morning enjoy our seasonal full breakfast served at your own table for two. Afternoon teas and cookies and evening cordials also included. We are located close to beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, fine and casual dining, shopping and all that Cape Cod has to offer. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing