We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beginning to a summer vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beginning to a summer vacation”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I spent three days at the Inn in July, 2012, during which time we had a fabulous experience. The innkeepers, Howard and Lynda, were so friendly, and always there to answer our questions and help us around the Cape. The breakfast each morning was fantastic - we enjoyed every morsel. Especially the afternoon sweets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review of us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Bed & Breakfast!
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
200
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the inn July 2012. We met friends there and we were given rooms right next to each other. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was yummy each morning. We asked for the recipes and they were given to us promptly. The innkeepers, Howard and Lynda, we're awesome!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank frankFortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and found your room to be comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in October 2011 and it was wonderful. It was our first time staying in a B&B and we were both a little uneasy not knowing what we were getting into. However, it was absolutely perfect! The Inn is beautiful, clean and well maintained, the breakfasts were fantastic and the innkeepers were just GREAT! Very attentive! If we ever get back to Cape Cod we will definitely stay here again! The only reason I'm not giving a five star rating on the location is because it's not on the water, other than that the location is just fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Min101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for writing your review of us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had a wonderful 5 day stay at the Captain Farris House in July 2012. I will be honest, I generally hate B&B's... the food is often lackluster and the accommodations can be downright nauseating. I decided to give this place a try after reading the reviews and I was happily surprised. I have incredibly discriminating tastes as I work for a major culinary arts and hospitality college and live everyday among talented and excellent chefs and students. I'll admit it! I'm spoiled! Luckily, the Captain Farris House did not disappoint.

I was in town for business and brought my boyfriend with me for the week to enjoy some R&R. Upon entering the B&B I met Howard and Lynda, who are the managers of the property that Nancy and Michael own. Howard and Lynda are a genuinely kind couple who took excellent care of us on our stay (incidentally, it was there 47th anniversary, congratulations!). Although I had to be up and out early in the morning Howard and Lynda were so thoughtful to prepare me a dish early before service everyday, and often sent me off packed with a phenomenal baked good. Presentation is incredibly important to Howard, and he tends to use local flowers, fruits and herbs to garnish his dishes, which he and Lynda create with great pride. (I hope you are fortunate enough to enjoy Howard's frittata topped with seasoned crimini mushrooms while you enjoy your stay. It's wonderful! I would be remiss to forget to also recommend his lemon poppy seed bread, drizzled with a light glaze... I had to get the recipe!)

We stayed in the Captain Farris Suite, which was comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was a treat as it was large and well kept. But the room could not compare to the beautiful center of the house which is open and covered by a glass ceiling. A quiet and comfortable place to enjoy your morning coffee or plan your days events. Another bright spot is the home's formal parlor complete with a beautiful chess set and port and sherry for your evening - a MUST to complete your stay!

Overall, I highly recommend this B&B and worry that no other will be able to live up to its character, charm, and very kind and helpful staff. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms (Captain Farris Suite and the Anna Farris Suite I believe) are a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Captain Farris House for your Cape Cod lodging. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast and all the other amenities we offer. We hope you will visit us again for pleasure only! Again, thank you for your kind words.
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before Captain Farris because we were not sure if we would like it. We were very pleasantly surprised by this inn. It is in a really great location and is an absolutely beautiful and well cared for home. We felt so comfortable there from the moment we arrived. The gardens around the home and beautiful and the rooms themselves are immaculate and have everything you could need. We stayed in the Aunt Liddys room and it was very comfortable with a nice little deck. Howard and Lynda were great and so helpful and made a wonderful breakfast with cookies, tea, and soda available all day. They made our dinner reservations for us and recommended some nice places.
We were happy to have the breakfast at the Inn because we were fairly unimpressed with the restaurants in Cape Cod. The Yarmouth House in Hyannis was nice if you are looking for good comfort food. We also took a trip to Nantucket which was probably the highlight of our stay. I would definitely go back to this B&B and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Captain Farris House for your Cape Cod Get-a-way. We appreciate your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the gardens and the our beautiful home. We hope to see you again soon.
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had an excellent 5 day stay here in May 2012. The location, accommodation and food (especially the food!) cannot be faulted. Howard's breakfasts were amazing and kept us going all the way through to dinner!
Our room was incredibly comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom. As mentioned in other reviews, cookies and popcorn are provided in the evenings as well as a wide range of DVDs.
Howard and Lynne were great hosts who made everyone feel at home. If we make it back to the Cape (we live in the UK) we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squire36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Captain Farris House and for taking the time to write your review of us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for three days when visiting South Yarmouth. The inn is being run by two excellent interim inn keepers, Howard and Linda, who are full of character and very helpful. The bedding is fantastic with silk like high thread count sheets,beds are comfortable and rooms are kept spotlessly clean. The house is full of character and complimentary refreshments are provided in communal areas, including coffee/tea and home made delicious cookies, sherry and port in the evening. Lots of information is available on local attractions and Howard and Linda are professional, friendly and helpful at all times.

M and S

Room Tip: Some rooms are equipped with Jacuzzi baths - very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our new luxury linens! We hope to see you again soon.
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
3.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,090 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
5.0 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 308 Old Main St, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth. Each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable, all with private baths. Most of our rooms have double Jacuzzis,fireplaces and walk out decks. Each morning enjoy our seasonal full breakfast served at your own table for two. Afternoon teas and cookies and evening cordials also included. We are located close to beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, fine and casual dining, shopping and all that Cape Cod has to offer. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing