We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Water on the Ocean
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites(South Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa(South Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Rock Resort(South Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Beach Resort(South Yarmouth)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkers River Resort(South Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Resort(South Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
$137
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier 7 Condominiums(South Yarmouth)
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach(South Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bass River Motel(South Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
$99
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
102
100
45
23
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
100
45
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape codchairs and umbrellasoutdoor poolprivate beachlate checkoutchowder houseparking lotred jacket propertiesfront desk staffmovie nightbeach barfun activitiesbanana boatlabor daynice beachin seasonstayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 279 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Couldnt find a much nicer hotel than this. The staff was extraordinary. The breakfast was very good and reasonable. A little disappointed in the dinner, but with all the restaurants in the area there are plenty to go to. Breakfast was the most important to me. In and out and off for the day nice and early. The rooms were GREAT. Well kept, large, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker and fridge all supplied. We did walk by a room that had a washer and dryer in it as well. Thought that would be a nice touch for families. Table and chair outside your door. Nice deck that had beach chairs as well as plenty of chairs on the beach. Request Ocean Front!!! Free wi-fi that had a great signal. We went Sept 19th so it was off season and wasnt crowded at all. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trapezegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your rcent stay and for taking time to review your recent experience here at Blue Water Resort. The team works very hard to make sure all our guests receive great service, outsatnding food and beverage and awesome accommodations! Hope to see you back again this winter in New Hampshire or next season at one of our Cape Cod properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family and I returned to the Blue Water Resort for the second time this summer. Our stay was superb. From the initial check-in to the final check-out, the staff and the accommodations were superb. Our room, 102, had a wonderful ocean view from our own private deck. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with many flowering plants that are well maintained. The motel has both a heated indoor pool and an outdoor heated pool.

When walking the grounds and traveling through the building, we were always greeted by the friendly staff. They were eager to help in any way. The staff really made one feel that one was important. The motel is right on the ocean and having a large private beach area with lounge chairs and umbrellas.

The motel also has a restaurant in the building serving breakfast everyday and dinner on weekend nights. Again, the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

Overall, this was a great vacation for me and my family. We are looking forward to returning there next summer.

TFE, Foxboro, MA

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers 101-104 and 201-204 face the ocean. Other rooms have ocean view, some limited.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It is our pleasure to have folks such as you who truly appreciate the great things about our one of a kind ocean front family friendly resort. Our staff and manager's take pride in all we have to offer! We certainly hope you and your family plan to visit us again here on Cape Cod or in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire! Thank you for staying and taking time to send in your review of your most recent experience at Blue Water-Riviera Beach Resort's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's listed on Trip Advisor as Blue Water on the Ocean, but in reality [on hotels.com and at the motel itself], the motel is dubbed Red Jacket Blue Water Resort. Like many "resorts" in Cape Cod and the Islands, this "resort" is really a 2 star motel. The rooms are quite dingy and old... mildew in the shower, and our room overlooked the trash bins. When you're paying $250ish a night, you expect, well, a resort, not an old motel with vinyl siding and a really dated motel room. [For example, I paid about this in high season in San Juan, PR, Cancun, MX, and Playa del Carmen, Mexico and all three were amazing, all-inclusive luxury properties.]

Anyway, here are the pros [already listed the cons!]:
-beach is really gorgeous, and the water is warm. It's definitely convenient to step right out on to the beach
-handy that towels, beach chairs, and umbrellas are provided, and there is an ample supply
-pools are nice and clean and you have use of the other pools on their adjacent Red Jacket property
-they are making a good effort to be resort-like in that there are activities provided for the kiddos, like a magician and other events: this is nice.
-all the staff we met were very friendly
-the grounds have lovely flowers and are well kept up

And if you're reading these reviews, Blue Water, you should consider the following improvements:
-scrap that awful vinyl siding, yuck
-clean up your rooms and update them so they don't look like the early 90's
-scrap that dreary music you have piping through the halls and into everyone's bathrooms
-clean up the public bathrooms, yuck.
Lots of potential, good luck!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Blue Water-Riviera Beach Resort located on our own white private warm water sandy beach. we strive day and night to create a memorable experience for all who stay! Hope to see you return this fall or next summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Second time. If you're looking for a modern spa experience, Blue Water is not for you. If you're looking for a place on the water where your kids can run around like you used to on vacation-this place is for you. Outdoor movie nights, music on the beach. Heated in/out door pools. An amazing relaxed atmosphere and excellent staff-each one friendly than the last. Good restaurant. The rooms are 70s, but clean. Great Mid-Cape location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnQDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We thank you very much for your recent stay and also for taking time send in your review. Our properties all have wonderful locations with beautiful grounds, pools and beach front access. We certainly hope you and your family return soon to one of our popular Red Jacket Resorts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Let's get this part out of the way. Our number one priority for this trip was a dog friendly hotel, which it is. The downside is that it is a dog friendly hotel. Our carpeting had multiple stains that attracted our dog like a magnet -- we promptly notified management and they came in and immediately steam-cleaned the rug to remove stains. Those sort of stains make the room unappealing and should be taken care of before new families take over the room. So much for dog rooms. The property is in a great location and has access to one of the nicest beaches on the Cape. The pools are nice but the tiles could use a scrubbing along the water line which tells me it is only done at the start of the season. Kid friendly pools but teenagers will be disappointed in the size of the pools and probably should just head to the beach. The pools are best for 12 and younger. (in my opinion) The drinks at the hotel are expensive which actually encouraged me to avoid drinking on the property - costly mistake -- not sure whose great idea it is to hike up drink prices in this economy. A beer and Pina Colada cost about $14 (tip not included). BYO is frowned upon but it highly encouraged based on the prices. Something that bugged me. The room towels were cheap and not bleached clean, we always had to ask for extra towels or go find them ourselves. Two large towels for a family room is a joke. Why so cheap on the towels -- how about 3 for 3 people? The property was well landscaped, and the combination of flowers and sea grass says "Cape Cod". The lounge/restaurant on the property was actually in the basement (yes, basement) of one of the buildings, you had to cross through it to get to the indoor pool. It had that sub-first floor basement level heading to the pool kind of smell. The on-property store for incidentals and snacks was very rarely open, I suppose it didn't make sense having someone there being paid to sell bags of chips or snacks. I think it should be located at check-in to give you 24/7 service. Overall, the property location is good, the beach fantastic, the rooms average at best, happy we were able to bring our dog, our 6-year old like the pool, they did have some kid activities but it wasn't as nice as the RedJacket sister property down the street, the parent property. If your'e in a pinch and need to take a dog, I'd say book it. If you aren't bringing a dog, choose another RedJacket property and pay the extra money.

Room Tip: I'd target a non-pet room, that looks out on the pool, first floor or second floor, especially if you have children and need to keep going back and forth to the room. I don't think there is a noise issue, the closer to the pool and/or beach, the better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidBrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with your pet. The area we are located in is difficult for pet owners as local town ordinances prohibit any pets from being on our private beach from June -Labor Day. We ceratinly appreciate your business and hope to see you back. I always suggest pet owners to travel spring and fall to our properties so we can be totally pet friendly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews