We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location amazing. Staff is great. Needs some updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Water on the Ocean
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent a long weekend at this resort with our two grown children. It was, as promised, right on the beach, with many great amenities, like chairs and umbrellas -- both on a deck facing the ocean and available for setup right on the nice sandy private beach. There is a great snack bar and bar by the side of the pool, steps from the ocean, which was really convenient if you wanted to make a day of the beach, which we did one day. The people at the resort are really great and very helpful.

Overall we were really pleased with everything. As some reviews have noted, noisy A/C units (I mean, really noisy) and just okay beds and bedding are the only areas that could use an updating. It's true that the "heavenly beds" many hotel chains have these days do spoil us all, but I know I would have slept better if the bedding and the A/C had been better.

But location cannot be beaten and there were many great restaurants nearby and traffic wasn't a problem. In all, it was a great mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boslfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

The entire staff here and at every Red Jacket Resorts are very proud of our service and the beauty of our properties and each very unique location. The great news is when we here it as we have with your family as to how awesome it is to stay and enjoy all we have to offer. Hope to see you return soon to one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 276 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

this is our 5th year and it's always modest and enjoyable. The beach is great, they provide the chairs and umbrellas and the staff will help you set up.

Pros - very family friendly, they do have a kids club for children 5 years and older. Lots of activities such as tattoos/face painting, jugglers, Wii tournaments etc... for the family to enjoy. We stay in a townhouse so we have small food bills, we make all our meals here. the pool at the sister resort Riviera beach is zero entry and has a splash park feel which is great for toddlers/preschoolers. Staff is attentive and eager to help.

Cons - pools need a bit of rehab (missing tiles/crumbling concrete). Laundry is undersized, 2 washers/dryers for both hotels is insane and this year one is broken. For a family centered resort, a larger guest laundry is needed.

Room Tip: We like the cotteges so we can cook our own meals and avoid having to eat out the entire time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphintattoo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your response and review. The Red Jacket Resorts focus on family fun and providing a memorable vacation filled with activities for the entire family. The staff and manager's strive to make sure each and every guest has a great experience. We hope to see you and your family back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Things to note before you go:
- Expensive, but you get what you pay for: after taxes and fees, our 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom suite was north of $425 per night, but the location was unbeatable. We were able to walk from our room to the beach in 45 seconds.

- Rooms are in need of a makeover: the rooms *are* dated, but you're not going to the Cape to hang out in your room. Plus, they were immaculately kept and in good repair. I really was astounded at how well kept the resort and the rooms were.

Things we liked:
- location to the beach - despite not having a beach view, we were still amazingly close to the beach. It was really easy to run back and forth to our room from the beach.

- CLEAN - despite having a pet-friendly room and being located at a resort on the beach, our room was pristine. I do not know how they keep the rooms so amazingly clean. Seriously.

- friendly staff - we had a great experience. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Things that could have been improved:
- beds - mattress was in need of replacement. This was a far cry from a Westin heavenly mattress.

- high chairs - although the resort is very family friendly, there were no high chairs available for us to borrow while in our room, which I found surprising.

- website - the website is woefully lacking in detail about the accommodations, making it difficult to know what we should pack and what we could use at the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brownbearister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay and we are very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed all we have to offer. We certainly hope to see you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked a room here for the night before our trip to Nantucket. Tax included, I think we paid about $450 for an efficiency. We were greeted by the night staff who were absolutely rude. We asked if they had an umbrella because it was pouring out and they said no and just kind of sneered at us, as if they were doing us a favor when checking us in. Our room was awful. The couch was dirty and old. There was mold in the bathroom, just awful. The restaurant was the only saving grace of the place. The waitress was so sweet and nice, although totally grossed out by the woman sitting at the bar with bare feet. This place was not my idea of a resort and I would never recommend this place, ever.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank StopForDirections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRivieraBeach, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

We appreciate your time and your review. I am looking into your experience and we apologize if we did not meet your expectation during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Enjoyed all the resort had to offer and lots to do for kids. only reason not a 5 is b/c we paid extra to be in a cottage where they offer "hotel service". It was FAR from that, the maids were rude and hardly did anything but give us new towels, and take out the trash. Also very out dated decor and tv, and for what they charge it shouldn't be and the service should be outstanding. Next time we will get a regular room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and you are 100 percent correct. The Red Jacket Resorts strives at every location to provide a very memorable , fun and exciting vacation to all our visitors. We have tremendous locations and keep our properties in beautiful condition. Our manager's and staff are always eager to provide outstanding friendly service to all our visitors and we are so happy to hear you experienced that while you were here. Hope to see you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are journalists that specialise in family resort coverage and we visited this little paradise in july. This is the best place in Cape Code to spend time with kids either for one night or a full week. The activities for the children are original and very exciting for them. The beach is a couple of feet away from pool and rooms. The staff is so present and at your service 24/7. There are so much to do. everything is made easy for you. Free beach chairs and umbrella on the beach. Enough for everybody! The rooms are huge and perfect for families. The food is great and affordable. No extras. Everything is included. A lot of little things that make your trip different like popcorn with movies at night on the beach, bon fire and story telling, visit from the zoo staff with wild animals.... Simply the best!

Room Tip: Ask for garden rooms especially if you have children with strollers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famillesabord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRivieraBeach, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and we could not agree more . The Resorts are totally in line with the family and we all strive to make the resort a great place to vacation. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We love coming back to this place year after year. It's always clean and the saff is wonderful. We needed help with a cot, and Pat (who has helped in previous visits) went above and beyond to resolve the issue. The location is on a beutiful beach, with outdoor and indoor pools, a jaccuzi. The snack bar has the best burgers, and there is plenty to do for the kids. We'll be back!!
Larry Mirick.Braintree, MA

Room Tip: We like the rooms with the garden outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRivieraBeach, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We thank you very much for the recent stay and taking time to tell everyone how much you enjoyed
the Blue Water Resort. The manager and staff strive daily to provide memorable vacations and we sure hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
624 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
410 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#4 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $115 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views. Offering food and beverage services in the dining room and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beach side Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools,basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing