We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the price you have to pay for Oceanfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Water on the Ocean
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found the accommodations and activities at Blue Water lacking for the price we paid. We are inexperienced Cape Cod travelers so please take our comments with that in mind.
Our room was a two bedroom suite near the beach. The room was old and dated. The beds were uncomfortable and small. The equipment in the room is showing its age.

For a resort, and we have been to a few over the years, we didn't find it all that resorty! The front desk staff were very professional and helpful but the resort staff didn't seem that knowledgeable or engaged/outgoing. We would ask Red Jacket staff questions and they didn't know the answers. Some staff were more interested in chatting with each other than engaging with the guests. At other resorts we have been to, the staff are very enthusiastic and outgoing and work hard to make you feel welcome, answer your questions and make sure that you are having a good time.
I think a better orientation procedure when you arrive would have been greatly appreciated. Perhaps even engaging one of the 'loitering' staff to take guests to their rooms and walk them through where things are and what's happening this week and taking note of the guests and offering other suggestions ("Oh, I see you have kids, we have a great kids program - it meets here - and you will have a great time!"... something like that)

I must say that the friendliest people we interacted with were the housekeeping staff. Friendly, welcoming, engaged... great staff... deserving of a significant tip!

The beach was nice and the towels, chairs and umbrellas was a great bonus but I wouldn't say that it made me feel that I had gotten my monies worth.

Our biggest complaint was one of poor timing... (we were in room 520) we had a deck area that was located next to what looked like the maintenance room below us. It was where they stored their BBQs.
It was 8:30AM - we were having a quiet moment, morning coffee, soaking in Cape Cod's greatness - ocean air, etc...
and it started...
power washing BBQs below us (the staff saw us on our deck - they could have said - "Sorry, we need to do this now..." an acknowledgement would have been appreciated)...
and then a staff member hammering some wood on another deck down - AT 8:30AM!!!!
and the final 'nail' as it were...
a lawn mower starting up and mowing the lawn right beside us...
I'm sure that all these things needed to be attended to... but when I'm on vacation... 8:30AM isn't when I would want such things to start up...
In my business... it is often considered rude to call a client at 8:30AM... even if they are expected to be at work at this time. Let's wait until a little after 9AM at least... Just my thought.

Other than that... we felt like we were paying for location rather than resort. And maybe that is what you are paying for. I just felt that we would have been more comfortable at one of the many hotels nearby... but then again... no ocean front and private beach... like I say... amateur Cape Coders... we will likely try something different next time.

Room Tip: Don't pick 520 if you want a quiet morning on your deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking time to send us your opinions of our resort. The rooms are what they are , however we strive daily to make sure all areas are kept immaculate for our guests enjoyment. We hope you will try us again for our very friendly staff, excellent location with warm clean heated pools and spectacular white sandy beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 272 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

My three friends and I are turning 50 this year. We have been friends since 1st grade and have never been on vacation together. We are so glad that we made the Blue Water our vacation destination! From the moment we arrived we encountered the most wonderful people. Mercy was at the desk and made checking in smooth and easy. We told her we were celebrating our impending 50th birthdays and she made us feel like V.I.P.s right off the bat. Later that evening we found a birthday card with a bottle of wine and four wine glasses as well as a voucher for free breakfast the next morning waiting for us! Our room was fantastic. Being on a budget...all four of us stayed in one room facing the ocean. It was clean and roomy enough for all of us (and our vast amount of luggage!). The view was spectacular. The beach was beautiful and well groomed on a daily basis. We spent our days on the beach and nights enjoying a band, a movie and a beachfire...all at the hotel! We went out to a restaurant one night but stayed at the hotel the rest of the time. Why leave?! The best part was the customer service. From the first moment with Mercy and our check out with Bruna...everyone had a smile. The maidservice, the groundskeepers, the waitstaff and even the young people handing out towels and umbrellas were topnotch. I will tell my friends and family to check out the Blue Water and I will certainly return again and again. Thank you Blue Water!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRivieraBeach, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you very much for the kind words regarding your stay and the staff who were so helpful in making your vacation and reunion a memorable one. We truly appreciate your continued support and can only hope to see you and all in your party back at The Blue Water real soon. Enjoy the remainder of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, a family of 4. We had an oceanfront room with a small kitchenette. The room was probably recently renovated, large and super clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We didn’t like our assigned room and the lady at the desk came with us to show us other rooms with a smile. The beach is very nice; the water was surprisingly warm but no waves. Very important: the beach towels, chairs and umbrellas are supplied by the hotel, free of charge. It is family oriented, lot of kids. Activities such as beach parties, sand castle competitions, but not too much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmyrob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us in July. We strive daily to provide a very clean well kept property packed with great food and beverage options and a host of fun activities you can choose to be a part of. Our beach and pools and friendly staff are keys to your enjoyment. Please visit us again soon. Thank you for the review and the continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place was the best place so far Ive stayed at the Cape. I ran into reservation problems and AnneMarie Bridges(Room Manager) and Bruna,also Ryan were so helpful and accomidating. They were so friendly,nice,always in a good mood and made my family vacation the best one ever. I will always go back to Blue Water and Ive told all my friends and family how great the place is and the people that work there. Thank you AnneMarie,Bruna and Brian for making this the best vacation yet. See you soon! We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your vote of confidence in our resorts and staff and the many activites we offer to our guests both day and night. The staff strives to be freindly, helpful, professional and create lasting positive memories of Red Jackets Resorts.Our hope is we will see you back visiting Cape Cod or the mountains of New Hampshire real soon. Enjoy the remainder of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was my first time in Cape Cod and I found the area and the hotel to be nice. I am always very appreciative of properties that accept animals. The pet-friendly rooms are without a view at the front of the property -- it would've been nice to have an oceanfront room. However, it was a very short walk to get to get to the beach which was clean and not crowded. The water was very clear. The food on the premises is fine if you don't feel like venturing into the town.

The hotel had a lot of activities while we were there from fireworks on July 4th (you could see fireworks up and down the coastline which was lovely), a band playing on the beach and a movie night outdoors.

I would visit this location again. As a side note, I found the wi-fi service to be very spotty and the parking lot is very tiny/spaces narrow for all the SUVs that park there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and being here during a very busy 4th of July holiday. It is our pleasure to offer a host of activities including our wonderful Kids Klub. The staff and management team strive to provide a memorable stay while on our property. Thank you for your comments and continued support. We do hope to see you back in the near future either here on Cape Cod or up in The White Mountains of New Hampshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family and i stayed at the Blue Water from July 8 thru the 14th it was a wonderful vacation we styed in the patio area with a kitchen room plenty of room for the family. They allow you to use there charcoal grills there which is a huge savings when you have a large family to feed. We also had a bunch of friends there stay in the same area and also met more people there that want to come back with us next year. It was a great vacation awesome beach great pool and a great manager named Christine she was so accomadating and her staff is great

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rookie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with your family. As you know we specialize in catering to families on vacation and offer many ammenities and activities that cater to fun, water related activites. Our pools are clean and refreshing and our white sandy beach is second to none. We certainly hope to see you back at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

First I found the front desk with poor customer service - no smiles, no polite conversations nothing inviting. I was checking back through our stay on availability for my parents to join us during our stay and saw quite a few unhappy guests. The resort rooms need some updating - our room was very small and not all look like the website standard property view room like I thought we were getting. Our standard room had no sitting area and again was small. The rooms are non-smoking however the guests beside our room who were outside quite a bit smoked. Their chairs were right next to our room so felt like we were rushing and trying to dodge the smoke and our room smelling like smoke since the wind blew it our direction. The towels are thin and small - ask for extra. However, our room was very convenient to the pool and beach!

One day decided to eat lunch at the Grille for convenience - ordered 2 lobster rolls. They tastied awful like old lobster or old fish!! I mentioned this to the girl working at the register as I walked by throwing the full lobster rolls away and she said "sorry". A guy (thought to be the manager/supervisor - saw him when ordering) asked" what did she say?" She told him and he said "hmmm". I was shocked that they said and did NOTHING!!! That awful taste we had all afternoon and was reluctant to order another lobster roll somewhere else! But love our lobstar! =) That night for dinner ordered only one roll took a bite then ordered another! We talked to the guests next door from our room and he said breakfast was awful and we told him not order the lobster roll but chicken nuggets were fine.

On positive note - resort on the beach, plenty of chairs, umbrellas and space! Great program for kids! If you have kids take them next door to Rivera to their pool more suited for younger kids. The bar at the pool is very convenient - we did not use it but it was very busy!

When checking out the clerk never asked about our stay! Small side note - we were celebrating our anniversary and wrote this in our reservations and mentioned to the clerk when checking in and nothing..no basket of fruit or even happy wishes! Last year stayed at Red Jacket Beach and they sent champagne, fruit and cheese basket - very sweet and a great touch!

Room Tip: Get a larger room for more space - request sitting area room if doing a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

We appreciate your review and are very sorry for your recent experience at Blue Water-Riviera Beach. Happy Anniversary John Verity the General Manager will contact you and invite you back and make every attempt to show you and your family how hard we work to make sure your stay is a memorable and enjoyable one. We are committed to providing you with an outstanding visit at our resort. Thank you for choosing to stay at Red Jacket Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
323 reviews
13.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $94 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views. Offering food and beverage services in the dining room and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beach side Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools,basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing