We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful family reunion !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Water on the Ocean
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Another wonderful family reunion ! This was our 8th consecutive year visiting the Blue Water Resort - 35 of us from various parts of the northeast. Christine and her staff go out of their way to welcome us back each year. The location is perfect for relaxation or activities on the beach. We have our rooms booked for 2013

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciciholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

It is our pleasure to continue to have your family re-unions here at Blue Water-Riviera Beach. The entire team focus daily on keeping our resort in tip top shape and offering very clean and comfortable accommodations to all our guests. Group business, family reunions and family vacations are the areas we specialize in and we are happy you will return again in 2013. Thank you for your continued support and we also thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay here. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 276 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

My daughter and I just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Blue Water. Always wanted to stay here but never made it before this weekend. We had such a fun weekend and the weather was beautiful! The room was very spacious with a partial ocean view and small balcony. You never have to leave the resort because they have everything. We sat out on the deck on Saturday. Very comfortable chairs and the ocean is just steps away. Took advantage of the snack bar for lunch. We used the indoor pool and whirlpool and they were both very clean. They had complimentary punch and wine and cheese and crackers in the afternoon by the pool. The lounge the first night was fun. Met lots of new people and had lots of laughs. The dining room is nice with a fireplace. The staff takes customer service very seriously and it shows. Everyone was super nice and accomodating, especially Anne Marie (manager). We also had massages at the Red Jacket which were wonderful. If you go ask for Ginny; gives an amazing massage. Felt great and relaxed.

On Satruday night they had entertainment and as we had gone out for dinner had a problem finding a parking space when we returned. I asked one of the staff who was in the parking lot at the time and he offered to move his car for me. I was really impressed by that. Wish I had gotten his name so I could mention him.

All in all loved the resort and the staff and would go back anytime. If you want a wonderful, relaxed vacation on the beach Blue Water is the place to go!

Room Tip: Avoid an adjoining room. We could hear the conversation in the next room very clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purplelvrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Thank you kindly for your review and patronage while visiting Cape Cod. The entire team here at Blue Water make guest service, politeness and friendliness the number one priority. We are very happy you enjoyed the many amenities we offer here at Riviera, Blue Rock and Red Jacket Beach. Our goal is to offer you, the guest, outstanding service and a beautiful beach front location as well as excellent food and beverage and comfortable very clean accommodations. It would be our pleasure to have you return to any one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts and we look forward to making your stay a memorable one. Enjoy your summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

we recently celebrated our anniversary at blue waters, which we have been staying at for many years. The manager John Verity and his staff went above and beyond, making our weekend stay enjoyable and memorable. This is a great place to stay with or without children. This is truely a special gem on cape cod, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you so very much for your kind comments reagrding your recent stay at Blue Water. The staff and management strive daily to exceed our guest expectations. The fact that it was your anniversary and you chose our Red Jacket Resort as your place of celebration also brings a big smile to our face. Cape Cod has numerous choices and with our private white sandy beach and extraordinary attention to detail we are truly a special place to stay . Please come back and visit us soon or call so we can help plan a trip to one of our other six Red Jacket Resorts. We very much appreciate your business and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Blue Water Resort is great getaway place for a night or a weekend. The staff are friendly and make you feel like family from the moment you check in to the day you leave. We have had a family reunion there for 3 years now and I have made three other trips back in between the reunions. The reunions go off with no problems. The past draws at night for the families have been outdoor movies and the partys on the beach with a bonfire maintained by the Blue Water Staff.
Going back for Fathers Day weekend for another Trainor reunion.

Room Tip: Ask questions to the person you book with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

We are so happy you chose to return to Blue Water and very much appreciate the contiuned loyalty. I also want to thank you for sharing details about your experiences while you were here. The Blue Water strives daily to exceed our guest expectations and our staff attempts at every moment to be attentive, polite and be very responsive to each guests needs. The Resort does cater to small and mid size groups and we specialize in family reunions. The property has many things to offer with regards to a private beach, heated indoor and out door pools, restaurants and grills as well as entertainment and children's activities. The official summer season is two weeks away and we would like very much to have you and your family return to Blue Water or any of our other six Red Jacket Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Checked in on 5/10/12 for a long Mother's Day weekend with my mom & 18-month old son. Stayed in an oceanfront room in the "Edge of the Sea" section of the resort. It was wonderful for my son; grassy area right outside the room and beach just beyond that where he could play right in my line of sight. Room was clean, grounds were neatly groomed. Trevor was kind enough to bring the rolling crib to our room AND roll it out to the sun deck in the afternoon so my son could nap under an umbrella while we relaxed. Very friendly staff all around. Indoor pool was warm and clean. Too bad the outdoor snack bar wasn't open, but I can certainly see why since we had the place more or less to ourselves. Did not eat at the resort, since there are many great restaurants in the area. Fabulous stay overall. I imagine the place is very crowded in the summer, but it was perfect for a fun, quiet, relaxing off-season getaway for the three of us.

Room Tip: Room 404 is a neat little efficiency, perfect if you plan to have breakfast/lunch/snacks in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I just returned from a family reunion at the Blue Water. I can not say enough about the staff. From the planning which started months ago to check out - everyone at Blue Water was fantastic. We had family memebers from 9 months and up, and everyone enjoyed themselves. The breakfast was great, as were the drinks at the bar. The waterfront location was perfect. I am already planning a trip back next May!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenway98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you and your wonderful family for choosing Blue Water as your destination for your reunion. The staff enjoyed serving all of you and are excited you are planning to return. It is our intention to continue to do everything we can to make your stay and your dining experiences memorable ones. As June approaches more and more activities take place day and night at the resort. Please remember to also take advantage of guest reciprocity offered to all Red Jacket guests. This includes Blue Rock for golf and food and beverage options as well as Red Jacket Beach for spa srevices and water sports as well as dining . We appreciate you choosing our resort and we certainly look forward to your return here or at any Red Jacket Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just returned from another stay at the Blue Water Resort, part of the Red Jacket Resorts, in South Yarmouth, Massachusetts, following an annual golf outing with a great group of longtime friends. Our resort of choice: The Blue Water. The Blue Water has been our choice for accommodations for the past many years, too many to count, for a variety of reasons.

LOCATION:

The Blue Water is situated Mid-Cape so that travel to anywhere on Cape Cod is convenient. From this location, one can take advantage of all the activities the Cape has to offer. Beaching, golfing, biking, water sports, dining, shopping, trips to the islands, whale watches, harbor tours, antiquing, visiting historical and cultural sites, touring the National Seashore etc., are all popular Cape Cod activities. The resort is very close to Rt. 28 which is a main thoroughfare, filled with a multitude of restaurants. The resort is also not far from Hyannis Center and Hyannis Harbor.

BEACH:

The Blue Water is an ocean front resort with its own private beach on Nantucket Sound. The beach is picturesque, and the water is very gentle, with little or no surf, and a very gradual incline along the sandy bottom. It would be an extremely safe beach for families with children. It is a great walking beach as it is about a 25 minute walk from the borders of Bass River and the fishing pier, to Parker’s River which define the beach length. This beach is also good for shelling. Many rooms have balconies that directly overlook the water, sand, and dunes; beautiful to look at any time of the year.

ROOMS:

The Blue Water offers a variety of accommodations from standard motel rooms, to efficiency units, suites, and cottages. All units are extremely clean and well cared for. While this is an older resort, it adds to the property’s character, and is beautifully maintained. The grounds are well manicured with pretty lawn areas and attractive plantings. Each type of accommodation has an outside sitting area. Our group particularly enjoys the efficiency units, “Edge of the Sea”, with their balconies that provide an ocean view – they are just steps away from the sand and water. These rooms are extremely comfortable, sleeping three, with a roomy bathroom, fridge, sink, microwave, and coffee maker. There is a pleasant sitting area right outside of these units with grouping of tables and chairs in a lovely lawn area overlooking the ocean. There is some parking available adjacent to these efficiency rooms which makes it very convenient.

AMENITIES:

The Blue Water has an indoor heated pool, whirlpool spa, sauna, very attractive outdoor pool overlooking the ocean, along with a delightful sun deck facing the ocean. A restaurant, breakfast room, and cocktail lounge with scheduled live entertainment on Saturday night is also on site. During the high season there is added live entertainment. There is also an in-season children’s program.

SERVICE:

Service, with real warmth and friendliness, was outstanding from the front desk staff, waiters/waitresses in the restaurant, bartenders in the lounge, clerks in the convenience shop, maintenance workers, etc. Kudos to the management team and staff for making service and customer satisfaction their top priority. Their staff hospitality is appreciated. It is indeed a pleasure to be a guest at this resort.

MISCELLANEOUS:

The Blue Water is open from late April to October. There are some special packages with discount rates available off-season. Cape Cod definitely has appeal year round, and each season has its offerings. Do drop by a Cape Cod Visitor’s Center, in various locations, to find out all the Cape has to offer.

To conclude, through our stays, we have found that the Blue Water certainly has its share of repeat customers. Our group is testimony that outstanding, hospitable service, an inviting atmosphere, and customer satisfaction are very much valued. THANKS BLUE WATER! We are already looking forward to our visit next year.

Room Tip: "Edge of the Sea" rooms are very comfortable with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank School's Out 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and submitting your review regarding your time spent with us at Blue Water. The staff and management team do everything in our power to insure that our property and service are exceeding your expectations. We value the fact that you chose our property over the numerous other resorts that Cape Cod has to offer. This year we have refurbished our dining rooms and some of the cottages and rooms. We also opened a new Market Place which caters to our guests for additional items you may need while visiting. Please join us again this season and when in New Hampshire please check out our two resort properties in North Conway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
624 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
410 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#4 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $115 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views. Offering food and beverage services in the dining room and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beach side Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools,basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing