We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot on the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach House at Bass River
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We were looking for a place on the beach when somebody from the Forums reccomended this spot to us. It was a great choice. My wife is partialyy handicapped and she could sit outside and overlook the beach and watch the kids. It truly is right on the beach. The only downside to this palce may be the "Breakfast". If is a couple of baked breakfast loafs and bagels. But I knew this going in so I was OK with it. I would consider the pictures on their web site very accurate, so check them out.
[--]

P.S. There is a frig in the roomand the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bidderman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2007

Its hard to find, but even harder to forget. This inn,i s very close by the water. Just a few stone steps, to reach the faboulous, sandy private beach.The lovely sounds of the waves hitting the rocks at night is almost a llyaby.

There are three types of rooms, Ocean Front, Ocean View, and Beach House Rooms, I recomend the Ocean Front or the Ocean View, for the most romantic getaway. If your with kids 10 and under, they are free. Each room either has, two double beds, or 1 queen. If traveling with 1 child and you would prefer a queen, they also have cots. Beach house gives free sand toys, out for children if asked for. Also tennis balls are given for older children.


Overall this was a wonderful Summer experience...

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank fordl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

The Beach House at Bass River is awesome. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. There were a couple available rooms when we got there, so they let us look at them and choose which we liked best.
You can't get any closer to the ocean. We stayed on the second floor where you have a private balcony overlooking the ocean. We left the balcony door opened at night and listened to the surf.
They provide a complimentary buffet breakfast that includes several delicious fresh baked breads, fruit salad, granola and more.
The only downside to our stay was the weather. It was raining or drizzling both days. But between the balcony, the table and chairs set up by the windows, and the nice stretch of beach for walking we totally enjoyed out stay.
If you're going to the Cape to sight see and do touristy things, there would certainly be less expensive places to stay not so close to the beach. But if you're looking for the perfect place to relax and enjoy the ocean, the Beach House at Bass River is worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethebeach922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I was surprised that there were no reviews of this little inn on Trip Advisor, and decided to remedy that straight away. The location couldn't be nicer - wake up to a gorgeous sunrise over the water! Down a few steps is a small sandy beach. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished, and the staff is quite accomodating. There are lawn chairs for lounging.

Now - there's no pool here, which I presume accounts for a break in the rates. And which probably means that the inn would attract an older, childless clientele (fine by me!).

The inn provides a continental style breakfast every morning - a nice touch - don't miss the home made granola. Take it back to your patio/deck, or inside your room where each has a small table and chairs.

My only complaints - and these are minor - was the small refrigerator in the room that was so noisy we finally unplugged it and used our cooler, and the heat a/c also make an awful racket. (We turned it off and slept to the cool breeze and rhythm of the waves through the open slider.) Neither would keep us from a return visit.

For 2007, their top rate is $250 during "high" season - a bargain for an ocean front room in that area. Off season rates are as low as $110, & I believe they have senior discounts. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank S&L_from_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank montmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
410 reviews
2.1 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#11 of 21 in South Yarmouth
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
624 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Bass River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Bass River

Address: 73 S Shore Dr, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $110 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Beach House At Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Beach House At Bass River Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing