We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach House at Bass River
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July. Room 2 on 2nd floor. Was pleasantly surprised how pretty and Clean the room was. No musty smell like you would find near the water. Sleeping with the water crashing outside your door was great. Nice quiet spot and great restaurant " The Skipper" in walking distance. We went twice. Beach is beautiful and you can't get any closer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Balcony was nice, but opening your door to lawn was also very convenient. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betsybooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the 'Beach House' for the second time. Four years ago we stayed here for a night after a trip to Nantucket. We both said if we came back we would definitely like to stay for at least another night! This time we stayed two nights! We had one of the premier ocean front rooms (upper - with a balcony). It is a little pricey, but it is soooooo worth it! (We traveled at the end of June to take advantage of the slightly lower prices, early summer temps, and less crowded Cape!) It is so incredibly peaceful, relaxing, and rejuvenating being right near the ocean. It is a simple, clean, quiet, peaceful place. You couldn't get any closer to the water! My son's girlfriend and a friend of hers joined us for the second night, and they liked it so much they booked another room for another night! They had a lower, partial-view room. It was less expensive, and yet they did still have an ocean view! It was wonderful sleeping to the lull of gentle ocean surf. There is also a complimentary simple breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, homemade breads, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels and english muffins. I have already highly recommended it to both family and friends. I know I will return again...maybe for a longer visit still?!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hwilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went last week for 4 nights. Ended up staying 5 nights. This is our 2nd time here. Had a 2nd floor ocean front. Loved hearing the surf and the cool ocean breeze. Slept really good. Loved the breakfast. Got the recipe for their granola cereal and I mix it with the store bought cereal. Free wifi so I was able to stay connected. We'll be back!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank bbtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time mother /daughter getaway at "The Beach House". The location is superb being close enough to the ocean to not only see but hear the waves! Good clean and comfortable bed,spacious room with sparkling new tub and tile! The breakfast exceeded our expectations with fresh fruit,juice muffins and home baked goods! The atmosphere was homey and friendly.The most amazing thing was when out car would not start one of the employees ran over to her car and gave us a jump start! You don't get that kind of assistance at most places. Can't wait to come back for another super relaxing and memorable vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jafa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

So we returned to the beach house for the second time this August. Our previous trip was two years ago. This is just perfect, relaxing verandah overlooking the sandy beach. We too nice long walks on the beach, swam in the warm sea and visited an excellent restaurant within walking distance. A little pricing but we will be going back again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our recent trip up the East Coast and loved it!! The location is perfect, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the Cape Crowd!! We loved the room, the view, the beach and breakfast (very nice array of options including homemnade breads)!! My husband and I would return there is a heartbeat and stay much longer!! At the end of our day, we spend both nights on the balcony, enjoying the sea and surf. Great location for an easy drive up the Cape during the day! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the oceanside and on the second floor for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Beach House is a classic, typical beachfront motel. It is not a B & B and TripAdvisor should reclassify the place to be accurate in its description. There are plenty pluses in staying here - private beach, huge lawn for lounging and enjoying the sunset, continental breakfast, quiet atmosphere. This is what you should expect for a beachfront New England summer vacation. Best for couples or families with older children since there are no kitchen facilities. There is a great restaurant within waking distance, but the main attraction is the Atlantic Ocean.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank denverretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.0 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Surfcomber on the Ocean
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Bass River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Bass River

Address: 73 S Shore Dr, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $110 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Beach House At Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Beach House At Bass River Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing