We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Those thrilling days of yesteryear!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunes Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Those thrilling days of yesteryear!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In September 2012 I was with a group which stayed at the Dunes Motel during a guided tour of Cape Cod. I was not at all prepared for the “Dunes experience.”

Where to start? I remember the Eisenhower administration (1953-1961). The Dunes Motel must have been here then and VERY little has changed. It all came flooding back when I entered the room. The aqua tiled walls of the bath room with the aqua sink and tub. WOW! I have not seen that in years. The metal cabinet over the sink, the old Koehler sink fittings it was all there. If you want to go back in time, to those thrilling days of yesteryear, “with a hearty Hi-Yo, Silver. Away!” here is THE spot.

This is another one of those “check list” motels found on group tours. Room; check. Beds; check. Bath room en suite; check. Hot water; check. All the parts are there but the total experience leaves a lot to be desired.

The owner, and family, responded to any and all issues quickly. The problem is there should not have been so many issues to respond to. My room had a plumbing problem. We were offered a different room; we accepted. The plumbing problem was fixed later the same day but should have been found and fixed before the room was rented. Others in the group had similar issues which all seemed to be resolved quickly as well. Still, the issues seemed to arise from the fact the property needs to be completely overhauled ASAP.

I spoke to another couple who were ending a week-long stay. They were quite satisfied. Others in our group were also satisfied with the responsiveness of the owner/operator.

Breakfast (included) was odd by contemporary standards. Again, all the parts were there but it seemed a bit “quaint” and reminiscent of the early days of motel development in the United States. Not awful just odd.

For travelers in their 30’s this place is a living, 3-D historical experience. Want to know what the motels of the 1960’s were like? Stay here.

This is a very quiet area, mostly rental cottages. The ocean is about two long blocks away. There is a small public beach (100+- yards) with benches, parking and sand to walk on. Easy walk to, from and on the beach. That is about all there is in the neighborhood. There is one restaurant near the ocean about ¾ mile from the motel. Other services are a car ride away on the main road.

All in all it was an experience. Interesting experience, not terrible, but it was interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1oldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    15
    12
    14
See reviews for
34
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After returning here many years, the Dunes has deteriorated to the point of "no more returns" for us. The place changed owners a couple times since Greg sold it. You can only use a facility so long, then you HAVE TO update. Torn rugs, blankets with numerous holes, and cleanliness at marginal level. The help, though courteous, don't understand you and any needs through them are lost in translation.
Our family loved this place in its prime, but the prime is long gone. Stop milking the cow, and feed it once in a while.

Room Tip: If you do stay here try to get the larger end rooms by Seaview Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton township, nj
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

room is good size, bathroom ok, had fridge, microwave and iron. king bed was comfy. it is an older place, but adequate. had a pool, but we did not swim as it rained. continental breakfast is ok. cold cereal, bagels, donuts, coffee. it is about 2 blocks from a small public beach on Nantucket Sound. the beach was not great, small and smelly from dead shellfish laying around. hotel is located on a residential street, that has cottage rentals on it. if you are looking to be close to the big beaches, head towards Wellfleet or Truro and that area. This hotel is 45 miles from Providencetown. It did not smell like smoke and did not have bugs, but next day i did notice that all my clothes smelled damp/musty from the room. its ok, not great, not horrible. not a great location for the beach, but there are many shops and restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: if you want to be close to a good beach, look in Wellfleet, or Truro area. there is a bit of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathughes167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beacon falls ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

OMG! Had the best time last week at the Dunes Motel. We were treated like royalty by Jack and Pax who run the place. clean as a whistlen! u can eat off the sidewalks! place is older but thats what gives it its charm. Had everything we needed, full kitchen, fridge, stove toaster, hair dryer, iron and board, loads of closet space. decent continental bfskt. close to everything shopping , restaurants, beach around the corner. very inexpensive for area, cottages down the stret 250 a nite. would reccomend this place to everyone, families, friends, couples.Cant wait to go back with my family at end of summer. Thanks Jack and Pax for a wonderful stay! Nancy and Lynn from CT

Room Tip: rooms with kitchen are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyredm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had a wonderful experience with an overnight stay at the Dunes. Owner stayed open awaiting our late arrival, didn't arrive until after 10:00 pm. Extremely clean and the staff were very helpful in meeting our needs. There were other people there who stay at the Dunes during their yearly visits to the Cape. The TV, fridge, micro, hair dryer were not the newest models but everything worked fine. The breakfast was compatible with the cost of a room (danish, bagels, english muffins and cereal).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticiut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved our stay at The Dunes Motor Inn. It had everything we were looking for: affordable rate, excellent location, clean, relaxing, and friendly staff. We loved being off of busy route 28, but close enough for a quick drive to local attractions. A short walk took us to the beautiful beach and a great local restaurant. The room, grounds, and pool were kept very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmlct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were looking for a clean, comfortable, cheap no frills motel. If this motel was $75 cheaper, I'd give it a positive review. But it's way too expensive for what they offer.

Room - The two full beds in our room were tiny and the matresses were too firm. The tv was from the 1980's; I know, my family had the same model in 1989! The remote didn't work. The room stunk of cleaning products, but it was clean and there were no bugs. The blankets were thin, but passable. The pillows were flat. Overall, this would have been a passable room in 1989, but now, it was terribly outdated and overpriced.

The walls were thin, so we were treated to listening to screaming kids every single morning.

Breakfast - This is the worst breakfast I've ever seen. All they had were a few TINY muffins and some cereal. I've seen better at the Comfort Inn.

Pool - It looked ok. We never went in.

Parking - There are not enough spaces for all of the cars. If you arrive late, you may not be able to park.

Location - It is near the beach and the main strip, so the location is fine, if you want to stay mid-Cape.
We've stayed at worse, but we won't be back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank miumiu4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn and Suites
Ambassador Inn and Suites
#15 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Property: The Dunes Motor Inn
Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing