We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place on the Cape!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunes Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Reviewed June 22, 2012

OMG! Had the best time last week at the Dunes Motel. We were treated like royalty by Jack and Pax who run the place. clean as a whistlen! u can eat off the sidewalks! place is older but thats what gives it its charm. Had everything we needed, full kitchen, fridge, stove toaster, hair dryer, iron and board, loads of closet space. decent continental bfskt. close to everything shopping , restaurants, beach around the corner. very inexpensive for area, cottages down the stret 250 a nite. would reccomend this place to everyone, families, friends, couples.Cant wait to go back with my family at end of summer. Thanks Jack and Pax for a wonderful stay! Nancy and Lynn from CT

Room Tip: rooms with kitchen are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyredm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had a wonderful experience with an overnight stay at the Dunes. Owner stayed open awaiting our late arrival, didn't arrive until after 10:00 pm. Extremely clean and the staff were very helpful in meeting our needs. There were other people there who stay at the Dunes during their yearly visits to the Cape. The TV, fridge, micro, hair dryer were not the newest models but everything worked fine. The breakfast was compatible with the cost of a room (danish, bagels, english muffins and cereal).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved our stay at The Dunes Motor Inn. It had everything we were looking for: affordable rate, excellent location, clean, relaxing, and friendly staff. We loved being off of busy route 28, but close enough for a quick drive to local attractions. A short walk took us to the beautiful beach and a great local restaurant. The room, grounds, and pool were kept very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmlct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were looking for a clean, comfortable, cheap no frills motel. If this motel was $75 cheaper, I'd give it a positive review. But it's way too expensive for what they offer.

Room - The two full beds in our room were tiny and the matresses were too firm. The tv was from the 1980's; I know, my family had the same model in 1989! The remote didn't work. The room stunk of cleaning products, but it was clean and there were no bugs. The blankets were thin, but passable. The pillows were flat. Overall, this would have been a passable room in 1989, but now, it was terribly outdated and overpriced.

The walls were thin, so we were treated to listening to screaming kids every single morning.

Breakfast - This is the worst breakfast I've ever seen. All they had were a few TINY muffins and some cereal. I've seen better at the Comfort Inn.

Pool - It looked ok. We never went in.

Parking - There are not enough spaces for all of the cars. If you arrive late, you may not be able to park.

Location - It is near the beach and the main strip, so the location is fine, if you want to stay mid-Cape.
We've stayed at worse, but we won't be back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank miumiu4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our room was disappointing in many ways--although this is by far the least expensive hotel in this area. Cons: The room smelled very musty, and was so damp that a bathing suit hung to dry on a Wednesday was not dry by the following Monday. We could not hang anything in the closet area because the A/C, in the closet area, blew out soaking wet air, making clothes wet. The TV didn't work, nor did the provided hair dryer. The cleaning staff couldn't remember to leave three sets of towels, for three people. We had to ask for new bars of soap, when after five days, all we had were small broken pieces. The day we arrived, there was visible dirt and hair on the bathroom floor--room was clean otherwise.
Pros: Staff is friendly, and very willing to provide soap, towels, etc., when asked. (But we shouldn't have to ask.) Outdoor pool is very clean, not crowded, and a pleasure to swim in. The beds were comfortable, and sheets were changed daily. Continental breakfast was nothing special (bagels, English Muffins, cereal), but certainly adequate. Coffee was very good!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived on Saturday at 3pm and they had lost our reservations, had to give us another room....room was clean enough, out dated, the refrigerator never worked the the cord was frayed so we unplugged it for fear of a fire. Sunday morning we went for the continental breakfast to find out it didn't start until 8:30am! Had to go out to breakfast instead. Pool was clean enough but they didn't provide you with towels. They only allow you to have 1 parking space. We ran out of tissue and room service didn't replace them, had to go looking for another box. The day we were checking out we waiting until 8:30 for our breakfast, which was just a bagel and butter, and then waited for the pool to open at 9:30 so we could let our son swim before we left. We called down from at 9:30 and they told us the pool would not be open until 10:30 because they just put chemicals in it - disappointing my son since check out is a t 11 am and they require us to remove our cars upon check out! PUT YOUR CHEMICALS IN AFTER TO POOL CLOSES AT 8pm!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Toilet is leaning to one side. Front door does not close good & has to be slammed to shut. Door has big gaps around door seal. Carpet was so filthy that my 5 year old grand daughter's feet turned black as tar from the filth in the carpet. Bed spread had a big stain on it when we arrived, the cleaners flipped it over & made the bed anyways & it was still there 3 days later when we left. The "Clean Room" door tag blew away in a storm. I told the cleaners that room # 2 needed to be cleaned & that there was no door tag. They said "O.K". & by 2:55 p.m. that day , no room had been cleaned & no towels had been picked up. My wife went to the office only to be told by the manager that the cleaners said that "we did not want our room cleaned "& the cleaners are now leaving for the day. "NOT THE CASE, WE NEED TOWELS & ROOM CLEANED. WE TOLD THE CLAENERS THAT", my wife stated. The manager sent a cleaner over with towels, but no sheets. My wife said, "What about the beds & trash?"The cleaner said "it is the end of the shift & he is sending us home, sorry." So, we flipped the sheets over & left the next morning early & WILL NEVER BE BACK!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bolo41634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in South Yarmouth
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5147
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $50 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing