We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf and Sand Beach Motel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“breathtaking views”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

i have been coming to this motel for more than 5 years , .after reading the negative reviews i must now comment . For the person that said the lobby looks like its 1960's time warp the owner only a few months ago brought all brand new furnishing for the lobby and common room from a local furniture chain Mostly all the rooms have been done over wiith no expensive spared For the guest that said their is nothing to do there ,im sure if you wanted to pay triple the amount you paid you could have activities at neighboring motels Yes the beds are firm ,but its a matter of choice many of us like a firm bed For the people that have never been here before give it a try you wont regret it

Room Tip: second flr rooms have the most privacy away fom the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank S5256KMroberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
37
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The hotel is quite old but the location is great, directly on the beach, in a very quiet and calm area. All the rooms have front view on the ocean which is not the case in most hotel in the area. If you're not looking for a luxury place but for a quite and seaview hotel, this is an excellent choice in the Hyannis/Yarmouth area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The outside front of this hotel looks terrible and the lobby is a time warp back to the 60's. The owner told us 75% of the rooms have been refurbished.
I have to agree about the beds...terrible. Does feel just like sleeping on box springs. The walls are also very thin which can make for some noisy disturbances.
The location however trumps everything. Direct views and a balcony on Nantucket sound. A private beach for hotel guests.
If you stay definitely pay up for the refurbished rooms ours was done very nice. Includes an entire kitchenette area fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans and all utensils. There is a coffee maker microwave and refrigerator too.
When making the reservation the next time I will request the side of the hotel away from the pool and the resort next door. The resort next door's bar and live band section is right over the fence line on the one side of this hotel. Very noisy....
Just to be clear as you face the front of this hotel you will want the rooms to the far right to escape some of the noise from the resort next door.
Expect to receive no wi-fi that way you won't be disappointed.
I went with three stars but because of the location I will go back.....
Finally smoking is permitted on outside balconies and in outside areas ..which lucky for us only was a problem one day.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right as you face the front of the hotel will definitely be quieter. Second floor (no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCS3675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband & I went for a quick overnight trip. We enjoyed the hotel right on the beach & liked that there was a kitchen. The lobby needs some updating & the staff was nice. It could use more curb appeal. All in all it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our Room.
1) the beds were so hard that I believe they were box springs not mattresses .
2) the freezer did not work . Turned our ice cream into soup
3) the Wifi did not work in our room or anywhere near our room.
The Motel
1) very poor maintenance . Walkway and stairs littered. Large tear in awning. Half painted areas .
2) the pool that was suppose to be heated was not heated!!!!
3) management did not deal with our complaints about the beds. We were forced to put folded blankets and folded comforter under the fitted sheet to try to make it a little bit better.
4) there are no beach chairs available to take down to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katbeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

L'Assomption, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I`m giving this hotel a 3 star rating because of the amount of noise you can here from other rooms. We barely slept, due to the fact that the walls and ceiling are paper thin. You can hear very clearly conversations on either side of us and upstairs. This includes t.v.s and bodily functions. Our room was very clean and I appreciated the kitchenette.
The beach was full of sea weed but the grounds were kept very clean. The pool was crystal clear.
It`s not a place that I would go back to. Disappointing, not much to do there either.
By the way,the picture of the hotel is actually the back,the front looks like a run down factory,not very inviting. I actually thought I had the wrong place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I will give this hotel 2 stars because it a perfect location right on the beach and the upgraded rooms are very nice with half kitchens, but the women who is the management or owner of this place will make your stay a living hell. My fiance and I visited our parents staying here last year when we were first approached by her screaming we could not visit hotel guests amenities were for paying guests only and we would be towed if we did not move our car. This year we booked our own room for the weekend (the penthouse mind you) and my parents booked their own room and we were treated the SAME way as the women who wrote the review above. Pounding on the door at 9pm accusing us of sneaking guests into the room and being disruptive when we were only enjoying dinner and some laughs on the patio. Ridiculous and unprofessional I will never give this place my business again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf and Sand Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Beach Motel

Property: Surf and Sand Beach Motel
Address: 277 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf and Sand Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a secluded stretch of private beach directly on Nantucket Sound offering a vacation distinctly different from most Cape Cod resorts. Sit back and relax at your own pace, basking in the warm Cape Cod sun 'til your heart's content; or stroll along the shore gathering shells at sunset. Stake claim to one of the beach chairs on our extensive lawn or poolside while you catch up on your reading; or if the kids beckon, build castles in the sand or play a challenging game of shuffleboard... without ever moving from your home by the beach.We hope that you enjoy your stay with us. Whether your here for a family vacation, a family reunion or to celebrate the union of two in matrimony, we want to be of service.When the mood strikes, you're just minutes from the many popular activities which dot the landscape in the Mid-Cape area. From museums and history to antique and gift shops... miniature golf to whale watching, you'll set your own pace to enjoy the many activities for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Surf and Sand Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Surf And Sand Beach Motel Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing