We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of The Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Escape Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have never been to Cape Cod before and we weren't sure where to stay. After searching Trip Advisor, we found the Escape Inn and we were so glad we did! As soon as we walked in, Mike and Holly greeted us and offered any assistance we needed on what we wanted to do that evening. The room we stayed in was brightly/cheerfully painted and was completely newly renovated. The hardwood floors, bathroom and linens were immaculately clean! The room was just enough space for two, the bed was comfortable and the shower was great! The pool area as well as the pool itself were also perfectly clean. You can tell that the owners take pride in their property and this emanated in all that they did. The lobby and continental breakfast location was also spotless, adorably arranged and perfect! Finally, the Inn is located right next door to the Cape Cod Creamery...which is the best ice cream parlor on the Cape!

We were so happy being at the Escape Inn and definitely recommend it to others!!! It's a little gem on Route 28, great value!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    77
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
145
274
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The entire motel is undergoing renovation. The rooms that are completed are beautiful. With hardwood floors, bright paint, and all white linens, The Escape Inn has clean and very updated look. The lobby/breakfast room has the same pleasant look. The owners are friendly and very interested in the feedback from guests. With good dinner recommendations, helpful directions, and great accommodations, our stay at The Escape Inn was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had an excellent trip to Cape Cod and The Escape Inn during the July 4th weekend. The Inn was clean and as my wife put it "soooo cute." The continental breakfast was enough to get our day started. The location is great, a short drive to the beach and restaurants, and next door to the Cape's best ice cream parlor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights at the Escape Inn the 1st week of july.
I booked this hotel based on reviews alone, and was not disappointed. The rooms were big & clean, with very comfortable beds. Linen was spotless...
The complimentary continental breakfast was simple but adequate for my liking.
Holly and Michael, the hosts, were incredibly helpful in giving us daily advice on towns /sites / places to visit.
I truly felt like I was a guest in their home.
Thank you both for a great stay, and Holly, your blueberries were awesome! ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsaS.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I travel all over the globe, and Michael & Holly's place ranks amongst the best for value, cleanliness, service and hospitality. Great location and convenient to everything at the Cape! Given the business July 4th weekend, they couldn't have made us feel any more welcome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rundmc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent three nights here in June and were very happy we did! Rooms were very clean and everything was new. The owners Mike and Holly couldn't have been more helpful when we asked for advice on ferries and local attractions.
Lots to do in the area, restaurants were all great! We would highly recommend The Escape Inn to anyone planning to visit the area...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April242007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family stayed at The Escape Inn for 4 nights in June 2013 and it exceeded both our expectations and past experience of motels.

It's located in South Yarmouth, a perfect central location for exploring the length of the cape. From Province Town at the top of the cape to Woods Hole (for Marthas  Vineyard ferry), the Escape is only a hour away at most.

The rooms were well equipped with free wifi, hair dryer, soap, shampoo, moisturiser, ironing board & iron, bathroom & pool towels, air conditioning and large plasma TV. Our room was spotlessly clean with new white bedding and towels, and it was cleaned daily (unless you use the do not disturb sign). More hotel than motel.

They also have a decent sized pool with sun loungers, tables and garden area that is also kept very clean. It's well fenced off so is both private and safe if you have younger kids that you would want kept away without supervision.You also get a continental breakfast as part of the package including a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, breads and rolls. I recommend the toasted fruit loaf and great coffee.

But best of all is the owners, Michael and Holly.  What ever your plans it's worth having a chat with them. They'll keep you right with their local knowledge and on more than one occassion gave us suggestions that enhanced our experience of the cape.

Highly recommended.

The Penicuik Belles

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penicuik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.5 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
746 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
249 reviews
4.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Property: The Escape Inn
Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing