We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on the Cape”
Review of The Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay on the Cape”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I think we found a hidden gem when we stayed at the Escape Inn. The owners, Mike & Holly, couldn't have been more gracious or helpful - from providing extra beach towels for us, providing us with an umbrella in the rain or giving us tips on which beaches the locals go to (which, BTW provided us with one of our best beach days EVER) - they were fabulous. Breakfast each day was very basic and healthy - perfect start to our day. Our room on the 2nd floor was immaculate - it epitomized everything you think a "Cape Cod" room should be - crisp white linens, clean lines, cheery, light walls, comfortable bed. The portable A/C in our room kept it very comfortable in the Aug heat. The location is perfect - right in the middle of everything on the Cape. We were able to do day trips in both directions. The value was unbeatable. We will absolutely stay here again on our next trip to the Cape and would recommend it to anyone! I do think this B&B - at least the room we stayed in - is probably more suitable for couples or a friends getaway than for families with kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mntripjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    77
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
145
274
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Booked this room based on price & TripAdvisor reviews. However we were surprised & disappointed when we saw the room. Small simple room, so simple in fact that there was no where to sit except the bed. We had done a lot of driving so we just had snacks for dinner when we got there. No place to sit our soda cans & food. Nice wood floors but VERY noisy if someone is in the room above yours. Breakfast had only a couple choices & extra small amount of food. I'm sure the owners were lovely people, but they appeared quite busy when we were there, so very little interaction with them. The biggest plus....the bed....it was comfortable & CLEAN.

Room Tip: 2nd level may be much more quiet. Don't expect to do anything in your room except sleep. May w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ohiolady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed three separate times caring for an elderly relative nearby. Hosts made our stay much easier during a difficult time. Breakfast was easy and varied a little each day. Accommodations were just like the online pictures , we stayed in three different rooms. Clean as a whistle and white comfy bed linens. The only recommendation I have would be to put an Adirondack chair in each room for tv watching when you don't want to watch from bed.
Definitely the best buy motel on the Cape!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is my husband's and my first visit to Cape Cod. I read overwhelming positive reviews from TripAdvisor members about this place and was excited to see what the buzz was all about. The Escape Inn exceeded my expectations. Holly gave great recommendations on things to do when I made my reservation. Mike gave great tips on where to dine when I checked into the hotel. The room is so cute and more importantly very clean. Check out this place the next time you are in town. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfivecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great experience, Mike and Holly have created a little home away from home on the Cape. They offer friendly, personal service and a great beachside ambience. All for a great value. We would definitely recommend to friends and family for a quiet romantic getaway and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Do not let the outside fool you. Very nice, clean and airy rooms...all have queen beds with two (2) rooms having double queens..Bathrooms are clean and well stocked...nice breakfast for the added touch.

Holly and Michael welcome you as if you we're in their home..

No question we will return...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageursNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Modernised motel with friendly owners.

Very clean and tidy, though somewhat minimalistic with wooden floors.

Reasonable continental breakfast included.

Free wifi in room (a little weak).

Reasonably-priced stopoff. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.5 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
744 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
248 reviews
4.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Property: The Escape Inn
Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing