We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brentwood Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't beat the price”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel owner was very nice and friendly. Rooms were clean. Very basic, but I didn't expect much more... I personally don't spend much time in hotel rooms, I just like a clean bed and courteous staff. Good location- easy to find and not far from the beach at all. No complaints whatsoever.... would absolutely recommend.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a parking spot directly in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdillon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
26
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My daughter and I needed a place to stay for our last night in Cape Cod in July and since it was just one night, I was trying to save a little money by staying at the Brentwood Motor Inn. (Althought it seems I paid $30 more than the previous reviewer did for his stay in July.) Okay, It probably isn't the worse place you could stay, but don't plan to spend more than one night here. After one night, I couldn't wait to get out of there. It's very old, run down, dark and dreary. The room wasn't too bad, but as my daughter said, "the bathroom was the scariest bathroom we'd ever seen." The towels looked to be about 20 years old, small, worn out, dingy. I felt like I needed to shower right after I stepped out of that shower. I have to agree with a previous reviewer, I have definitely put this on my "do not stay" list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

Bristol, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nothing like the pictures on the website. We had torn sheets on the bed, bugs in the room, holes in shades, dusty, worn carpets, dirty bathroom, no hair dryer or telephone. The website shows a beautiful pool but we never saw it. On the plus side, the owners were very pleasant but we were glad we were only there one night. This one you should put on your "do not stay" list.

Room Tip: Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The location was about the only good thing, and the fact that they are dog friendly. Just be sure you tell them when you book the room that you'll be bringing a dog.

The room itself was just plain nasty. I didn't expect much for $99 a night, in July on the Cape but other than no bed bugs there's not much positive to say. The furnishings and bathroom were worn, dirty and old. The room had a disgusting odor of stale alcohol that only seemed to get worse when you turned on the AC. The carpet was gross and I actually felt bad making my dog sleep on the floor.
The towels in the bathroom looked and felt like they came from the dollar store. I ended up using one of our beach towels to wash my face because their washcloth felt like it was going to take the skin off with the dirt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BethR03062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you are looking for a moderately-priced, budget-type accommodation on the mid-Cape, you could do worse. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in this updated 1950s-style roadside accommodation for the 4th of July. I think the wide range of ratings for this place is due to the expectations or needs of the guests. We wanted a place that wouldn't break the bank, was clean, had wi-fi, and 2 comfortable beds; our needs were met.

Others may say that the beds were too firm, that the towels were thin, there was just a regular TV, not plasma, and that the view looked out on the parking lot. Still others might point out the in-room refrigerator, the good-sized indoor pool, or the eager-to-please but sometimes too-busy front-desk clerk. If you are with kids, this place is fine; if you are looking for a romantic get-away, keep looking.

A couple more specifics: the in-wall AC unit worked great, the shower had plenty of force, the water was very hot, the place was quiet, and a family breakfast with the grandchildren at the Pancake Man across the street was filling. One thing that is desperately needed is a room-darkening drape over the Venetian blinds on the second window, unless one wants to be awakened by intense sunlight at 4:48. Also surprisingly missing was shampoo for the shower. Yikes! No shampoo?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pros:
Clean rooms, friendly staff, indoor pool, decent upkeep, wifi
Cons:
Uncomfortable bed, some of the town homes need renovating
Overall:
A solid three-stars. A great pick for a short stay, and if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrain, MA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I were not impressed with this hotel. When I checked in, the front desk clerk was on the telephone and walked out on me into another room for over 2 minutes. I was left standing there wondering if he would return, or if someone else was working there. He returned and gave me a registration card to fill in that he could've given me before he disappeared. The door casing on our room had a split in it at least 3 ft long where someone had previously broken into the room. The striker plate had been repaired, but not the casing. No additional bolting was added as a precaution. Updated recess lighting looked bad in the ceiling as there were gaps left. There was some sort of sensor was just hanging in from ceiling, and it wasn't the smoke detector. The wall paneling was held together with staples which were visible. The room has a small refrigerator and a good air-conditioner, but no microwave. It is a basic flop-house. There is no breakfast in the morning, but coffee is served at 7:30. I had to ask about this information as it was not voluntarily provided by the clerk. There is a large room with tables, etc., but this is apparently only for coffee. What a waste of space. And, as the title of the review stated... I have slept on softer dryers. In fact, my rack on board ship (sub) was twice as good, and that's saying something! Room was clean, and was pretty quiet. We'll look for another hotel on our next trip to the Cape, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwbadgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#16 of 21 in South Yarmouth
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dunes Motor Inn
The Dunes Motor Inn
#20 of 21 in South Yarmouth
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bass River Motel
Bass River Motel
#14 of 21 in South Yarmouth
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunters Green Motel
Hunters Green Motel
#11 of 20 in West Yarmouth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Motor Inn

Property: Brentwood Motor Inn
Address: 961 Main Street, Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brentwood Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brentwood Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Brentwood Hotel South Yarmouth
Brentwood Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing