We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Drinks!”

Skipper Chowder House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House is a seasonal restaurant open from mid April to mid October. We serve the finest seafood with the best view since 1936. Winner of the Newport, Boston and Cape Cod chowder festivals.
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great food, you must try the lobster roll! Great drinks at the bar too. The only downside is that there is no ac, and when I was there it was quite hot, but if you sit in the porch area, you don't even notice..Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmcp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    315
    110
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went twice during our vacation. Chowder was great, seafood scampi was amazing. Get their early though this is a popular place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived on a Monday night around 7:00. There was a 45 minute wait. We grabbed a pager and went across the street to the beach playground. When we headed back 30 minutes later we only waited a few more minutes.the kids ordered Mac and cheese which was ziti with a homemade cheese sauce. They were happy. The lobster chowder was great as were our scallops and clams. We would come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beach07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

loved the clam chowder, lobster roll was okay...the supreme lobster roll is huge, could only eat 1/2 of it & ate the remaining lobster salad on cracker the next day for lunch (chucked the nasty French roll)... the worse experience here was, we were told it would be a hour & half wait and they gave us a buzzer..she also told us we can put our name on the list upstairs for dining on the deck... we did this & when I asked they told us that which ever came available first (downstairs dining or upstairs we can take it) and that the deck dining had a hour and forty five min wait..e no problem, we understood since it was 7:30 on a Saturday night... we waited patiently for a hour and fifteen minutes with a buzzer in hand! Hubby noticed a couple tables that came in way after us were being seated, so I went up and asked the hostess...as she was flipping back to our page with our name on it, I noticed the whole page was crossed off, including our name!!! our buzzer never went off, let a long our name was never called to double check that our buzzer wasn't working! and all I got was a "ooops!"... by then it was a hour and forty five minutes we waited.. Knowing we could of been sat 45 minutes or so earlier, it was a little disturbing but we stayed focus on why were where there...for the chowder and seafood! which was excellent, we even went back the next night & got take out... we didn't want to be bothered with waiting with a buzzer!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amylinn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been going to the Skipper since 1970 and have seen it grow from the outdoor access bathroom and bar hangout to a truly outstanding restauant. I used to know the bartenders by name and you could sit at the small bar upstairs have a drink and a meal watching the beach.

Now the bar is a large horseshoe and the place is packed. They have inside and outside dining even in the cooler weather (plastic drop down windows and above heaters).

We have eaten there for lunch and dinner this July as well as several months prior and I know you will be impressed with the meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHampshirereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper Chowder House also viewed

West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Skipper Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing