We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the skipper”

Skipper Chowder House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House is a seasonal restaurant open from mid April to mid October. We serve the finest seafood with the best view since 1936. Winner of the Newport, Boston and Cape Cod chowder festivals.
commerce
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved the skipper”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great seafood restaurant in south yarmouth. Close to the red jacket resorts and the beach, this 2 floor find served up some of the best chowda I've ever had. Fresh seafood and great atmosphere, ate here both nights we stayed at the cape. Make sure you try the steamers, it's a local delicacy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank djschwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    350
    117
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best chowder”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The Skipper is a must on my Cape Cod restaurant list. Their chowder is consistently great. Love eating on the upstairs deck looking out to the ocean. Never had a bad meal here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent waitstaff”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were traveling with a large party on 4th of July week. We had to wait to get in, as expected, and the place was very busy. Once we got in (party of 12 with 6 kids under 6) we were greeted by our waitress who was absolutly awsome with the kids and service. The food was OK, was expecting better for the price, but i will chalk that up to the place being so busy. We had a wonderfill experiece.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fun local spot with good food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Loved being able to walk there. Upstairs deck and staff were great.
Very good fresh sea food. Nice bar area where you can wait for your table. Also ice cream shop attached.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank betsybooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Skippers is one of our favorites! It's across the street from the beach so it has a nice view, the food is delicious- especially the fish sandwich. It has a great options for kids and casual enough that you feel comfortable bringing them. There is an upper deck for out door dining or you can eat in the downstairs dining room which has air conditioning. They also have their own ice cream shop attached. We have gone every year and we are never disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KCW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper Chowder House also viewed

 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Skipper Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing