We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good staff but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
at78rpm
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice location and good staff but...”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I met up with my brother and his family, along with some additional friends, to spend New Year's Eve and a few days before and after. Check in was easy and friendly. The room was fairly small, but adequately arranged to make maximal use of the space. Our fireplace, an electric one, worked -- however, every now and then, for no apparent reason, the lights in one section of the room would go out. I learned that I could go down the hall and reset the circuit breakers for my room, which I had to do multiple times. Didn't make me feel too comfortable about the wiring.

It rained heavily the day we got there, and water coursed into the room from the front wall, which apparently had a leak. We dried it up with a few towels; the staff offered to give us another room, but the rain had in the meantime changed to snow, so we demurred.

The location is excellent: right on the beach. The pool is likewise excellent, and somewhat larger than we usually see. This would be a great place to stay in the summer. In the winter, a short walk through an unheated plexiglass tunnel, about 25 feet long, is a cold one from the pool to the exercise room.

There is no restaurant.

Hallways are quite narrow, reminding one of a sleeper car on Amtrak.

My biggest complaint is the bedding. Sheets were cheap, and the pillows were terribly uncomfortable: foam rubber, and quite stiff. Bring your own pillows.

There is no kitchenette as such, but there is a very small sink (exactly one foot long, five inches across, and ten inches deep.) There is a coffee maker, a microwave, and a mini-refrigerator. At the beach end of the first floor there's a family room, with an adjacent kitchen for cooking. It must be shared, so don't expect to have it always available.

The hotel is perpendicular to the beach, so no rooms have an ocean vista.

Overall it is a decent place to stay, minus the electrical and bedding issues.

Room Tip: Room 10, on the 1st floor, is farthest from the ocean; room 30 is closest, and actually has a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at78rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    94
    27
    7
    17
See reviews for
145
157
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here in November quite a few times,twice with the grandkids.
The rooms are clean and decorated in relaxing colors.I enjoy reading near the fireplace,and sitting on the deck listening to the ocean.The pool area is large and the water is warm.You can see the sunset from the pool also you can hear the waves breaking at high tide.If you walk to were they put the boats in the water and sit on the dock you can see seals .We also had a great time flying kites.Ocean Club is the perfect spot for a great getaway.I also enjoyed talking to the staff and the craft room.

Room Tip: I always travel to the cape off season so its usually quiet.But I always travel with earplugs. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooze14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We used to live on Cape Cod and Smugglers Beach was always one of our favorites. Staying at the newly renovated Ocean Club made our trip. The rooms are nicely decorated in a tasteful, elegant nautical theme with a nice kitchenette that had everything - even a blender! I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmasse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just spent the weekend at Oceans club and had an awesome stay. Anyone that is complaning about this place must be the type that just like to nag about everything (jelboy). This place has been completely renovated with new modern furtniture (granite counters in the kitchen and bathroon, tile fireplace, new floors, 2 Plasma TVs, and the bed is super comfortable). It is located right on the beach, and minutes away to downtown Hyannis and Yarmouth. I would recommend requesting the 2nd floor because we could hear the people walking around above us. But overall a great stay and I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The reviews I read were right on, great location, staff was nice, but don't plan on sleeping in! You hear everything above you and on the sides! The room was very clean, the patio is useless and there are those fees. The one beach towel per day rule is just crazy. Beach access is great, activities room is a bit depressing.

Room Tip: Try a 2nd floor unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Thankfully only a one night stay at this hugely overpriced motel. Staff were unpleasant and unwelcoming and everything here seems to have a fee or rule attached. Lose a pool wrist band $2, lose a room key $5, extra towels for the room $1.50, more than one beach towel per day - no can do. Location is pretty but I would not recommend this place to anyone. Rooms were apparently renovated only last year but our room was dirty and musty feeling. Take a pass on this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location is perfect, the suite was extremely clean. Pool and hot tub were clean. We had a upper suite. We did not have a door out to a patio. We did had a large bay window, a larger kitchen/living room area and a little more room in the bedroom area. There is pocket doors that separate the bedroom and kitchen/living room area, great if you want a little privacy. Keep in mind that if the doors are shut there is no AC on that side of the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msgadget2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach

Property: Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Address: 329 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club On Smugglers` Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Club Smugglers Beach
Ocean Club On Smuggler Beach
Smugglers Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing