We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riviera Beach Resort(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windjammer(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Green Motel(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bass River Motel(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfcomber on the Ocean(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brentwood Motor Inn(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunes Motor Inn(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Knot Motel(South Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveler rating
260
103
28
7
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
103
28
7
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivity roomelectric fireplacebedroom areaoff seasontimeshare resorttime shareglass enclosedsliding pocketcape codwindy dayshot tubpull out couchrooms are beautifulsecond floorcomfy bedfitness roommini kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 415 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We totally agree with Melissa J. The place is very nice with a great location and the proximity to the beach is fabulous. BUT... the advertisement was very misleading..."Smell the salt air and feel the sweet breeze from your oceanfront deck." (No deck on our unit!) "Each air conditioned suite has a whirlpool/hot tub to soak in after a day of fun." (No whirlpool tub!) "The gas fireplaces add to the romance of your stay here." (There was a fireplace but we were not allowed to use it because of a town ordinance.)" We reserved a one bedroom suite that slept 4 (2 privately...supposedly!) We invited friends to come up during the week to stay a few days with us. They were aware that they would be sleeping on the pullout in the living room and were fine with that. When we arrived we found that the 1 bedroom was really just a studio. There was a sliding door that acted as a partition between the living room where the pullout was situated and the bedroom but the bathroom was between the exit door and the bedroom. This made it necessary for the people sleeping in the living room to open the sliding door to the bedroom and walk through the bedroom to use the bathroom! We ended up leaving earlier than we had intended so that they could come up and use the place for a few days like we had promised! I would go here again because of the location and the nice pool and hot tub on the beach, but I would request an upstairs room. Ours was unit 20 which could have had a nice view from a cozy window seat in the kitchen area, but it was blocked by the garbage cart and laundry bins which were strategically placed outside of our window each morning! We also were next to the stairway which was used to bump the aforementioned laundry carts down each day at around 9:00 AM! It was also very hot in the unit with no apparent way to turn the heat down.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room away from the staircase.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank catmeow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My fiancee and I were looking for a quiet, romantic New Year's Eve getaway. The 3 things we were really looking for were ocean view, fireplace, and hopefully a hot tub in the room. We thought we found everything we wanted with the Ocean Club on Smuggler's Beach, and looked forward to our trip for several weeks. When we arrived, we were greeted by a sign on the door informing guests that the in-room gas fireplaces could not be used due to a town ordinance. We were disappointed, but understood it was out of the hotel's control. Upon speaking with the woman at check-in however (assistant manager) that ordinace had been in effect for several months. We wondered why the website continued to advertise the fireplaces, but brushed it off. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Big comfy bed, balcony (tiny) with a slight view of the ocean over the parking lot, nice countertops, nice TVs, hardwood floors, separate sitting area. The jetted hot tub advertised on the site was nowhere to be found however. My fiancee called the front desk to politely express our disappointment and complain with the hope that we would at least get upgraded to a room with a better ocean view. He was told (unapologetically) that the tubs were removed when the rooms were renovated several months ago and that "there was nothing they could do" for us. We were really frustrated that the website continued to advertise WORKING fireplaces and jetted tubs when we booked, even though both of these things had been long gone. If not for the false advertising, we'd definitely stay there again as the hotel is right on the beach. Upon informally speaking with one of the employees at the hotel however, apparently there are far better places in the area that DON'T mislead their customers!

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room. The parking lot and the 1st floor are at the same level, so cars get in the way of the ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have been going to Ocean Club for many years and we book the suite year to year. When we arrived New Years Eve for our anniversary the girl at the front desk informed us that the fireplace is not working because of town policies. Then when we open the door to the suite we noticed they completely changed the room and took out the jacuzzi. I had tears in my eyes. We look forward to coming to the Ocean club to relax in the jacuzzi and fireplace and now they don't have either. We will not be coming back here next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianem3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I would recommend smugglers cove to anyone that want a gorgeous place on the beach, clean and modern, my wife and I went for a couple days and loved it! We will be cingular back with the rest of our family next year <3

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neilrmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice clean room with a beautiful ocean view!! Room was very nice and clean, Right on the Ocean with a wonderful beach. enclosed pool and hot tub makes it a wonderful place even in the cold weather!! Very pleasant staff.

Only down size is the pillows.

Over all two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golfking77Rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews