We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pros and cons of Ocean Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The pros and cons of Ocean Club”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Currently staying in one of the remodeled rooms. They have done a nice job with the remodel - nice cabinetry and fixtures, granite counters, nice furniture & linens, fireplace (that isn't working yet) and flat screens. The down side - a tiny mini fridge that wobbles, no cooktop at all, and no cooking utensils or bowls - not even a spatula to take the burgers off the outdoor grill! I really wish I had a blender - don't understand why they have all these cabinets and haven't put anything but dishes and silverware in them. There is a nice microwave but I would add a hotplate and a blender at least. The other real negative for me is the hot water situation. If you like a hot shower, plan to take it in the middle of the afternoon or start very early in the morning before everyone else uses all the hot water. But, if you choose to get up early and try to use the gym or activity room - it's hit or miss - the staff seems to come in whenever they choose and everything is locked until they arrive. Once here, they are pretty friendly. The view is lovely and the weather spectacular - but I don't know if I would trade into here again. If you are happy with eating most of your meals in restaurants this may be a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturecoasting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    94
    27
    7
    17
See reviews for
146
157
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have been coming to this timeshare since 1988 and love it, the remodel is great with some kinks to be worked out,but a staff that is on top of any request. This vacation is a family tradition that we all look forward to and cherish.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tcmzcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We come every year, usually the week covering 4th of July. The Ocean Club never disappoints. This year every room is new! It was more than a refurbishment---they did a major renovation complete with redoing infrastructure, installing a new sprinkler system, new cabinetry, granite countertops, new dressers with tons of space, etc. The showers are gorgeous with high end double chrome shower heads. The bathroom mirror is HUGE as are other room mirrors. They could have picked higher quality mattresses on the new beds but I am picky about mattresses and no one else seemed to mind. The location is directly on calm, family friendly Nantucket Sound in S. Yarmouth. The water is warm and clear! This is a Timeshare Resort where guests take real pride in the resort and treat it like home rather than a hotel so conditions tend to be clean, safe and comfortable. The management and staff really love this place and guests enjoy some organized activities like hot dogs for lunch, ice cream at night, kid ganes, etc. Each unit has a fridge, kitchen sink, micorwave, basic kitchen dishes and utensils and some have stovetops. I have stayed in several of the neighboring hotels which are more expensive to rent but share the same wonderful beach. The only real advantage of the neighboring hotels is having a bar and restaurant but that didn't stop anyone from sharing a nice bottle of wine or some homemade drinks on the Ocean Club deck. GREAT place close to excellent Cape attractions! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Reserve summer stays early. 1st floor rooms have an enclosed backyard patio but are slightly noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lippylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Rooms are very nice and complete. Recently totally renovated with quality materials and design. All rooms have nice view on sea.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yozyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I have been coming here for as long as I can remember! My grandparents have a timeshare here and every year I come during the summer for a weekend of relaxation. I love the location! Crystal clear ocean, beautiful pool and hot tub! The service is excellent! Very polite! There are so many activities! The ice cream social is my favorite because not only do you get ice cream for a reasonable price, but you also get to meet and talk to the other guest! There are also many nice restaurants around! Clancy's in Dennisport, MA, Captain Parker's in West Yarmouth, MA, and Cooke's in Hyannis, MA are three really good restaurants. My grandparents and I go to all three places every time we go to the cape! They all have great portions with good prices and the food is delicious! After eating, my grandfather and I love to ride the go-kart at Cartwheels on the Cape Cod in South Dennis, MA and bumper cars. There are also many wonderful stores and shopping centers. My grandparents and I love to go to the cape cod mall and go to Barns and Nobles. Not just for the Starbuck's coffee, but because there is two floors of books! The cape is one of my favorite places to go, and The Ocean Club at Smuggler's Beach makes every trip spectacular!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleighv921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

The resort is clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms are the most uncomfortable rooms I have ever been in. It needs refurbishing badly!! There is a patio for each room off the hall way for each room. There are two chairs out there. It is so ugly and needs landscaping badly! The hall way is lower than the floor going into the room. It is so high you could trip in or out easily.I would never stay there again. Stay away!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We just got back from a week-long stay at Ocean Club at Smuggler's Beach. We used a timeshare exchange and overall were very happy with our stay. Upon check-in we were told that our room was "the one" that's renovated... apparently it's been used as a model to show owners/potential buyers what the renovated rooms will look like. (Rooms are to be renovated by summer 2011, I understand).
The room had a very comfy king bed, two dressers which provided us plenty of drawer space, a wall mounted flat screen TV with DVD player (although no remote for the DVD player so you had to control it by the buttons on the side of the TV), and a tiny refrigerator built into one of the dresser. There was a decent sized closet in the bedroom also, and the one bathroom opened off the bedroom.

The bathroom was standard but had a huge mirror and plenty of options for fans, lighting, etc. Also had a good amount of storage for toiletries. Marble around the top of the bath enclosure gave the room a very elegant feel as did the sink fixtures. Easy-close toilet seat and what I believe is a low-flow toilet added to the luxury. Towels were exchanged on Tuesday and you can get more if you need them during the week, but for a fee. We had plenty (myself and my two kids and husband one night).

The bedroom was separated from the living room by two sliding pocket doors. The living room had a fold-out couch, large wall-mounted flat screen TV (no DVD player here), a bar sink, cupboards with plates, glasses, etc. for four, a few kitchen utensils, coffe maker, microwave and there was a beautiful marble gas fireplace. Also in a nook area was a glass table that seated four. In the living room there was a door that opened out to a tiny deck. One person could sit out there if you wanted.

The activites at the Ocean Club were plentiful and good. Kids could make various crafts throughout the week and every morning they had free coffee or tea and an assortment of muffins, etc. for $1 to $2. At noon they offered hotdog lunches (dog, chips and drink) for $3 and in the evening they had an "ice cream social" which was a make-your-own sundae for $3. It was nice to not have to go out for evey meal/ice cream. There are activities such as karaoke night and patio party. We did karaoke twice and it was a very popular and fun event! A great way to meet other guests.

We did eat breakfast in our unit and there is a communal kitchen off the activites room where you can cook, and there are two huge refrigerators where you can keep your groceries.

The pool is on the small side but that didn't bother my kids. There are two hour-long adult swims per day. Children in diapers are NOT allowed in the pool. The pool is right on the beach so I was able to keep an eye on my kids in the pool enclosure and at least look out at the ocean! We did make use of Ocean Club's "private" beach... nice clean sand but most of the time it was very windy so not great beach weather.

The only complaint I had about the "renovated" room is this: there are no room darkening blinds on the windows, so if you are bothered by the early morning light, as I am, you have to sleep in the bedroom with the sliding doors closed. While this keeps out the light, it also keeps out the air conditioning (external wall unit), so you are hot during the night. The wall unit is also pretty loud. The sound insulating between ours and our upstairs neighbor's untis was pretty much non-existent... we could hear footsteps, voices (through the fireplace!) and their shower/sink etc running. Not a very quiet place and I didn't sleep well the whole trip.

Wi-Fi was free but a pain becuase you had to enter a code and user ID every time you signed in. Good exercise room. While we were there a new treadmill was installed; now there are three.
But, besides that, this was a great resort. I would definitely stay there again. The staff was really nice and caring.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennkenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach

Property: Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Address: 329 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club On Smugglers` Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Club Smugglers Beach
Ocean Club On Smuggler Beach
Smugglers Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing