We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Place”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for the second year in a row. We love this place. Nothing fancy but it's clean, the staff is very friendly and the view is incredible. The beach is literally right there at your doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EXLUNCHLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
whitby, on
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the family owned Surfcomber in August. Not one negative from the cleaniliness, the outstanding front office and cleaning staff to the spectacular grounds. This place with its gardens, had the look and feel of what you imagine cape cod should be.

Resort: The biggesst positive is the location. Away from the hustle and buslte and traffic in the towns, yet close to many restauarnts/shopping. So much to see in the area too, and a short drive from everything. The pool was a great size and received the sun all day. Oustanding staff, everyone was friendly and welcoming. The super comfy lawn chairs and sitting areas on the grass with little tables, to the best beach which was perfect for children and the elderly with a smooth shallow bottom. If you visit their website, the blue comfy chairs are great for an afternoon nap. We played shuffleboard for hours right by the beach. When looking at some beaches at other places, this was certainly the best. We walked along the Shore Drive along the beach, great for biking too with no traffic and lots of walks through adjoing neighbourhoods with beautiful gardens.. Sunrise spectacular.

Rooms: Lovely quiet 2 storey hotel with very spacious rooms. Rooms are very clean and well thought out. Best part of the rooms is they are so close to the ocean you can feel and see it no matter where you are. Grocery stores are close and with the rooms being efficiencies made most of our meals. Nice to have a fridge in your room for beverages.

Golf: We played 2 golf courses which were 1/2 hour away. Cranberry and the Captains - Port which were in excellent condition, and the pace was too, played at 9:00 and back to hotel by 1:30 to relax. They were in the opposite direction from Hyannis so an easy not busy drive.

Sites: We visited, a short drive away, the national seashore park and lighthouse, unbelievable beach and views at the Salt Pond Visitor Centre. The Bass Hole boardwalk is worth the short trip.

Can't wait to go back and will definately be dreaming about this place until next year. The perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Any room is just perfect depending on the size you need. The on ocean suites are really right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smudgelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Walter Sheehan
We found the Surfcomber on the ocean, 107 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA about 4 years ago and have never once regreted our choice to enjoy one of the most relaxing and quiet vacations we have ever had - we very highly recommend this property if you want a terrific view of the ocean and more peace and quiet then you have ever had before and everything is within walking distance. We enjoy this quite area in June and September.
thanks

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the ocean there is no restaurant on property but there are restaurants from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wallypatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This motel was great! Unfortunately we really only slept there, as we were in the Cape for a wedding. But the front desk staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean! It wasn't overly luxurious but we had everything we needed. If we headed back out there, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigrrrl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stayed here several times now and I Love it. The rooms are nice and clean. The staff is awesome and friendly. I love being right on the beach. I used to stay somewhere else that was not beach front...I'm so glad I found Surfcomber. I love their spring and fall specials too! I love taking pictures at sunrise so it's nice to walk out my door and already be at the beach. I can't wait until I can book my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShineRM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a terrific motel!! The ocean view from our second floor room was magnificent .,The pool is lovely, and the grounds are beautifully kept. We met several people working at the motel and they were all so friendly and helpful. There is a wonderful restaurant walking distance from the motel and the Bass River Golf Course is 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph Cobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here Sept 23-25. 2012 and we loved it!! Our room was bigger than expected, with a kitchen, dining area, and nice big bathroom with the added luxury of nice thick bath towels and topped off with a great shower head too!! The place is not fancy by any means but it is clean, tidy and you can't beat the location, right on the beach and close to everything in town!!! I loved the lounge chairs they have there and it's topped off with a picture perfect view of the ocean and you're right on the beach too. I will definitely come back and stay here again. Thanks to the staff for making our stay very memorable. We had fun!!

Room Tip: This is a two story facility with NO elevators. So if you have trouble climbing stairs, request a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlelobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Property: Surfcomber on the Ocean
Address: 107 S Shore Dr, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfcomber on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing