We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Interior Needs Overhaul” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Knot Motel

Pine Knot Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Knot Motel
Save
You added Pine Knot Motel to your Saves list
890 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interior Needs Overhaul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent one night at the Pine Knot as we extended our stay on the Cape and the motel we had been staying was sold out for the weekend. The beautiful flowers and landscaping drew us to the Pine Knot. Unfortunately, the interior did not compare to the exterior. Mildew smell permeated the interior of the room despite all windows being open upon our arrival. Outdated curtains, bedding and artificial flowers add to the throwback feel. The bathroom was clean but I couldn't get past the smell of this place. Very dark.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsha5620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Plenty of Flowers outside to brighten up the place. Room were very clean. $29 pp.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compaq38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack Valley MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We needed a place to stay for one night and this fit into our budget and the location was convenient. Very pleasant owner, clean room. Had a tv, refrigerator and air-conditioning. Sure the knotty pine was a throwback but that is the name of the place so we expected it. Paid $84 which was a good value for the room. Easy distance to a great spot - The Skipper - for lunch, dinner or cocktails.
Beautiful flowers - I always figure someone who pays attention to flowers will keep a clean room...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniorsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We chose this motel for a 3-night mid-cape mini vaca, after reading other positive reviews. The hotel is a throwback - pine-panelled walls, ancient furnishings and well-past-their-lifetime mattresses, flooring, and fixtures. When we arrived our room had all windows and doors standing open, evidently to help disperse the overwhelming mildew smell. Issues: bathmat covered with mold, mattress springs completely shot, spiderwebs in many corners, coverlets grungy. Although rooms with 2 doubles are advertised at $84, we were told they only hold 3 people, and since we had 2 kids, we HAD to take an odd unit with a miniscule room holding a double bed and a 2nd room with 2 twins for $124. Yes, the grounds are gorgeous - obviously the owner spends all her time on gardening - and the cleaning staff is pleasant and doing the best they can with what they've got. It became a family joke to rename the hotel from the Pine Knot to the Clean-Not, Sleep-Not, Comfortable-Not, UnSmelly-Not. We'll be back - NOT!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, NYS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My daughter and I went to the Cape on the spur of the moment for a weekend. I told her we would go if I could find a lower priced place to stay that looked clean. The Pine Knot was all we could have hoped for and more. After a day at the beach, coming back to our room was like a private oasis on Rt. 28. The grounds were gorgeous, room comfortable and immaculate, especially love a room with front and back windows. I slept every night with the window open next to me and enjoyed the fresh air.

Now I am anxious to bring my husband to the Cape and especially to the Pine Knot. We have been traveling to the Cape for over 25 years, have our favorites in each area. The Pine Knot might just be my top pick in the Cape!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I wanted to get away at the last minute and booked at the Pine Knot Motel. We had seen it many times on our prior trips to the Cape and loved the flowers and grounds. We were met by the owner who showed us to our room. The room was clean and very neat. This is a very old hotel but it has been kept up very well. There is a small fridge in the room and the bed was a tad hard for me but I still got a good night sleep. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia.Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I must admit....we were a little leary of Pine Knot Motel before we arrived. Sometimes older roadside motels can leave a lot to be desired. That's not the case for Pine Knot Motel. The location is excellent!! It's on a busy 2 lane road BUT it's very quiet. Our room had a kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and a living room/den area. The owner and her daughter would come by each morning and wipe off the outside sitting areas. The inside of the cottage was VERY clean. You will not find one speck of dirt or dust at this motel.
I would stay here again! I hope they keep this gem in the family for years to come. There is a great Irish restaurant close by for breakfast but don't wait too late to have dinner. We got back late one night and nothing in town was open.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stampinerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Parkers River Resort
Parkers River Resort
#12 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ambassador Inn and Suites
Ambassador Inn and Suites
#15 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Knot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knot Motel

Property: Pine Knot Motel
Address: 890 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Pine Knot Hotel South Yarmouth
Pine Knot Motel Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing