We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Surprize !”
Review of Bass River Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bass River Motel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Grabed a quick weekend on the Cape in early April [ 4/11 - 4/12/14 ] and basicly was looking for something inexpensive , but well equiped , and clean . Using this site , was VERY LUCKY to come upon this charming quaint Cape Motel . freshly painted outside , parking lot freshly marked for parking , OFFICE OPEN 24 HOURS , and the family who run it , most kind - helpfull - and at your service for anything you could think of .
Choose a double Queen room , non- smoking , included clock/ radio /alarm - microwave - double the size frig you see in most rooms [ and already on for you / no need to wait to fill it ] ,
very large TV with full cable , desk , chair , dresser drawers , full sererate closet with doors , end tables with lamps , and pole lamp , and very spacios bathroom [ tub/ shower ] and it was imaculately clean / both days there !!!
The room was paneled [ older style ] great heating system , NO DAMPNESS AT ALL , VERY VERY COMFORTABLE , The owners have put a great deal of profets , time , and care into keeping this wonderfull Motel , not only very appealing , but a true bargain !!!I don't know what the " in-season " prices are , but for around $50a night ..... you can"t find a better bargin / or more comfortable motel run by better people in the off season . I'm looking forwrd to going back [ Al Davis ]

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Bass River Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 111 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

very good location, right on route 28. very cheap price and very big room. The kitchen room had cooking utensils. And you can park your car right outside your room. The room were very clean. And i would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 875,079,978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The bass river motel suffices for a quick over night stay. The rooms are well sized. The room was as expected. Cheap and clean like everyone says. Tv was an old tube tv with average picture quality. Heat was good and internet was decent. No breakfast but that was expected for $44. Big enough parking lot with spaces right in front of your room. If you are on a budget and looking for just a clean basic motel this is your place. Not a 5 star at all but above the average I've experienced for the price range.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Pro: the price,staff,fridge,room size, location location,pretty clean
Con: rooms old, noisy fridge, dust on radiator,wood chips on bathroom door, no ice.

For the price it is a good deal. I wouldn't suggest it if your looking for all the bells and whistles but for the cheapest price on the cape it is a clean and nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MgC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Rm was big. Larger then we anticipated. Two full size beds and still enough room to walk around. One dresser to keep our stuff in. Dresser did not lock. Good Value. Cheap and affordable. Kids liked having WiFi. Laptop picked it up better then iPad but both were fast enough for use. They do a good job clearing snow in the morning. Downtown Hyannis was about a 3 mile drive which is not to far. Great place if you are seeking for a low price vacation rental. Quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice staff. Caring and courteous. Wifi was down for some weather problem but they moved me closer to the office and let me use the office network. It was back up the second night and worked without any trouble. Quiet and clean and bathroom was clean as well. Value is important to me as I vacation on a budget and I was glad I found the bass river. They saved me money and room was fine. Thumbs up

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigBernie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

...but they sometimes do. On the cape for a family funeral I figured we'd be in the room hardly at all. But the accusation of threadbare everything, non working electronics, food left in the fridge, just all added up. The kicker might have been the exactly two twisted wire hangers in the closet. This place isn't terrible, but we checked out after one night and upgraded.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.6 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#13 of 21 in South Yarmouth
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hunters Green Motel
Hunters Green Motel
#11 of 20 in West Yarmouth
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass River Motel

Address: 891 Main Street, Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $52 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bass River Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bass River Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass River Motel Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing