We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Bass River Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bass River Motel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is an slightly above average level hotel. It provides all the good things you would expect from an average hotel these days. Towels,Internet, clean room, good bed. There is no wow factor. It does not provide coffee, shampoo, toothpaste, or a breakfast. The rooms themselves are a little dated but not worn by any stretch of the word. Easy access to the highway and both ends of cape cod.

Rather clean but simple. Staff was pleasant. Talkative people but humble. If you need a dirt cheap price for just a clean likable place to stay then this motel is hard to beat. Don't expect the heated pool, spa, or gym. If you want those this is not the place for you. I just needed a nice place to sleep and relax as I toured the cape. If I was back in the area I would definitely stay again cause it fits my needs perfectly but may or may not fit yours.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmat144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had made a reservation for 1 night but stayed an additional 2. Once we arrived we saw a simple outside with nothing fancy. Just a well kept simple, boring for lack of a better term, exterior. We thought the place would be okay. We were proved way wrong. We opened the door to an amazingly spacious room. Super clean room, towels, bed. The king size bed was very nice. To top it off the hotel is located in the middle of cape cod and the staff was wonderful in making recommendations to province town and the island. We are between on and off season travelers to get the most bang for our buck and we were wowed by the bang we got for buck here. Overwhelmed by the simplicity and cleanliness of the inside that was not expected for the price. Room also had cable TV and WiFi but we did not use either. Like someone else said. The quality is a couple price ranges up then other comparable hotels but price is beyond fair. Would gladly suggest this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Just Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lived up to our expectation. It is amazing the services they provide for the low price of $38. For the price we did not expect anything other then a room with a bed but like the other reviews say it has a ton of amenities and compares to hotels that are twice it's cost in quality but is half the cost. Wifi, really soft beds, clean clean clean rooms, fridge, and location was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DwayneRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small hotel with 20 units. The rooms are all different styled/ equipped. We had a standard room booked but they upgraded us to the kitchen room for no extra charge.

Room consisted of the kitchen with appropriate utensils, a decent sized clean bathroom, a big fridge (waist height), drawers/ cabinets, mini dining table, a microwave, and two full size beds.

There was no breakfast or coffee available even in the office but they directed us to a couple of places like diners and dd's within a short distance. We didn't really expect it for the price.

Overall the property is old but surprisingly clean. Could use some minor upgrades to really wow but for the price it is more then you would expect. Would definitely stay here again. Two thumbs up for the services provided in return for the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBigFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I paid a ridiculous price for the first Saturday in September. It was summer weather and very affordable price at $48 plus tax One of the cleanest places I have ever stayed at. Yarmouth is very central cape located which was great. The owners were very kind and helpful too. Really wanted to make sure I was comfortable and happy. I got lost trying to find the place and called them and they gave great directions and checked me in very late at night. I slept great because the mattress was very plush and comfortable. Will totally go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is just a normal hotel and not a bed and breakfast. The don't even offer breakfast but there was a great breakfast place up the street. It is located right in the busy area of Yarmouth. Rooms are very cozy and clean. The price was very reasonable. If you plan to go to all the capes travel destinations and need a good priced hotel to stay then the bass river motel is hard to beat. None of the frills of a high end hotel but not the high end price either. It's simple like most of the places in the area but the inside is extremely clean with nice matresses which sets it apart. A very appealing and charming cape cod themed hotel that will satisfy you if you are looking for a great place to stay while enjoying cape cods beaches and monuments.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank -MikeKenji-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and the price was far less then any place in the area. The owners are very hospitable. They really care for their customers and take pride in their place. Very friendly and welcoming environment. The biggest thing for us was a clean room and the rooms were very very clean. Dated but still very nicely kept and I cannot stress how clean. A/C worked great. Centrally located and a big parking lot for our boat. It's a very cape cod oriented hotel but slightly more modern. Fridge was one of those newer size double door grudges and microwave was stainless steel. Bed was nicely padded. We enjoyed our stay a lot and would tell anyone to stay here for a very reasonable price in exchange for a great quality room. Ohh and WiFi worked really fast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjcool122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in South Yarmouth
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hunters Green Motel
Hunters Green Motel
#11 of 20 in West Yarmouth
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass River Motel

Address: 891 Main Street, Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: $56 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bass River Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bass River Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass River Motel Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing