We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horror Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
south yarmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horror Hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2007

The pool bathroom was gross. The "breakfast" was some coffee gone wrong. And they sold bagels, instead of offering free bagels. It was very dissapointing. i read a wonderful review on the ocean mist, and now i wonder was that person drunk? Something must of been wrong with them.

  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fordl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    110
    47
    35
    33
See reviews for
171
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Stayed at the OM late July for a weekend. It was OK. However, we had an ocean front unit, which we felt was extremely overpriced, close to $700 for 2 nights, and didn't even have a kitchenette, just a small fridge and microwave. It was huge and clean, that was good, and a great ocean/beach view. The management was extremely unfriendly, the continental breakfast they advertise consists of tea or coffee. That's it. They have muffins and bagels for sale. Now, that's CHEAP. For the rates they charge, it's unbelievable. The outdoor lights in our balcony were burned out and asked the maid to replace them but it was never done. Maybe these are some of the reasons that they are hardly ever fully booked.

  • Liked — the ocean/beach view
  • Disliked — the management and the so called continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2006

It was raining cats and dogs in Boston, but as we drove closer to the Cape, we found no downpours. The Ocean Mist is right on a family-friendly beach, on a quiet street, near but far enough away from the Rt. 28 traffic. We had a room w/a loft which suited our family of 4 perfectly. Nice and clean, the staff was friendly and courteous, and I plan to return. Our group had a total of 4 rooms, and none of them had both a micro and hot plate. We all had a fridge, so one of the other two appliances additionally would be great.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2006

Great location and the price is right even in the summer! We happened to have found available rooms in the slower season and got lucky that it was so warm in October! The Seaside festival in West Yarmouth gave us a lovely fireworks display - and on the beach in October it was as quiet as you could possibly need. beautiful...

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marielle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 5, 2006

if you have kids a little extra room is nice. This was an inexpensive place to stay where the rooms were very clean and the people were nice.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2005

We arrived at 1pm on Thursday my mother, my 7 year old son and I. We could not check in to our room although it was ready. My son needed to use the bathroom at the pool and I had to clean up an accident before he could use the toilet. The staff was on the computer and the nasty woman was watching game shows on the couch. Over the next two days whenever I went in the office she was watching TV and if the staff at the desk was busy she never asked if she could help. The day of check out we were all packed and ready to go but I told the desk my son was watching TV and we would leave as soon as housekeeping came. He wanted to see the end of the movie. Since housekeeping had not come to our room until 2 or 3 pm on the prior two days , I thought no big deal. The nasty women opened our door and said"well I'm going to charge you another whole day for this." I realize we were late, she was seated watching TV when I told the desk staff we were ready to go and were just watching TV. I did not want to use the bathrro at the pool since on Thursday I neede to clean poop off the toilet seat before my son could use it and on Friday that same bathroom was flooded with water since someone showered there and there was water and hair everywhere.
It is too bad because my extended family(35) people had celebrated my fathers birthday there in 2004 and my father died shortly thereafter. It is a gorgeous location and the rooms are comfortable. This same women gave my two sisters a hard time last year. There were also two couples who complained about this women and said they would never stay there again. Neither will I or my family!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank FourOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2005

I thought this hotel was great! The beach is very nice and the rooms are great. It's good for familys and a great place. We're going there again this month. I love that hotel!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
306 reviews
21.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Falmouth
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 97 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#7 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites in the heart of Cape Cod is located directly on Nantucket Sound with 300 feet of private sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views. Convenient to area restaurants, outlet shopping, specialty stores, historical sites, legendary antique shops, art galleries, and numerous outdoor activities such as golfing, deep sea fishing and biking, this oceanfront resort offers everything you will need for the perfect Cape Cod getaway vacation. The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel and Suites has reopened following a multi-million dollar renovation. All areas of the hotel will be completely renovated and updated to incorporate luxurious furnishings and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing