We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location, but not really clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great beach location, but not really clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here first week of August. Pulling up, location looked great. We had a loft suite but it was not ready at the check in time. Only had to wait 20 mins. So not too bad. First issue was garbage in bathroom was not emptied before we checked in. The outdoor pool right at the beach was nice but there were a lot of families, so didn't get to use it. If you want to get the lawn chairs for the beach, be there early. We were able to get 2 chairs at 9am, but by 10ish, all were in use. By end of our stay, we started to notice a few things. Light above kitchen did not work. TV was aggravating to work - TV would turn on but the cable would shut off and vice versa. Our last night there, we got back to our room late so no one was in the office to tell them that we had no toilet paper, and the holder came right off vanity. Also, be prepared to have a hold on your credit card for each night you are there. Waiting to see how long the hold will take to be released. I called the manager, but still waiting for a call back. Everyone seems to be complaining about the cleaning staff. Have to agree, we saw the same hair tie on the same stairs the whole stay. And one more thing, if you are on the 2nd floor, be prepared, there are no elevators. Need to carry luggage up.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    110
    47
    35
    33
See reviews for
171
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

After saving all year to visit the Cape, we booked our room at Ocean Mist which advertised itself as a luxurious hotel at $ 385.00 a night. What a nightmare this turned out to be. This is just a quick list of all the terrible things we experienced, and no manager on duty to correct anything: no air conditioning in suite room, no wifi, very few tv channels, wallpaper coming off wall, bugs, toilet back logged, soiled pillow case, housekeeping did not remove trash, bathroom not cleaned, rusty coat hangers, clock didn't work, phone didn't work, the door did not lock, pool was closed, pull out bed had old sheets on it when pulled out, rail in bathroom broke..... This hotel looks good from the outside and on the Internet, but once inside it is a nightmare. Worst of all there was no manager on duty to fix anything and the hotel is run by a bunch of middle eastern young men that come over for the summer, and do not speak English. Save your money and stay at one of the more reasonably priced places on the cape.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed six nights in July. We had the loft suit. I agree with another poster that the cleaning staff is either not experienced and/or understaffed. Check in time was 2 hrs late. The reason given was due to "inspection". Our room was not very clean. Rugs were visibly dirty, the air grates had "fur" on them, the curtains on the slider were broker, hole in screen door, and the pull out couch bed sheets were not cleaned (used kleenex and stickers in it). Through out the week our room was inconsistently cleaned. Some days we would come back in late afternoon and the beds were not made and trash not disposed of. However the location is great, my daughters loved the indoor / outdoor pools. Come prepared the kitchen is bare bones - no pots/pans, dish ware, utensils, toaster, etc. Check in desk person was going "take care of us" at check out due to the late first check in. We could not be more disappointed with the response. There was no note for our original issue, they took a few bucks off, but said the manager would call us. They never did. In fact I don't think the manager was ever on site the whole time we there. At least it didn't feel like it. Would we recommend to our friends/family? Where the location is beautiful we'd recommend to check future reviews to see if service and management has stepped up its game.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I would recommend staying here, but there are a few concerns to be aware of. The cleaning staff either is not experience or they are under staffed. Check in time was 1.5 hr late and other families in our group did not get their room cleaned until late afternoon on other days. My room was always cleaned appropriately. There were a few minor annoyances with the room- refridge door scraped on carpet, outlets not covered properly and our TV could not be watched from our beds. (Not all rooms are like this. ) We stayed in a loft suite which was great for our teenage son. Screen doors on balcony broken. The staff wrote down our concerns..but none were fixed while we where there. The staff was extremely polite and sweet..but seems like they did not have support.

The beach was always clean, nice to have lounge chairs available from the hotel and my boys loved the outdoor pool.

I would recommend staying here..but don't look for perfection. (Property was just acquired in May..think there are still working out the "kinks". )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just got back from staying here. My husband and I had a wonderful room. It was roomy, clean and quiet. Loved going out to the beach area and relaxing. Everything was clean and the staff was very efficient and accommodating. Will definitely come back. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in July. The rooms were simply not clean. I could go on and on about all the dirty aspects but one of the big issues were the black hairs and sand and dirt on our sheets when we turned down the beds! (Yuk!) We immediately went to the front desk who had no concern about it and said "the beds were freshly made up this morning". Other general problems with cleanliness: black liquid splashed and hardened all over outside of microwave, sand and shells on the floor in the corner of the room, dead earwig in freezer - well, you get the picture. So we cleaned up the room and put a "do not disturb" sign outside the door for the entire 2 night stay to prevent the cleaning crew from entering and touching and dirtying anything in our room. A bit ironic wouldn't you say? Really a shame because the beach was beautiful and all the guests were really nice, but for $345 a night (for a very small efficiency room) there are many other options along South Shore Drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just returned from a stay at Ocean Mist. The staff at the front desk tried very hard to make everything like we wanted it. I feel like their hands were tied. However, the cleaning staff did not perform well at all - tried to cut corners - knats were a problem in the room also. I tried four (4) times to speak to a manager but always to no avail. I very much wanted to speak to the manager to be able to write a fair review of the place but with no returned call, it became impossible. It is a very nice family centered area which was good. I believe with VISIBLE and hands-on management, Ocean Mist could turn itself around quickly. If i were the owners, i would definitely be looking for a new management staff to bring this resort up to where it should be. SHAME ON THE MANAGEMENT OF OCEAN MIST.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 97 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#7 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites in the heart of Cape Cod is located directly on Nantucket Sound with 300 feet of private sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views. Convenient to area restaurants, outlet shopping, specialty stores, historical sites, legendary antique shops, art galleries, and numerous outdoor activities such as golfing, deep sea fishing and biking, this oceanfront resort offers everything you will need for the perfect Cape Cod getaway vacation. The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel and Suites has reopened following a multi-million dollar renovation. All areas of the hotel will be completely renovated and updated to incorporate luxurious furnishings and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing