We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly - they allowed us to check in over 3 hours early (thought it was off season). Room was decent though did have a little smell to it. Outdoor pool was being remodeled & looks like it will be great next season. Overall, the price was very good, location great, could use some work but I'd recommend it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sha1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    110
    47
    35
    33
See reviews for
171
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claverack, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been coming to the Ocean Mist for 8 years and this year DID NOT disappoint us. The staff was extremely accommodating, any problems with the room, they took care of it immediately. The renovations are beautiful!! We have stayed in a loft suite, ocean view, rm 202 for the last 3 Septembers. We were able to use the indoor pool and enjoyed watching the work on the outside pool, hot tub and fire pit. The noise was not bothersome at all. The outdoor pool is scheduled to open end of September. Our room was cleaned daily and the staff made sure we had extra towels, coffee etc.. The beach was raked daily, lounge chairs available for use. Planning on returning Sept. 2013, wifi will be in the rooms next season. The location is perfect. We have stayed at other nearby hotels on Shore Dr. but none compare to the WONDERFUL Ocean Mist!!

Room Tip: We like staying on the indoor pool side, morning sun, great sunrise pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Took a group of 45 to Cape Cod for the week. Our stay at Ocean Mist received high marks from the group. The rooms have all been recently renovated, as a part of transition from condos back to hotel. Outdoor pool was being built, but indoor is available. The beach was clean and easily accessible. The area is very quiet and everyone had a great time. We had very few issues, and for this group, that was a miracle. The mattresses in the rooms are a dream and we all wanted to bring ours home with us.

No food facilities on premises and none really close by would be the only location drawback.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a loft with a second tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadleyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked a room last minute. Was pleasantly surprised. The property is located on the shoreline with a nice beach in front and beautiful ocean views. Lots of parking and overall the grounds were well maintained. Rooms were clean, comfortable, modern and spacious. Price was affordable. Convenient access to Rt 28. Worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent 4 nights at Ocean Mist. Great Weather. Room was very nice, garden level. Big screen tv, nice bathroom, clean. Beach was very clean and nice. Had a good stay did not spend too much time in room. Thought it was worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachLover29517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

First of all, the hotel is directly on the beach and the rooms are spacious and comfortable, but we had to put up with terrible mis-management of this otherwise incredible property. When I made the reservation, I confirmed there was an indoor pool. After all a kids' vacation can be ruined with rainy days. I also asked for and paid for a courtyard room. Check-in time was listed as 3:00. We arrived at 2:40 and were told it would be 20 minutes until our room was ready but we could change in their changing room and go to the beach to wait. Also, both the I door and outdoor pool were being renovated and were closed. We went to the changing room, but it was filthy and smelly and decided against making use of it. We walked in the lovely beach and 40 minutes later went to check on the room...not ready, just a little longer they said, well, it was after 5:00 when we got our room and it overlooked the parking lot. We explained that we had paid for a courtyard room, but they insisted that what any reasonable person would call a courtyard room was, in their eyes, a partial ocean view. Other than the view the room was spacious and nice. However mis-management continued and the next 2 days the room wasn't made-up until after 6:00 PM! I complained and then it was typically done in the late morning. But the worst of all was the day there was a notice on the door saying there would be no hot water from 9:00 until 5:00 on that same day as they were working on the system! Good thing my kids and I got up early, but it did change our plans drastically with no notice. After all who wants to be sandy all day when you leave the beach. Lastly, had one rainy day and were told we could use their hotel inHyannis, got to that hotel and the folks there looked totally surprised by our request but told us we could and directed us to the indoor pool, but guess what, no place to get changed to use it! Had to change in a bathroom that was a courtyard and three long corridors away. Could be a great hotel if only someone were actively managing guest relations and who plans a major renovation to a cape hotel in August, the very height of tourist season and if you do, wouldn't you let people know in advance or discount the rooms a bit because of the terrible inconvenience?

Room Tip: Courtyard view = parking lot Partial Ocean view = courtyard Ocean view could be either a full ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyKatieMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had fairly high expectation and booked an ocean view room for 4 days vacations.
Upon arrival we walked into the dark room looking onto the active contraction site. I asked about the view at the front desk and was told that “ocean view” means that I should be able to walk out of the room and see the ocean at some point. Also, I was told that they mentioned about on-site construction on the front page of their website. This is completely untrue and can be easily checked.
I had to leave immediately. Had an excellent time at the Colony Beach motel in Dennisport. Highly recommend this place.
But the trouble is not over yet. Just found that Ocean Mist charged my card for the 4 days I have not stayed there. Now I have to report fraudulent charges to credit card and deal with it.
Save yourself a trouble before considering the booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 97 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#7 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites in the heart of Cape Cod is located directly on Nantucket Sound with 300 feet of private sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views. Convenient to area restaurants, outlet shopping, specialty stores, historical sites, legendary antique shops, art galleries, and numerous outdoor activities such as golfing, deep sea fishing and biking, this oceanfront resort offers everything you will need for the perfect Cape Cod getaway vacation. The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel and Suites has reopened following a multi-million dollar renovation. All areas of the hotel will be completely renovated and updated to incorporate luxurious furnishings and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing