We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“it was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were excited to get away for a family vacation. Location is awesome as the hotel is right on the beach. Rooms are renovated but the carpets were dirty. We were there for a few days and our room was NEVER cleaned. we had to get towels from housekeeping when we saw them cleaning other rooms. they claimed we told them to come back later when we didn't even see them as we left the room early each day and came back somethimes at 10 pm. The older ladies in housekeeping are very nice but then they have the younger kids "attempting" to do housekeeping and they skip rooms... very frustrating. especially when you run out of clean towels and your room is full of sand. Not staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    109
    47
    35
    33
See reviews for
169
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I picked this hotel for a short stay off of Orbitz, which is always risky when you've never seen the place, but this one worked out. The room was big and clean with a large TV and a kitchenette/microwave. The bathroom was as big as some hotel rooms I've stayed in. The check in process was fast and friendly. The neighborhood is clean and quiet, and the beach is excellent and beautiful to walk along. Great place to watch 4th of July fireworks all up and down the shore. The only negative was the indoor pool was under construction/closed. I paid for the stay with credit card points, so I'm not sure what the real price was. The advertised price of $215 including tax was probably higher than I would have paid if I didn't have the rewards points.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms really have a view of the beach, but the furthest room is only a 2 minute walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ObservantGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The suites are great for families and having a fridge and microwave helps too. Nice quiet, family friendly place with a great beach. They are building a seaside pool and hot tub that will be great. The skylight in our room had a retractable cover so the room was completely dark when the sun came up.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Texasginkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Ocean Mist for 5 nights in July and we just love this hotel!! The beds are heavenly! Immaculate room! The AC does smell musty and we would like to see a dresser and mirror. The beautiful private beach at your doorstep! The staff was so attentive and friendly! I cannot wait for next year! I will book early and often! I hope the new outdoor pool is finished soon and indoor pool!!

Room Tip: We loved room 101! We brought a toaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbiek1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Stay at the Hampton Inn close by and drive to the beach. There were green flying bugs in our room both nights. The bathroom is small but ok. The pullout bed was awful. There was a skylight that was uncovered that made it impossible to sleep in the morning. Was like trying to sleep with the lights on. The ocean view was across the parking lot. There are to many other nice places to stay to waste your time here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

Rutland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Ocean Mist. We were able to check in a bit early, the employee at the desk was courteous, friendly, and very very helpful! The pools were not open yet but we knew that. Rooms were immaculate. Refrigerator, stovetop, microwave. Granite bathroom, spacious. You Cannot beat the location! Will be back longer next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Planning a very last minute trip to the cape left us with very few lodging options. With the Ocean Mist Hotel being one of them, we were torn between some of the reviews of the place. We booked a separate 'cheaper' beach cottage and added on 2 last nights at OMH.

Well well well.. We had a brand new loft room which felt as though we were the first people to stay in. The room was beautiful and the property is in an amazing location right on the beach. (Because the pool is not finished, we were able to use the facilities at Hyannis Harbor Hotel, about 4 miles away, and loved it). We didnt spend a lot of time at the this hotel besides other than a few hours on the beach and wound up doing a little kayaking nearby, biking in Nickerson Park, and a day trip in Provincetown. It also does not have a fitness center, spa or restaurant so, if relaxing is your thing than by all means do not pass this place up.

As in other reviews, there is an economy type kitchen with a small fridge with freezer, microwave and coffeemaker which was fine for us to store drinks and eat breakfast as we had dinner out every night. There are tons of restaurants, touristy stores, mini golf, kayaking and lots of ice cream parlors nearby. We did not encounter any 'construction noise' or get any 'funky smell' from the beach area. Again, pleasantly surprised :)

We will be back in the future..

Thanks to the pleasant front desk staff too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 97 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#7 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites in the heart of Cape Cod is located directly on Nantucket Sound with 300 feet of private sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views. Convenient to area restaurants, outlet shopping, specialty stores, historical sites, legendary antique shops, art galleries, and numerous outdoor activities such as golfing, deep sea fishing and biking, this oceanfront resort offers everything you will need for the perfect Cape Cod getaway vacation. The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel and Suites has reopened following a multi-million dollar renovation. All areas of the hotel will be completely renovated and updated to incorporate luxurious furnishings and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing