We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit lower level. Several dead flies in the windowsills. Toilet seat was dirty. Stairways to the unit have dirt sweep into corners. Dust in the corners of carpeting. Dust heavy on the blinds and walls and ceilings have dust. No dead bolt. If you don't mind dirt, the location in the Berkshires is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ctretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    181
    118
    57
    71
See reviews for
244
146
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Oak n Spruce is billed an amenity-filled resort in an area with lots of family-friendly attractions nearby. Ergo, a great place to bring your kids. The unit was decent - until we noticed that by the 2nd day our kids were starting to develop lots of bug bites, and by the 3rd day there were clusters of bug bites all over their bodies. This was followed by vomiting, high fever (103.8 in a 4-year-old), and a trip to the emergency room, where the ER doctor told me it was likely not bedbugs but fleas that had caused the bites (in a resort that allows dogs). The doctor also said he had treated visitors to Oak n Spruce before for the same issue - but resort has completely denied there is a problem. We were allowed to switch rooms and grudgingly given $20 in quarters to wash all of our laundry ourselves in the coin-op laundromat, so as not to transfer bugs to our new unit. That was fun, especially with vomiting children to handle. Post-vacation, I sent the resort a letter with photos of the kids' bites and was told they would open an insurance claim, which led to the insurance company denying the claim on the grounds that no bugs were found in the unit. I don't buy that- the housekeeping manager told us that fleas have been a problem, and when we left the resort we saw a pest control van visiting several units. I have never experienced insect issues with a hotel and was disgusted- not to mention surprised at the lack of customer care demonstrated by the resort and parent company. Those of you who have young children know how hard it is to pack up the whole family for a week's vacation, and how much the family looks forward to those rare events. It's too bad that ours ended so badly. I truly hope others don't experience the same trouble we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank snuggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lee hotels

hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom unit for a week. We don't own a timeshare but can often find good deals online. This one was under $400 for the week, great price for a 2 bedroom with full kitchen. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom, the master had a jacuzzi tub and a king bed. The top floor (no elevators) was quiet and there was a view of the brook from our 3rd floor balcony.

Staff were friendly and quick to respond to inquiries and send someone out to help when needed. They also called back to make sure the issues I had were solved.

The units are older but they're clean. There are the inevitable signs of wear and tear like broken blinds and scratched laminate kitchen counters, nothing too bad really. The 3 TV's in the unit are old school and need replacing, but they work. ** word of warning. don't take the batteries out of the TV remotes or they'll need resetting ** WiFi is only available in the main building. Laundry is not in each unit, but a laundromat located near the pools.

There's lots for kids to do too, mini putt, pools, an arcade, a small theater, and more.. even a walk along the brook that runs out back.

I didn't post pictures because the ones posted here really did look exactly like the apt we had. Especially the following pics
**second bedroom (sister1221, Jul 2008)
** and those posted by Andyac, Sep 2006
Master Bedroom, Kitchen and Living Area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hobotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We used a free timeshare week and traded into the Oak N' Spruce because it is near to our home and while we wanted to get away, the possibility that we might have to come home quickly existed. We were delayed in getting there, but I called ahead and they okay-ed our late check-in. When we got there (after 11 pm) we got the keys to our assigned unit and checked it out. It was smelly (maybe mold?), and not clean - the rugs needed vacuuming, there was dirt on the floors - the rugs were very run down so that you could see the traffic pattern in them. I went back to the desk and requested another unit in a different building. The desk clerk complied very quickly and with a smile. The second unit was definitely cleaner and it didn't smell, but some dirt was present. It was late and we were tired so we stayed in that unit. All-in-all, it was run down and in need of serious updating but okay. The master bedroom had a jacuzzi tub on the edge of the room that had a hand held shower head that wasn't able to be mounted as a stationary shower. The toilet was enclosed in a very small closet and there was barely room to sit and wipe. The other bedroom had a queen size bed and a regular shower/bathroom. It also had a frig and a microwave as it was a lock-off unit. The kitchen in the main unit was okay, although there was alot of yucky debris under the kitchen sink. The fan in the livingroom was turned on by a pull string and it was hard to pull - the whole fan moved when pulling the string. The television in the unit was old, but it functioned. It had a dvd player but it had been screwed shut.

The resort had some nice family amenities - pool, shuffleboard, arcade, miniature golf and we enjoyed those. It was in a nice area with some attractions nearby. However, out of all the resorts we've visited with our timeshare exchange, this was the most run down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kjgardeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We traded our timeshare week for the Oak n' Spruce. We had 2 bedrooms, each with its own bath. Everything was clean and in good order. It wasn't in the coveted Presedential Suites, but that was ok with us. Isn't that across the street, and away from all of the amenities? It's a beautiful area, with lots to do. We did a lot of hiking, including along the creek on the property. It would be nice to have wifi in the units. And there should be a dvd/cd player.

It was a bit annoying at check-in, tho. We tried checking in before the 5:00 check-in time, which is pretty late. But our unit wasn't ready. So we went back a bit before 5:00. and there was a long line out the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnercindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the second year that I have exchanged through RCI into Oak 'n Spruce and in retrospect I should not have pushed my luck. This is an old, run-down resort except for the new units grandly referred to the Presidential Suites. If you can't get into one of these units, stay home. Silverleaf must be milking the income to use for other purposes because upgrading or unit maintainance isn't being done.

Oak and Spruce has only one thing going for it - location - in mid-Berkshire County which puts the traveler in reasonable driving distance of Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow, the Clark and the many theaters around Stockbridge, Lenox and Pittsfield.

Last year, I was put into a townhouse. It was comfortable while at the same time old, shabby, and worn-out. After a few days with its inadequate lighting, I thought I was losing my eyesight at night. Reading was impossible. But the layout was good: the top floor consisted of a large bedroom and large, almost huge, bathroom. Of course the toilet seat required caution when being used and the vanity should have been chopped and used for firewood. The downstairs consisted of an eat-in kitchen with a table seating for six and a small living room.

This year, my luck ran out and I ended up in a small one-bedroom apartment. Ghastly would be a good adjective to describe it as would ugly, uncomfortable, dirty and disgusting. Like holes in the carpets, a small balcony woefully in need of paint, miserable lighting, no comfortable chairs and a sofa that was probably used in the Spanish Inquisition. And once again, a toilet seat that was a threat to one's health.

But the worst part of the experience was that at 8 a.m., when I had a medical emergency, there was no one at the front desk. Picture it: a resort with at least 250 people and no one to pick up the phone? It was only when security, monitoring local police and ambulance radio, overheard that an ambulance was being dispatched to the resort checked in with me.

Check-in is another nightmare. Consider that it will take approximately one hour to reach the front desk where the staff seems highly trained in ignoring a guest's wishes or request.

So my best advice is to avoid this resort at any costs. Stay away. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank FendelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here in August, 2012 in the Presidential Suites. It was a great place, I would definitely welcome coming back. Amenities were great, and everything was very nice. The clubhouse could use some updates, but where we were didn't really require going there too much. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsf108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lee
20.2 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
2.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
3.4 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 9 in Lee
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
9.0 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#3 of 13 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort
Address: 190 Meadow Street, South Lee, MA 01260 (Formerly Orange Lake Resorts Oak n' Spruce Resort)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature's Theater of the Berkshires! Nestled in the wooded hills of the Berkshire Mountains in western Massachusetts, the outdoors-oriented resort offers year-round fun. Families especially enjoy year-round swim options at the indoor and outdoor pools, plus sharing a game or two at our 18-hole mini golf course. The Activity Center features an arcade, sports equipment and more, plus our mini movie theater shows family-friendly movies daily at no charge. Adults love our fitness center, Tiki bar and Beartree Bar. Miles of beautiful forest paths run along the nearby Appalachian Trail and tranquil Tanglewood, the summer outdoor performing home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, which help make the region a popular New England destination. Add in our full-service health club and 18-hole mini golf course, guests have everything they need for a great family getaway at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak N' Spruce Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak n` Spruce Hotel South Lee
Oak n Spruce Resort
Oak Spruce Resort
Oak And Spruce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing