We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We took this place as a timeshare exchange. We should have read others' comments first and stayed ANYWHERE else.

My wife injured her foot during a business trip four weeks before our arrival. We notified the place of that event, followed up a week before we arrived, and reinforced our need for minimal stairs or climbing upon our check-in. We were assured by the manager-on-duty that the unit had merely six or seven steps up to the bedroom. There were 16 narrow, switch-back steps. We kept our bags downstairs.

We received a call from a marketing type the day after check-in. We explained the neglect of our needs (above), surly check-in, dirty silverware, pealing floor coverings, missing light diffusers, horrible bedding, running toilet, and many other problems. We were told that a move would be arranged, repairs made, compensation offered, etc. Nothing happened beyond those words.

The unit next to ours had suffered a broken window next to the entry door. It was repaired with layers of duct tape. Our bedroom window was broken and patched with Scotch tape. The carpet didn't quite reach the walls. The ancient leak from the upstairs bathroom had caused significant damage to the downstairs ceiling. The recreation room was occupied by non-guests who threw their personal articles on the other pool table making it unusable.

Others who commented on this facility noted the free movies. Well, there is a little room with few seats where they show older movies on a TV. Other positive comments focused on the area. The Berkshires are wonderful but you may want to stay elsewhere. I expect clean and functional and if it's not, it's not, and this place is NOT.

IMHO

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CharlieSnAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 649 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2007

Started in a postage stamp room (couldn't do anything when the sofa bed was pulled out including sit at the kitchen table). Molding ripped off walls, hole in drywall, etc... Moved to a larger unit that initally looked ok until you started looking around. Everything was dirty. The floors hadn't been washed in maybe 2 years, the comforter had a large stain (near the top of course), the sofa bed was so uncomfortable my 10 year old wouldn't even sleep on it. You are required to take out your own trash even when you leave. No tidy service. Indoor pool disgustingly dirty with no towels available. Nothing for families with young kids to do in the area if the weather isn't good. We left 2 days early and were thrilled to do so. I'm sorry if you already have a trip planned for this place - I hope you have a better experince than we did.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank odysey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed at this resort having exchanged a property in the Algarve, Portugal through Interval. I had faxed the reception from England prior to our arrival to ask for a low floor apartment as one of the party had bad knees, but nothing was acknowledged.

On arrival at 1700 on the Saturday afternoon, the scheduled weekly book in time, I was amazed to find only one receptionist on duty who was not only dealing with arrivals but also with the mini shop in the reception area. Altogether there were about 5 groups waiting to check-in so this process took a long time.

Once checked in we found our apartment which was on the third floor with no elevator, The apartment was very dark, but pleasantly located in a quiet area of the complex. The facilities within the apartment were good and it was clean.

The area around the resort is very pleasant and there is plenty to do.

Overall we had a very pleasant week, I was just perturbed by the lack of check-in staff.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank HappyTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We traded an RCI week and stayed at the Oak N' Spruce during the last week of June 2007, with two adults, and three kids, ages 9, 7 and 4. After reading some negative reviews, I was a bit skeptical about the property. I must say, we were pleasantly surprised!

The resort is owned by Silverleaf Resorts, Inc., and has clearly undergone consistent renvoations and constant upkeep. The exterior of the buildings are in a very appealing and rustic, cedar-clad with green shutters. Our two-bedroom unit was on the second floor of the building directly behind the pool. It was furnished in an adirondack theme. One bedroom with full bath can be a lock-off, with a mini fridge and small sink/counter/cabinet unit. We used the whole unit at once.

The master bedroom was large, with TV armoire, king bed, two nightstands and a bench. Nicely done. There is a whirlpool bath and a sink within the bedroom. I can't say that I liked this setup. If you want to take a bath, you have to lock everyone out of the bedroom for the duration. There is a curtain you can draw around the tub, but it's just not very private. Humidity from the whirlpool bath fills the room when the tub is going. Thank goodness the A/C works well. The toilet has its own TINY closet-like space, with a door.

The kitchen area was well equipped, with a full fridge, microwave, coffee maker, full-sized stove/oven, etc., with lots of storage in the rustic-finished cabinets. We had to laugh at the little sticker above the sink... "these cabinets are done in a rustic/distressed finish." I guess they got complaints about from those who didn't "get it"! :) Table and 6 chairs, plus counter with two stools for eating space. Our balcony overlooking the pool had a nice table and chairs, where we ate virtually every meal.

The pool is large, clean, and well maintained. Lots of adirondack style lounge chairs and tables. They don't allow you to "save" chairs unless you're actually in the pool area, which is nice. The pool bar serves light lunch and soft drinks, beer, wine, and mixed drinks. There are always two staff members manning the pool area, however, it is clearly posted that there are no Lifeguards on duty. The staff is there to enforce the pool rules only. Please note: there is a raised wooden deck on one side of the pool which made many victims (including me) with it's splinters. Be sure to wear shoes!

The kids loved the minature golf course, playground, shuffleboard, game room, and movies. All are available for no additional charge at the Rec center, located by the pool. They had lots of activities planned each day, as well. There is a little shop inside the main lobby with sundries, some food items, etc., but there is a great supermarket is just a couple of miles away.

Everyone we encountered from the staff during our stay was very friendly and polite. (With one exception - pool staff, "Pat". He had an attitude, and was reported to management by many of the owners.)

The resort was a great place to base day trips to go hiking, shopping, lakes, Tanglewood, Lenox, etc. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Cheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Buyer beware. Oak and Spruce will paint a wonderful picture to get you to buy a timeshare here. I know other buyers who have encountered the same problems as my family. What is promised is never seen. The units you are shown are not what you get. All those promised free weekends are a fantasy. The people you deal with are amongst the rudest people we have ever had to deal with. The units are below standard for cleanliness. Come on popcorn in the couch and under the furniture. The furniture is old and smells. Curtain hooks missing so they hang off. Stay away and save your hard earned money for something better.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank jellebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We arrived not too hopeful based on some reviews we had read here, but it was very nice. There are lots and lots of units, but it really never felt too crowded. The outdoor pool was very nice, but I couldn't figure out the indoor pool deal. There were two indoor pools, one stayed open and the other was always closed. We were told that it only opened on the weekends but it was always roped off. Also - when you swim in the inside pool the staff hovers over you like crazy, I am not really sure why, it is pretty uncomfortable. Also the indoor pool has a super loud motor sound running all the time, I couldn't figure out what it was.

The area is nice, the state forests are beautiful, the one right next door to the resort is a nice drive and a nice lake beach.

My only real serious criticism is that when I inquired about recycling, they said, " We don't recycle here, just throw it out". Very disturbing for such a "natural" place.

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank AbagailParamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

the first morning of our vacation in the berkshires was to be rudely awakened at 8am by the sound of heavy machinery...a few feet away..on a saturday...we did get to sleep in on sunday...however.. monday construction started at 6am.!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sitting on the deck ..we could not converse over the loud noise of the tracter all day...so we went sight seeing and came back after workmen left to take a nap...to a dog below us that barked for an hour ...the young lady at the frontdesk said "there is nothing she can do...quiet time is at 10 pm"...no kidding!! .....we tried the bar..the music (dj) was soooo loud!!! we couldn't stay..apparently no one else could either..maybe 5 people in there....also there is no restaurant on premises...so ..you have to drive...unless you want to cook....getting back to construction...they were back on tuesday...7:30am..2 payloaders this time...what fun!! did more shopping and left on wednesday morning a few days early..this is the worst timeshare we have ever been in...the customer service gets a big fat F....so much for a nice quiet get away...i will send phots and review to interval inter. also.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hairlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lee
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
20.2 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
2.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 9 in Lee
121 reviews
8.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Oak n' Spruce Resort

Address: 190 Meadow Street, South Lee, MA 01260 (Formerly Orange Lake Resorts Oak n' Spruce Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Lee
Price Range: $199 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The outdoors-oriented Holiday Inn Club Vacations® Oak n’ Spruce Resort is set in the hills of the Berkshire Mountains in western Massachusetts, offering vacation fun through the seasons. Enjoy spacious 2- and 3-bedroom villas complete with a living room and fully equipped kitchen. A washer/dryer is included in select villas, and free laundry facilities are available on property. Wi-Fi and parking are also free! Guests can enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools and a well-equipped fitness center with indoor sauna. Plus, our onsite arcade, pool tables, movie theater, 18-hole mini golf course, tennis and basketball courts provide family fun for everyone. You can find boating, rafting and snow skiing nearby plus miles of beautiful hiking trails that run along the nearby Appalachian Trail which help make the region a popular New England destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak n` Spruce Hotel South Lee
Oak n Spruce Resort
Oak Spruce Resort
Oak And Spruce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing