We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected good meal”
Review of Castaways

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Castaways
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
Restaurant details
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An unexpected good meal”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I couldn't agree on where to go for dinner. We drove up Rte 28 to find a place to get a quick bite. From the outside appearance we almost didn't go in, but I was hungry and tired enough to at least take a look at the menu. We were both extremely happy that we ate there. The food was good, with low prices, the waitress was friendly, the atmosphere was warm and decorated in a local day at the beach theme. They have a small bar as you walk in the door. It's not a place to go if you're looking for an elegant ambiance, it's just a little hole in the wall. A wonderful place to get a good meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleAnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    1
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A local gem”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always make Castaways a stop. The food is always consistently excellent. The staff and service is top notch. Prices are very family friendly and the dog is a welcome addition to the atmosphere. Try it and you will go back as we always do R.T.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derdoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have eaten there twice, pleasantly surprised both times. Don't go for atmosphere, go for the food which is not run of the mill. There's always something different on the menu and you can tell the folks doing the planning and cooking are not just rote. Thanks for not boring us!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good dishes and casual atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a place to go if you are looking for an affordable restaurant with great local food and friendly atmosphere. Conveniently located, plenty of parking space.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
“Backinny”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Service is terrible unless you're a real townie. The bar service only has the owner/bartender who barely looks at you and makes you wait. The TV always has game shows on instead of local ballgames. There is very little waitress help and no atmoshere, to speak of. There are quite a few good restaurnats in Harwich that are open year round too and fabulous service. We won't go back, but might just do take out since we summer only less than a mile from there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaways also viewed

 
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Castaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing