We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean and charming setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Clean and charming setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The owners could not have been more pleasant. The room was spotless and decorated with charm. Location is perfect. Will return for sure. The bed was a little hard for me but something I could overcome for a few days. Great Coffee and continental breakfast considering they do not have a kith hen. Loved the apple muffins. Pool was really nice and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    94
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
96
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

These owners should put on a clinic on how to run a motel. Friendly and professional - personable, without 'Groundhog Day' in your face B&B style. Nothing new or fancy to be seen (though they did have flatscreens), but immaculately maintained rooms, grounds and pool. Set below the road so no road noise and convienent access to beach (10 min walk without a lot of gear). Location also avoids some of the snarling traffic seen in spots on 28. Nice little picnic area on site and better breakfast than average continental. What more could you want at this price point? Hate to write such a positive review because I hope there's always availability for us, but felt we owed to the owners since TA probably drives some business for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was very clean and the owners were very friendly. We were going to the drive in movie in Wellfleet and they loaned us chairs. It was a great help since there were 4 of us. The location is great as well. It was very close to so many places we wanted to see

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a typical motel on Rt 28. The location is not scenic, or particularly attractive so it's a place to sleep. There is a refrigerator, microwave in room, and a flat screen tv. Also, free internet.
The continental breakfast is coffee and packaged foods such as cereal, yogurt, prepackaged muffins, bagels and danish. Something fresh would have been welcome. Also, there's no seating for the breakfast, just get your food and leave. The room was clean, and there were sufficient towels. The mattress and pillows were not super comfortable though, and the AC barely kept up with the heat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We only wanted to stay Friday night, and their weekend policy is 2 nights. However, they gave us a selection from 2 rooms. it turns out that only about half of the rooms were booked for that night.

We were very pleased with our stay. The room was large and very clean, and we did not hear any street noise. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Handkerchief Shoals 3-4 times and it is an excellent value. The rooms have always been very clean, and the owners very attentive. It is located about 1/2 mile from a beautiful Harwich beach, very close to Harwich and Chatham restaraunts, shopping, beaches and golf.

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable spot that is affordable, than Handkercheif Shoals is an excellent option. I am almost reluctant to give another great review since I consider it to be Harwich's best kept secret and hope it stays that way!

For those that have given it negative reviews, one needs to be mindful that this is an affordable Cape motel. There are plenty of expensive luxury options on the Cape if that is what you are looking for. For those of us that prefer to spend money on a nice dinner or daily activities but are looking for clean and comfortable, I would highly reccomend Handkercheif Shoals. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beantownjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

room was clean. bed was comfortable. off-season price was very good. owners were very polite. within a few miles of places to eat. the only thing that I would have liked to have was a desk to do some work. the refrigerator, microwave and TV worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Harwich
3.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
4.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handkerchief Shoals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handkerchief Shoals Inn

Property: Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Address: 888 Route 28, MA, South Harwich, Harwich, MA 02661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > South Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Handkerchief Shoals Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are nicely appointed offering clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value. Free parking outside your room and breakfast included in high season. The property offers a large outdoor swimming pool and cook out area with picnic benches and grills. Red River Beach is waking distance from the Inn just across the road down Deep Hole Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Handkerchief Shoals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handkerchief Shoals Hotel South Harwich
Handkerchief Shoals Inn South Harwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing