We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed just one night and was very pleased with the level of cleanliness. The room was bright and of a nice size. Easy to get to beaches and the towns of Harwichport and Chatham. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. Lighting wattage needs to be upgraded.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklynguy34433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 298 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We've been frequent visitors for years. The Shoals continues to upgrade and improve every aspect of the facility. Currently pet friendly (though that may be ending soon). The location offers two blocks to a Nantucket sound beach, a short hop to Harwichport center, good access to Chatham, Orleans, Harwich and Dennisport.

Pricing has remained a better bargain than many other locations, especially off-season. Nice people, a good pool and a comfy large grass yard and cookout area.

Room Tip: a few have been recently up-graded. Ask about which ones may be available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

In Harwichport for business; my colleague and I stay for several nights every 6 months. The owners have been gracious enough to open a pair of rooms for us off season; making sure we were all set with plowing, shoveling, and pre-warming of our rooms. As always, they went out of their way to make us welcome, and to make sure we had everything we need.
Thanks again for accommodating us!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredChannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights at this lovely Motel at the end of our 2 week trip to New England. We particularly wanted to be in the Harwich/Chatham area and Handkerchief Shoals appeared a good choice. This was proven to be correct.

The motel is run by a very friendly couple, who were incredibly helpful with local advice and information and also in finding a shortcut through BAs on-line booking system- which was having a glitch whilst we were wanting to check in for our flight home.

We were given an upgrade into one of their better rooms- which was incredibly comfortable and well-equipped- the chairs outside with overhanging roof provided an excellent place to watch the night fall and the weather close in- as we were there for the storms in mid September there was plenty to watch.

There are plenty of good restaurants and coffee chops in the area and plenty of local attractions, Chatham and its fish pier being one highlight.

A great place to stay- well run and friendly and ideal for touring the central part of Cape Cod.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really great value. Well kept and clean! Niece enjoyed the pool and we all liked the location. The owners are on site and they take pride in the upkeep of the property Have to say thanks for the owner mailing on the items we left behind!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WooHoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Rooms are cozy and CLEAN and a continental breakfast is included in the daily rate - coffee is excellent (rooms also have coffee makers if you want to use them). Kids will love the pool. Complimetary wifi connection is very good, I was able to do some work on my vacation without experiencing any annoying connectivity issues. Rooms have small fridges, AC works well. Red River Beach is about three minutes' drive away and both Harwich and Chatham downtowns are within fifteen minites' drive. The value can't be beat - for this price on the Cape in mid-summer I might have expected to be sleeping on a hardwood floor with cold showers and no AC, but instead we ended up with a spotless climate-comtrolled room and exceptionally friendly staff. I hope they made money on us because I want them to be around forever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjabele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Highly recommend this true Cape Cod delight! Very cozy rooms---close to so many wonderful places! Lovely couple owns this place and they give it such a personal touch! Perfect location to Harwich and Chatham. Check out Red River Beach! This adorable place is a gem! Continental breakfast in season!

Room Tip: No spa or fitness center, but you don't need one. Harwich has so many place to walk to get exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastham1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Harwich
4.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
10.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,269 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
149 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
A Beach Breeze Inn
A Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 1 in West Harwich
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handkerchief Shoals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handkerchief Shoals Inn

Address: 888 Route 28, Ma, South Harwich, Harwich, MA 02661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > South Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Price Range: $70 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Handkerchief Shoals Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are nicely appointed offering clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value. Free parking outside your room and breakfast included in high season. The property offers a large outdoor swimming pool and cook out area with picnic benches and grills. Red River Beach is waking distance from the Inn just across the road down Deep Hole Road. Pets not allowed. Please inquire for our rates for additional guests (beyond 2 adults). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Handkerchief Shoals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handkerchief Shoals Hotel South Harwich
Handkerchief Shoals Inn South Harwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing